Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R4](ReleaseCandidate) 06.04.2020

Forums: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R4](ReleaseCandidate) 06.04.2020
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: aoktar

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby jayroth » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:13 pm

jayroth Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:13 pm
I think you can convert a material into a sub material, though, right? If so, couldn't you then mimic the workflow you are familiar with regarding the composite material?
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 2 EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Hybrid/ Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
User avatar
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby Kalua » Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:26 pm

Kalua Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:26 pm
pxlntwrk wrote:Hi,
thank you for the answer,
it is a material created from scratch.(for testing purposes)
Yes the composite material works well, but the mix material allows me to bring back a material "already created" into the setup


I have used this trick as well for quickly testing material alternatives... too bad only 2 materials can be used at once. Mybe it's time OTOY considers a new "Switch material" for toggling among a numerous number of shader options easily.
Fstorm and Vray have implemented it already quiet well.
C4D 21.115 Octane 2020.1 R2 l 3x 1080 l Windows 10, AMD TR 1900X, x399, 64 GB RAM l NVIDIA SD 442.19
https://www.behance.net/PaperArchitect
User avatar
Kalua
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:13 am
Location: Caribbean Sea

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby pxlntwrk » Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:47 pm

pxlntwrk Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:47 pm
Hi,
jayroth wrote:I think you can convert a material into a sub material, though, right? If so, couldn't you then mimic the workflow you are familiar with regarding the composite material?

converting into sub or layer etc.. isnt a option here ,i have to keep a non destructive workflow with this material.


Kalua wrote:I have used this trick as well for quickly testing material alternatives... too bad only 2 materials can be used at once. Mybe it's time OTOY considers a new "Switch material" for toggling among a numerous number of shader options easily.
Fstorm and Vray have implemented it already quiet well.

There is a "switch node" script downloadable on the forum in .lua format,
https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=74018

it is very smart for standalone ...
By cons I do not believe that there is script node other than .osl in Octane cinema 4d ?
:::::::::::::::::
pxlntwrk.net
User avatar
pxlntwrk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: France

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby SSmolak » Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:56 pm

SSmolak Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:56 pm
I noticed that Octane Live Viewer window is "blinking" while rotating or moving view when mouse pointer is located in LV window. When mouse is outside LV window and rotating or moving view is done in C4D perspective viewport it works fine without "blinking". This "blinking" looks like for one frame LV camera is reseting it zoom. It is related to previous Octane versions too.
---------------------------------------
Architectural Visualizations
www.atlantis-arts.com
User avatar
SSmolak
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:41 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby rclassenphoto » Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:22 pm

rclassenphoto Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:22 pm
So when I open the scene and start octane render I get this errors:

The octanelogs shows this:

[2020-03-29 00:06:42][1] Register OctaneLive
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] Loaded Octane DLL:OctaneRender Enterprise 2020.1 RC2 version:8000004 SDK:2020.1 RC2
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] Octane Render for Cinema 4D 2020.1_RC2(R2) built for:210 C4D vers:21207
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] C4D:21207 comp:[Workstation] OS:[WINDOWS 64 BIT] Windows 10, 64 Bit, Professional Edition (build 18363) opengl:460 versType:10
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] CPU:[AuthenticAMD, stepping 1, model 1, instruction family 15] speed:4 GHz numOfCpu:32Ht
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] Plugins:[houdiniconfig 3dquakersR21 addons advanced render alembic archigrass bitmapfilter bpexchange browser bugslife_client c4dOctane-R21 ca ca2 cadexchange clothilde collada14 collada15 colorchoosergui compositing deployment dwg dwgobjects dynamics exchanges expressiontag fbx Forester1ExpansionPack1R21 ForesterR21 gpurenderer hair HDRI Browser R21 HDRI Link R21 hot4dr21 i_skp io_obj metrics mkmodeler mocca model mograph motioncam motiontracker nbp newman nodeeditor_material objects onlineupdater projectassetinspector python relaxuv sculpt sculptbrushes shader sketch sky sla spacemouse substance teamrender thinking particles tpoperators TurbulenceFD_R21_1452 uvviewport volumes walkthrough X-Particles_21 xpressocore xtensions ]
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] NVAPI initializing...
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] NVAPI Version: NVidia Complete Version 1.10
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] Nvidia driver version:442.74 [r442_70]
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][1] LoadOslScripts()
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][0] Loaded 88 osl scripts from dir:C:\Program Files\Maxon Cinema 4D R21\plugins\c4doctane\res\osl_scripts
[2020-03-29 00:06:42][1] LoadCustomLuts()
[2020-03-29 00:06:50][1] <markMaterials>
[2020-03-29 00:06:50][1] RestoreLayout(secret=cdafc5b0)
[2020-03-29 00:06:50][1] InitFromRestoreLayout
[2020-03-29 00:06:50][1] setResFromRndSettings 0x0000023B36C2FEC0 [OK]
[2020-03-29 00:06:50][1] initOctaneLive()
[2020-03-29 00:06:50][1] Init OctaneLive...[2020-03-29 00:06:51][1] Plugin initialized.[2020-03-29 00:06:51][1] Plugin activation...[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] Plugin activation OK.[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] Activation time=4.464 sec.
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][0] readDeviceSettings E:01 P:01 T:01 D:01
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][0] VRAM used/free/max:0Kb/24Gb/24Gb Out-of-core used:0Kb RAM used:13.697Gb total:127.871Gb OpenGL free/total:0/0
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] Device:0 [TITAN RTX]<Dis>[][7.5] Memory used/free/total:0Kb/24Gb/24Gb outOfCoreMem:0Kb p2pBytesUsed:0 runtimeDataSize:0Kb temperature:39
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] Device:1 [TITAN RTX]<Dis>[][7.5] Memory used/free/total:0Kb/24Gb/24Gb outOfCoreMem:0Kb p2pBytesUsed:0 runtimeDataSize:0Kb temperature:42
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] setInteractive(1)[OK] [2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] readPrmsFrScn(1)
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] readPrmsFrScn(1)
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] processRegions()
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] ApiUpdate Wait:0 Caller:needApiUpdate tm:5.141ms. [OK]
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] setExportStatus(st=9, flg=0, thr=0)
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] ApiUpdate Wait:0 Caller:needApiUpdate tm:5.363ms. [OK]
[2020-03-29 00:06:55][1] setExportStatus(st=9, flg=0, thr=0)
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][1] checkNewVersions()
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][1] <markMaterials>
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][0] restoreDeviceStates status:2
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][0] setDevicesActivity E:01 P:01 T:01 D:01
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][0] save
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][1] RestoreLayout(secret=cdafc570)
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][1] readPrmsFrScn(1)
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][0] Scene created in plugin version 6000503
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][0] Scene plugin version is older than version:2020.1_RC2(R2)
Plugin will convert the parameters of displacement texture.
Animated attributes should be changed by manually!
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][1] doVersionConvertion(vers=6000503)
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][1] readPrmsBC 11111[2020-03-29 00:16:59][0] restoreDeviceStates status:2
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][0] setDevicesActivity E:01 P:01 T:01 D:01
[2020-03-29 00:16:59][0] save
[2020-03-29 00:17:00][0] AllDevicesOff
[2020-03-29 00:17:04][0] AllDevicesOff
[2020-03-29 00:17:05][0] AllDevicesOff
[2020-03-29 00:17:05][0] AllDevicesOff
[2020-03-29 00:17:06][0] AllDevicesOff
[2020-03-29 00:17:06][0] AllDevicesOff
[2020-03-29 00:17:07][0] AllDevicesOff
[2020-03-29 00:17:07][0] AllDevicesOff
[2020-03-29 00:18:05][0] restoreDeviceStates status:4
[2020-03-29 00:18:05][0] setDevicesActivity E:01 P:01 T:01 D:01
[2020-03-29 00:18:05][0] save
Attachments
error_03.jpg
error_02.jpg
error_01.jpg
rclassenphoto
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:05 pm

