Scene file can´t open with octane as renderer

Forums: Scene file can´t open with octane as renderer
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Scene file can´t open with octane as renderer

Postby dawe » Tue May 23, 2017 10:44 am

dawe Tue May 23, 2017 10:44 am
The scene is all octane somehow it stopped working and max is crashing when we try to open it. we have tried with the three latest builds but the same thing happens.
We have to merge the scene in to a new scene every time we want to open it or switch to scanline render in the render dialog before closing/saving.
If we set the renderer to skanline then, it´s ok to open.


This is really a big problem as we have a deadline.
I be happy to send the file, just don´t want to put it up here.

best
Daniel
dawe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:28 pm

Re: Scene file can´t open with octane as renderer

Postby paride4331 » Tue May 23, 2017 12:03 pm

paride4331 Tue May 23, 2017 12:03 pm
Hi dawe,
which Octane 3dsMax plugin version are you using?
You can send me your file or a wetransfer link using private message.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3011
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Scene file can´t open with octane as renderer

Postby dawe » Tue May 23, 2017 1:03 pm

dawe Tue May 23, 2017 1:03 pm
Thanks I sent you a PM

//Daniel
dawe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:28 pm

Re: Scene file can´t open with octane as renderer

Postby paride4331 » Wed May 24, 2017 8:27 am

paride4331 Wed May 24, 2017 8:27 am
Hi dawe,
I tested your file, personally I think your issue depends on using general texture node instead of Octane texture node in Octane materials.
Opening the scene with your workaround and fixing Octane materials with proper Octane texture node, the scene seems to work.
Let me hear from you about.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3011
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Scene file can´t open with octane as renderer

Postby dawe » Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:34 am

dawe Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:34 am
As it turned out it was a model that had a max displacement modifier on it and a missing tif image when I corrected this, it was ok to load the scene.
I cant tell you what had happened or why. it was one of the sea stars in the scene if you want to check.

//Daniel
dawe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:28 pm

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:21 am [ UTC ]