Version 3.00 - R1.1 (25.05.2016)

Forums: Version 3.00 - R1.1 (25.05.2016)
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: aoktar

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby milanm » Wed May 18, 2016 2:53 pm

milanm Wed May 18, 2016 2:53 pm
Weezer wrote:Hi Ahmet. Can I ask: in the release of Version 3, has OTOY added multithreaded OSX object conversion? One of the biggest bottlenecks with Octane on C4D and OS X is the time it takes to convert mesh data for rendering.

Thanks


Hi

It should be faster now since version alpha 10. Check out the release notes below. Judging by my own tests alpha 10 was roughly 2X faster.
It looks like the issue is bigger and it affects Linux and some Windows users too depending on the CPU type.

https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=271604#p271604

https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52567&hilit=compilation+times

Regards
Milan
Colorist / VFX artist / Motion Designer
macOS - Windows 7 - Cinema 4D R19.068 - GTX1070TI - GTX780
milanm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:23 pm

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby Weezer » Wed May 18, 2016 3:44 pm

Weezer Wed May 18, 2016 3:44 pm
Wwll 2x is something. With 24 threads sitting there, I hope they can improve this further still in the future.
Weezer
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:08 am

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby SVITAdmin » Wed May 18, 2016 7:54 pm

SVITAdmin Wed May 18, 2016 7:54 pm
Love this beta!!! Great work.

I'm having an issue with all our PC slaves. I can install the daemon, but when i go to run it, it quits right away. Too fast to really see what it's saying. I caught the word "failed" under each device, but not enough time to read what the entire thing says.

This is all 3 of our PC's. I have not tried to install the slave on the Mac's yet. I had no issues with previous versions
Last edited by SVITAdmin on Thu May 19, 2016 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
1 Dell Z840 with 2x Titan XP's
2 Digital Storm Hailstorm/Win8/32GB/EVGA Titan x4
2 Server blades with 4 Tesla K80's
SVITAdmin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:54 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby eightvfx » Wed May 18, 2016 8:06 pm

eightvfx Wed May 18, 2016 8:06 pm
hELLO Aoktar!

What do yo think about this subdivision artifact ?

problem_with_subdibvision.jpg


In c4d subdivision Standard it creates the same artifact with Octane subdivision.
it's not a big dea for nowl, I can live with the subdiv from cinema 4d in mode Edge and Boundary, it works fine.

Do you think the same kind of option could be implemented in Octane subdivision ?

Thanks,
eightvfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby aoktar » Wed May 18, 2016 8:25 pm

aoktar Wed May 18, 2016 8:25 pm
eightvfx wrote:hELLO Aoktar!

What do yo think about this subdivision artifact ?

In c4d subdivision Standard it creates the same artifact with Octane subdivision.
it's not a big dea for nowl, I can live with the subdiv from cinema 4d in mode Edge and Boundary, it works fine.

Do you think the same kind of option could be implemented in Octane subdivision ?

Thanks,


Honestly nothing. It's not about plugin. I don't suppose there is a method in Octane. But there is some extra parameters which i have ignored till day. Maybe it's time to check.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12592
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby eightvfx » Wed May 18, 2016 9:47 pm

eightvfx Wed May 18, 2016 9:47 pm
Thanks for having quick answer.
Let see what you find out.

Thanks!
eightvfx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 6:36 pm

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby aggiechase37 » Thu May 19, 2016 5:18 pm

aggiechase37 Thu May 19, 2016 5:18 pm
Like another poster, I am having the same trouble. C4D crashed in the background while I was doing something. Now it won't start at all. Stuck on "initializing plugins." Help!
Chase

Win 10 - Intel 4770 - 2x Nvidia 1070 - 32 gigs RAM - C4D r16

http://www.luxemediaproductions.com
aggiechase37
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:39 am

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby aoktar » Thu May 19, 2016 5:27 pm

aoktar Thu May 19, 2016 5:27 pm
aggiechase37 wrote:Like another poster, I am having the same trouble. C4D crashed in the background while I was doing something. Now it won't start at all. Stuck on "initializing plugins." Help!

pls read first page notes.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12592
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby jayroth » Thu May 19, 2016 6:55 pm

jayroth Thu May 19, 2016 6:55 pm
Where is the TFD Flamethrower example file? It is not included in the TFD Examples download...
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 2 EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
User avatar
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Re: Version 3.00 - Beta2.1 (17.05.2016) - Test version

Postby aggiechase37 » Fri May 20, 2016 1:34 am

aggiechase37 Fri May 20, 2016 1:34 am
aoktar wrote:
aggiechase37 wrote:Like another poster, I am having the same trouble. C4D crashed in the background while I was doing something. Now it won't start at all. Stuck on "initializing plugins." Help!

pls read first page notes.


That worked. Thanks!
Chase

Win 10 - Intel 4770 - 2x Nvidia 1070 - 32 gigs RAM - C4D r16

http://www.luxemediaproductions.com
aggiechase37
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:39 am
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Nov 12, 2019 11:15 pm [ UTC ]