Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3-(R2) (Experimental) 09.08.2022

Forums: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3-(R2) (Experimental) 09.08.2022
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: aoktar

Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3-(R2) (Experimental) 09.08.2022

Postby aoktar » Fri Aug 05, 2022 7:43 am

aoktar Fri Aug 05, 2022 7:43 am
Hi all,
This is the latest experimental plugin build based on experimental 2022.1-XB3 SDK. Any feedback will be much appreciated. Enjoy it!
This is the SDK matching OctaneRender® 2022.1 XB 3.

As with all experimental builds, we advise to not use this release for production purposes. We are trying to, but we can't guarantee that scenes saved with this version will be compatible in future releases. Please note that because of the active development, there are several limitations outlined below.

Make sure to use a NVIDIA Studio driver with version at least 456.38 on Windows.

2022.1-XB3-(R2) plugin revisions
  • Fix: broken sub parameters for some AOVs when they are used in AOV compositor
  • Fix: Render error when OCIO selected with an empty string in ImageTextures

2022.1-XB3 plugin revisions
  • Added first 2022.1 support for M1 Macs
  • Scatter object: New WIP distribution mode POISSON and fix for distribution issues with old Surface mode.
  • Several fixes

IN ANY CRASH CASE PLEASE DO THESE!!!
If you see CUDA errors follow 1,2,3,4.
1- Use NVIDIA STUDIO drivers, not Game Ready versions. If you have stability issues try different drivers, some of them could cause instability issues. Make a clean install while doing this to be sure previous files completely removed.
2- Check GPU frequency. Overclocking would cause instability issues
3- Check PSU. Insufficient power output would cause instability issues
4- Check the free amount of GPU's VRAM and system's RAM while working. Low VRAM will/may cause CUDA errors. Be aware of some generator objects will have different triangle count in Picture Viewer than Live Viewer. It’s like “editor/render” parameter. Just try to use the same value. Also try to optimize your scene for polygon count, even use smaller images. Try to use Octane texture nodes rather than using C4D texture/shaders.
Alternatively, use V4 and Out-of-core(OOC) function. Increase RAM for OOC and It should not exceed physical RAM amount. Check TDR value and increase if it's necessary.
5- If you see C4D crashes without CUDA errors, then send us bugreport.zip, screen-shots and video capture to show process and crash moment. Also please send us a sample scene in a format of C4D or ORBX to let us investigate and test it. Alternatively, try to delete/hide some objects/materials until crash gone away. If you find what's causing crashes, send us a sample scene to let us for investigating and bring a fix or solution.
Thanks for helping the development by your feedbacks! It’s impossible to quickly catch every case without user feedbacks! It’s the same procedure as other companies do like Maxon/etc...



WINDOWS ENTERPRISE BUILD (R15-26)
https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloa ... R2_win.rar

WINDOWS SUBSCRIPTION(Studio) BUILD (R15-26)
https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloa ... R2_win.rar

macOS 12.3.1(M1 cpu) BUILD (R25-R26)
https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloa ... R2_OSX.zip

Please note the macOS build below will only work correctly on macOS 12.3.1 and newer, and only on Apple Silicon.
Also node previews are working with new style. Switch to old style and use from Node editor menu until we fix it.

Requirements:
-You'll need to update your Cinema 4D to latest versions(R16.050, R17.053, R18.057, R19.053, R20.057, R21.115, S22.118, R23.110, R24.111, R25.117, R26.107). Otherwise, the plugin will not work and not appear in menus.
-Internet connection for activation, be sure that C4D and Octane will not be blocked by the firewall and any antivirus software.
-Nvidia drivers at least Nvidia Studio Drivers(minimum 456.38) and be careful with latest Game Ready drivers which can cause cuda errors. Stay with stable one for you.


ONLINE HELP MANUAL
Use embedded help buttons from Octane nodes and windows
or from link: https://docs.otoy.com/cinema4d/OctaneRe ... ema4D.html


Installation
First, remove all octane related stuff from plugins and the main folder of Cinema4D.

Extract all files to Cinema4D\plugins\c4dOctane directory.
Also, download manual.zip and extract to c4dOctane directory if it's not available in place.

