Two phoenix grids in the ocean bug

Forums: Two phoenix grids in the ocean bug
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Two phoenix grids in the ocean bug

Postby coilbook » Tue Aug 07, 2018 5:17 am

coilbook Tue Aug 07, 2018 5:17 am
There is a problem with phoenix or octane.
1. Both grids' preview must be set to mesh or octane wont render liquid mesh not sure why octane can never render without preview as a mesh
2. If you try to render you will get strange looking ocean on frame 1 and usually GPU failure on frame 2. Please render frame 180 - and up

scene link https://wetransfer.com/downloads/6375a5 ... 739/d95d28

phoenix used nightly phoenixFD_adv_31101_max2018_defscanline_x64_28375_install.

Thank you
Attachments
phoenix bug.png
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2706
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Two phoenix grids in the ocean bug

Postby coilbook » Tue Aug 07, 2018 12:51 pm

coilbook Tue Aug 07, 2018 12:51 pm
UPDATE:
Phoenix people told me it is nightly bug but display as a mesh must be always on is octane bug I think
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2706
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Two phoenix grids in the ocean bug

Postby paride4331 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 1:58 pm

paride4331 Tue Aug 07, 2018 1:58 pm
Hi coilbook,
about ocean mesh issue, can not comment, I'm not a developer.
I tested your scene, I rendered 180 and 181 sequence as you told, but it seems works fine; as you can see in my anim Gif, there does not seem to be strange artifacts.
Could it be a matter of memory cash? I would not have any other ideas off the top of my head.
Regards
Paride
Attachments
phoen.gif
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3281
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Apr 22, 2021 10:35 am [ UTC ]