Network rendering problem - low GPU usage

Forums: Network rendering problem - low GPU usage
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: aoktar

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)
H. A detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it (Include Screenshots or video capture), as well as an example scene if applicable.
I. Copies of the Octane Log window and Console window outputs (full text attached as a file to your post is recommended).


Please note that reports of issues inside existing threads will be ignored/removed, and reports may be closed if the reporter does not respond to subsequent queries in the thread.

Network rendering problem - low GPU usage

Postby Hatsize7 » Thu Feb 11, 2021 1:24 pm

Hatsize7 Thu Feb 11, 2021 1:24 pm
I have a weird problem with network rendering:
The slaves don't run at 100% GPU usage when rendering an image. The speed goes up & down between 00 and 99, but most of the time it is at 00. See attached screenshot.
In the meantime the master is running at 100%.

Running the latest 2020.02 stable, with Nvidia driver version 461.4.
The GPUs are not overclocked, they are not running hot. Under Nvidia control panel/3D settings power management is set to "prefer maximum performance".
They are connected to the master, the text is green, the scenes were not too big (5-6GB VRAM is used).
In the Octane settings "minimize network traffic" is turned OFF. (it did the same if it is ON)
I haven't notice this behavior on earlier versions, but I didn't test it again.
Any ideas why this is happening?

Config:
master: Windows 10 Pro, ASUS Prime x299-A, i7-9800x, 96GB RAM, 2x RTX 3090
slaves (2): Windows 10 Pro, ASUS x99-A II, i7-5630k, 96GB RAM, 2x RTX 3090

Thanks!
Attachments
CPU_usage2.JPG
Win 10Pro / C4D R23.008 / Octane 20.1.5-R4 / Nvidia driver 456.38
Intel Core i7 9800X / 96gb / RTX3090
User avatar
Hatsize7
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 6:01 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Network rendering problem - low GPU usage

Postby aoktar » Thu Feb 11, 2021 1:30 pm

aoktar Thu Feb 11, 2021 1:30 pm
Rather than being a BUG it should be about time spending on the sending data over network and having minimal time for calculating the image. You may have very intensive data and takes time for sending to clients. Frame calculation may finish on master before clients contribute to calculation.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14077
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Network rendering problem - low GPU usage

Postby Hatsize7 » Thu Feb 11, 2021 3:37 pm

Hatsize7 Thu Feb 11, 2021 3:37 pm
How do you mean? I'm calculating ONE image, not an image sequence. Those spikes in the GPU usage are happening while rendering one single image.
Win 10Pro / C4D R23.008 / Octane 20.1.5-R4 / Nvidia driver 456.38
Intel Core i7 9800X / 96gb / RTX3090
User avatar
Hatsize7
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 6:01 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Network rendering problem - low GPU usage

Postby aoktar » Thu Feb 11, 2021 5:26 pm

aoktar Thu Feb 11, 2021 5:26 pm
Hatsize7 wrote:How do you mean? I'm calculating ONE image, not an image sequence. Those spikes in the GPU usage are happening while rendering one single image.

I'm very clear on explanation, it's very often scenario for heavy scenes on first frame.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14077
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Network rendering problem - low GPU usage

Postby bepeg4d » Fri Feb 12, 2021 8:18 am

bepeg4d Fri Feb 12, 2021 8:18 am
Please use GPU-Z for monitoring the sensors during rendering.
In particular, check the GPU Load, Temperature, and Power Consumption TDP.

Looking forward for your feedback,

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8182
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Apr 18, 2021 4:50 am [ UTC ]