Crash: "Use OSL" disabled

Forums: Crash: "Use OSL" disabled
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: aoktar

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)
H. A detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it (Include Screenshots or video capture), as well as an example scene if applicable.
I. Copies of the Octane Log window and Console window outputs (full text attached as a file to your post is recommended).


Please note that reports of issues inside existing threads will be ignored/removed, and reports may be closed if the reporter does not respond to subsequent queries in the thread.

Crash: "Use OSL" disabled

Postby boxfx » Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:12 am

boxfx Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:12 am
I have a project which crashes 100% of the time when launching the octane live view, but only when the OSL setting is disabled (Octane settings > Settings > C4D shaders > Use OSL for C4D noise/gradient (Experimental)

This is super odd because you might have thought it would crash with the experimental feature enabled, instead of disabled.

Win 10 pro
Geforce 3090, official clocks
461.40 studio drivers
128gb
Octane 2020.2
c4d R3 plugin
Attachments
crashosldisabled.zip
(383.6 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
boxfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:13 am

Re: Crash: "Use OSL" disabled

Postby aoktar » Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:48 am

aoktar Tue Feb 23, 2021 10:48 am
If you don't use this option, shader will be sampled with pixel sampler of C4D system. It may fail in some cases, not a fixable thing with my efforts since long time. You may try to change number of cpu cores on C4D shaders.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14087
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Crash: "Use OSL" disabled

Postby boxfx » Thu Mar 04, 2021 3:37 pm

boxfx Thu Mar 04, 2021 3:37 pm
All settings are default, cpu cores for c4d shaders is set to 1
boxfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:13 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Apr 21, 2021 8:39 pm [ UTC ]