Slow rendering since version 4

Forums: Slow rendering since version 4
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Slow rendering since version 4

Postby coilbook » Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:36 pm

coilbook Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:36 pm
Hi Paride,
it seems that octane renders slower than it used to. In the video attached is a blank screen and it takes 7 seconds to render it. There are 5 x 2080TIs and 11 x Titans X pascals total 16 cards
I don't understand why it goes to only 240 m samples/s and it takes a while to get to this speed and it took 7 seconds! . I remember octane 3 would do this in a second or less with like 3000 m/s on 780TIs we used to have.

And I think GPUs are also not sued at 100%



Thanks
Attachments

[ Play Quicktime file ] slow render.MOV [ 1.95 MiB | Viewed 650 times ]

coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Slow rendering since version 4

Postby paride4331 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:16 pm

paride4331 Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:16 pm
Hi coilbook,
I'm not a developer then I cannot respond appropriately, but SA works as 3dsMAx plugin.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Slow rendering since version 4

Postby coilbook » Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:10 pm

coilbook Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:10 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi coilbook,
I'm not a developer then I cannot respond appropriately, but SA works as 3dsMAx plugin.
Regards
Paride



Hi Paride,
can you please open octane viewport in a brand new scene and see what is your samples/s then load Octane Profile (attached) into the preset and open octane viewport again. There is a bug. After loading saved preset rendering went from 500 m/s to slowly going to 150 samples/s in the empty scene
I also attached 2 videos. After loading preset profile rendering speed drops a lot

Thanks
Attachments
octane profile.zip
(4.57 KiB) Downloaded 53 times

[ Play Quicktime file ] before loading preset.MOV [ 2.61 MiB | Viewed 637 times ]

[ Play Quicktime file ] after loading octane profile preset.MOV [ 2.77 MiB | Viewed 637 times ]

coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Slow rendering since version 4

Postby paride4331 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:18 pm

paride4331 Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:18 pm
Hi coilbook,
it seems as you report, I will investigate to better undestand.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Slow rendering since version 4

Postby coilbook » Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:22 pm

coilbook Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:22 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi coilbook,
it seems as you report, I will investigate to better undestand.
Regards
Paride




Thanks
Also I noticed when denoiser is enabled that's when rendering slows down by half.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Slow rendering since version 4

Postby paride4331 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:08 pm

paride4331 Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:08 pm
Hi coilbook,
I made some test, personally I'm not sure there an issue.
Imade a new setting like your and I tested it; then I got your preset and rendered.
To finish I exportated to SA and tested it.
I had 3 same time, so all seems work well.
I will ask to developers what they think.
Regards
Paride
Attachments

[ Play Quicktime file ] test.mp4 [ 10.66 MiB | Viewed 614 times ]

2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Sep 24, 2020 12:18 pm [ UTC ]