Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Forums: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: aoktar

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)
H. A detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it (Include Screenshots or video capture), as well as an example scene if applicable.
I. Copies of the Octane Log window and Console window outputs (full text attached as a file to your post is recommended).


Please note that reports of issues inside existing threads will be ignored/removed, and reports may be closed if the reporter does not respond to subsequent queries in the thread.

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby evade » Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:43 pm

evade Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:43 pm
aoktar wrote:Could you please share your scene and steps how to reproduce the crash?


Due to some "nda" I don't want to share the file on the forum, Is it possible to sent it to you in private ?

Thanks in advance
evade
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:47 pm

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby aoktar » Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:53 pm

aoktar Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:53 pm
Of course you should send privately. Use PM icon at right of my nick with a link to scene and some screenshot and info for steps.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby evade » Wed Mar 11, 2020 7:28 pm

evade Wed Mar 11, 2020 7:28 pm
aoktar wrote:Of course you should send privately. Use PM icon at right of my nick with a link to scene and some screenshot and info for steps.


I sent you the file with a video thanks in advance for your help !
evade
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:47 pm

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby aoktar » Wed Mar 11, 2020 8:10 pm

aoktar Wed Mar 11, 2020 8:10 pm
evade wrote:
aoktar wrote:Of course you should send privately. Use PM icon at right of my nick with a link to scene and some screenshot and info for steps.


I sent you the file with a video thanks in advance for your help !

I'm downloading it...
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby evade » Mon Mar 16, 2020 8:46 am

evade Mon Mar 16, 2020 8:46 am
I'm downloading it...


Hello !
Do you have any news about the bug and the video I sent you ?


Thanks in advance :)
evade
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:47 pm

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby aoktar » Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:43 pm

aoktar Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:43 pm
evade wrote:
I'm downloading it...


Hello !
Do you have any news about the bug and the video I sent you ?


Thanks in advance :)

Sorry for delay! It's not a bug for me, at least for my setup. I cannot reproduce any crash/issues like you do. Can you post "oct.dat"?
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby wafflelad » Sun Apr 05, 2020 2:40 pm

wafflelad Sun Apr 05, 2020 2:40 pm
I just started working on an old project that was working fine until I started adding megascans assets. In the latest 2020 build it would continually show that it was generating the materials. I would get super long freezes for 30 seconds or longer whenever i selected or tried to change anything with a material. Eventually it would get into loops of just saying it was generating each material over and over forever. Then it started crashing anytime i tried to render or do anything with Octane. I deleted the texture cache folder as recommended earlier in this thread and that fixed the crashing. In 2020 I'm still getting a lot of texture generation lags. In 2019.1.5 I get short lags that are manageable and it seems I can work ok there. I don't know that the megascans assets are specifically the cause but it was an interesting commonality with the original author of this thread.
wafflelad
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 6:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby aoktar » Sun Apr 05, 2020 3:35 pm

aoktar Sun Apr 05, 2020 3:35 pm
I do not see lags as you described. Could you please feed this topic with better information. For example, capture a video from the event to show that for a start.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13691
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Octane C4D Crashes a lot !

Postby wafflelad » Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:44 pm

wafflelad Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:44 pm
I posted in the slack, but I'll add it here as well....

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6auokikxjcidd8e/Crash%20Data.zip?dl=0

After the beginning of the video I tried to keep the mouse moving after each click while I was waiting since it was hard to tell the time between click and result. Also, at the very end it shows another issue I'm having in 2020 where the opacity maps don't seem to be working. They work fine in 2019, though
wafflelad
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 6:40 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Previous

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Nov 26, 2020 1:59 am [ UTC ]