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby feels » Sun Mar 29, 2020 9:16 pm

feels Sun Mar 29, 2020 9:16 pm
Hi all,

a few questions:

1) Is random walk SSS implemented in any other material types except the basic diffuse material? On every other material type (universal, layered, etc.) the node does nothing, but in the diffuse material I can see it at work. Is there something I'm doing wrong?

2) The composite material is crashing C4D as soon as I drop an image texture in it. Tried reinstalling drivers to no avail.

3) When I try to add a Layer Group into my Layered material, the node appears empty with no slots, like in the picture below.
Attachments
bug.png
feels
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby aoktar » Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:46 pm

aoktar Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:46 pm
feels wrote:Hi all,

a few questions:

1) Is random walk SSS implemented in any other material types except the basic diffuse material? On every other material type (universal, layered, etc.) the node does nothing, but in the diffuse material I can see it at work. Is there something I'm doing wrong?

2) The composite material is crashing C4D as soon as I drop an image texture in it. Tried reinstalling drivers to no avail.

3) When I try to add a Layer Group into my Layered material, the node appears empty with no slots, like in the picture below.


2- I don't support that's related to drivers. How did you connect imagetexture to composite material?
3- Try this buttons
a1.jpg
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13301
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby feels » Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:51 pm

feels Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:51 pm
aoktar wrote:
feels wrote:Hi all,

a few questions:

1) Is random walk SSS implemented in any other material types except the basic diffuse material? On every other material type (universal, layered, etc.) the node does nothing, but in the diffuse material I can see it at work. Is there something I'm doing wrong?

2) The composite material is crashing C4D as soon as I drop an image texture in it. Tried reinstalling drivers to no avail.

3) When I try to add a Layer Group into my Layered material, the node appears empty with no slots, like in the picture below.


2- I don't support that's related to drivers. How did you connect imagetexture to composite material?
3- Try this buttons
a1.jpg


Thanks aoktar, a solution to the first problem above is this:
- If I drag the RandomWalk node from the list of nodes on the left side of the node editor and plug it into the Medium, nothing happens.
- If I click on "RandomWalk" button inside the Medium slot while it's empty, and plug new nodes into it, it works.

Figured you wanted to know.

Thanks for the tip for 3), totally missed that option.

Cheers
feels
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:26 pm

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby WouterG » Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:14 pm

WouterG Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:14 pm
"Be sure to keep RTX off in this specific version.
It looks like material management gets messed up due to a current core issue if RTX is on."


Can we use RTX again with the newer build?

Thanks for the great work Aoktar!
WouterG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:19 pm

Re: Cinema4D version 2020.1-RC2[R2](ReleaseCandidate) 24.03.2020

Postby aoktar » Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:50 pm

aoktar Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:50 pm
WouterG wrote:"Be sure to keep RTX off in this specific version.
It looks like material management gets messed up due to a current core issue if RTX is on."


Can we use RTX again with the newer build?

Thanks for the great work Aoktar!

Thanks!
It's up to Core. RC2 is the core(standalone/sdk) number. The core will change with 2020.1-RC3.xxx or later.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13301
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Wed May 27, 2020 3:38 am [ UTC ]