There are a few files for each one is for different Cinema4D version. Remove all except the file is for your version.
Ex. if you have Cinema4D R18.0, keep only "c4dOctane-r18.cdl64" and delete c4dOctane-r17.cdl64, c4dOctane-r16.cdl64, c4dOctane-r15.cdl64, etc..
Last edited by aoktar on Mon Aug 08, 2022 9:45 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 15002
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby bepeg4d » Fri Aug 05, 2022 10:03 am

bepeg4d Fri Aug 05, 2022 10:03 am
About Mac M1 native version, remember to disable the Open using Rosetta option in the Info of the Cinema 4D.app:
EC14CD70-BCC4-4C7B-838F-80366AF659B8.jpeg


You also need to allow the c4doctane plugin and library in System Preferences/Security and Privacy panel, and restart C4D a couple of times.
Image

Finally, you need to go to c4doctane Setting/Nodes, and disable the New style option, or material preview doesn't work in node editor:
8ACD1AB5-EB2F-4718-B1D7-D918DA59B718.jpeg


It is a Prime free version, so every Mac Octane users with Apple Silicon GPU can install it.

Happy Mac GPU rendering!

ciao,
Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 9206
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby 841131100 » Fri Aug 05, 2022 2:02 pm

841131100 Fri Aug 05, 2022 2:02 pm
Why does it show white when the ACES tone mapping is turned on?
ACEs Tone Mapping
LV - HDRI Environment - Visible Editor, Renderer Off - It turns white.
LV - HDRI Environment - Clipping Dark Area.
841131100
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:39 am

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby elsksa » Fri Aug 05, 2022 3:58 pm

elsksa Fri Aug 05, 2022 3:58 pm
841131100 wrote:Why does it show white when the ACES tone mapping is turned on?
ACEs Tone Mapping
LV - HDRI Environment - Visible Editor, Renderer Off - It turns white.
LV - HDRI Environment - Clipping Dark Area.

You'd have to provide more information.
If that's what I think it is, it's the expected result.
The ACES (SDR RRT+ODT sRGB) doesn't eradicate maximum white level, and the environment texture is a "constant value", unaffected by shading. Unlike surface reflectance.
Image-Sound Artisan and Technician | https://www.elsksa.me/octane | Official OTOY Octane Discord server: https://discord.gg/F4WENTG
User avatar
elsksa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 1:06 am

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby eyeonestudio » Fri Aug 05, 2022 9:32 pm

eyeonestudio Fri Aug 05, 2022 9:32 pm
elsksa wrote:
841131100 wrote:Why does it show white when the ACES tone mapping is turned on?
ACEs Tone Mapping
LV - HDRI Environment - Visible Editor, Renderer Off - It turns white.
LV - HDRI Environment - Clipping Dark Area.

You'd have to provide more information.
If that's what I think it is, it's the expected result.
The ACES (SDR RRT+ODT sRGB) doesn't eradicate maximum white level, and the environment texture is a "constant value", unaffected by shading. Unlike surface reflectance.



The description of the new features is lacking.
We didn't have this feature before, so we didn't have any problems.

Something is wrong with the input or output levels in OCIO. (My guess. I'm not developer)
As long as the HDRI is built to have adequate brightness, there is no problem.
Here is My testing

ACEs Tone Mapping
LV - HDRI Environment - Visible Editor, Renderer Off - It turns white.
---> go to Settings > Env > set Lum Mult 1 / set 2.0% or more gray Color (

ACEs Tone Mapping
LV - HDRI Environment - Clipping Dark Area.
---> Image Texture Node --> Range Node(custom texture) : input min set -0.005 or lower


EDIT - Still Testing
Image Texture > Color Space > OCIO > Octane Console Error
"Failed to build OCIO input transform: Source color space "" not found "

==> Clean up OCIO Variable/ACES config. Reconfigured OpenColorIO-Config from Github
==> no error. However, more testing is needed.
==> This is not a bug. Enter the OCCIO profile and it works. However, the material preview doesn't update correctly.
PS. It has nothing to do with ACES Tone Mapping bugs.
Last edited by eyeonestudio on Sat Aug 06, 2022 5:51 pm, edited 5 times in total.
CINEMA 4D R26 / Windows 10
Win10 / 10GbE / AMD3995X*2ea, AMD3990X*1, AMD1950X*1, i9-10980XE*2ea / RTX3090*14ea
User avatar
eyeonestudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby elsksa » Fri Aug 05, 2022 10:37 pm

elsksa Fri Aug 05, 2022 10:37 pm
eyeonestudio wrote:The description of the new features is lacking.
We didn't have this feature before, so we didn't have any problems.

Have a look at: https://www.elsksa.me/scientia/cgi-offline-rendering/octane-render-color-management even if it's showing Standalone GUI, it's universal and applies to Octane plugins.

eyeonestudio wrote:Something is wrong with the input or output levels in OCIO. (My guess. I'm not developer)
As long as the HDRI is built to have adequate brightness, there is no problem.

OCIO is just OCIO.
It has nothing to do with the HDRI light data, as long as it's a properly created HDRI file, which is an other story and unrelated to all the rest.

eyeonestudio wrote:-->Failed to build OCIO input transform: Source color space "" not found

It is mentioned in the page from the first link, no need for any OCIO configuration file when using that new "checkbox option". However, anything ACES will yield a broken imagery, and therefore, ACES has to be avoided. Solely relatively to other long-standing native options from the Camera Imager, it's a negligible improvement.
Image-Sound Artisan and Technician | https://www.elsksa.me/octane | Official OTOY Octane Discord server: https://discord.gg/F4WENTG
User avatar
elsksa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 1:06 am

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby eyeonestudio » Sat Aug 06, 2022 12:14 am

eyeonestudio Sat Aug 06, 2022 12:14 am
elsksa wrote:
eyeonestudio wrote:The description of the new features is lacking.
We didn't have this feature before, so we didn't have any problems.

Have a look at: https://www.elsksa.me/scientia/cgi-offline-rendering/octane-render-color-management even if it's showing Standalone GUI, it's universal and applies to Octane plugins.

eyeonestudio wrote:Something is wrong with the input or output levels in OCIO. (My guess. I'm not developer)
As long as the HDRI is built to have adequate brightness, there is no problem.

OCIO is just OCIO.
It has nothing to do with the HDRI light data, as long as it's a properly created HDRI file, which is an other story and unrelated to all the rest.

eyeonestudio wrote:-->Failed to build OCIO input transform: Source color space "" not found

It is mentioned in the page from the first link, no need for any OCIO configuration file when using that new "checkbox option". However, anything ACES will yield a broken imagery, and therefore, ACES has to be avoided. Solely relatively to other long-standing native options from the Camera Imager, it's a negligible improvement.



Thank You...
We are looking for bugs. Because we want the C4D plugin to evolve further.
We are talking about ACES Tone Mapping introduced in C4D Camera Imager.
There is no problem with Standalone-Imager-ACES Tone Mapping.
Attachments
2022-08-06_090807.png
CINEMA 4D R26 / Windows 10
Win10 / 10GbE / AMD3995X*2ea, AMD3990X*1, AMD1950X*1, i9-10980XE*2ea / RTX3090*14ea
User avatar
eyeonestudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby elsksa » Sat Aug 06, 2022 12:58 am

elsksa Sat Aug 06, 2022 12:58 am
You're welcome. However, you misunderstood me. Both are the same.
There shouldn't be any OCIO configuration file loaded when using that single-checkbox ACES option from the Camera Imager. No OCIO loaded in the system or Octane, should result in no OCIO warning or error.
Image-Sound Artisan and Technician | https://www.elsksa.me/octane | Official OTOY Octane Discord server: https://discord.gg/F4WENTG
User avatar
elsksa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 1:06 am

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby eyeonestudio » Sat Aug 06, 2022 2:33 am

eyeonestudio Sat Aug 06, 2022 2:33 am
elsksa wrote:You're welcome. However, you misunderstood me. Both are the same.
There shouldn't be any OCIO configuration file loaded when using that single-checkbox ACES option from the Camera Imager. No OCIO loaded in the system or Octane, should result in no OCIO warning or error.


I've tested all options before and decided it's a bug.
It's probably still under development, so it won't be perfect.
Please let me know if I missed anything.
Attachments
ee.png
CINEMA 4D R26 / Windows 10
Win10 / 10GbE / AMD3995X*2ea, AMD3990X*1, AMD1950X*1, i9-10980XE*2ea / RTX3090*14ea
User avatar
eyeonestudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Cinema4D version 2022.1-XB3 (Experimental) 05.08.2022

Postby elsksa » Sat Aug 06, 2022 2:40 am

elsksa Sat Aug 06, 2022 2:40 am
Thank you for both screenshots.

Curiously, it's affecting some assets only, from what I see.
Are they textured? Does it happen with unplugged textures, leaving them with just plain Octane materials?
Any additional information is welcomed. Genuinely intrigued.
Image-Sound Artisan and Technician | https://www.elsksa.me/octane | Official OTOY Octane Discord server: https://discord.gg/F4WENTG
User avatar
elsksa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 1:06 am
Next

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Fri Aug 12, 2022 8:25 am [ UTC ]
cron