Botion blur bug

Forums: Botion blur bug
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Botion blur bug

Postby dawe » Mon May 15, 2017 7:03 am

dawe Mon May 15, 2017 7:03 am
Hello
there is a bug on vertex motion blur together with a moving camera. not always vissible but on some objekts it occurs.

I´v found a fix for it that is maybe not that convinient in all situations but for now it works and saves our project.

Fix: to place a world space modifier on top of everything ie a point cache WSM. you don´t have to cache it just place it on top and it will fix the incorrect bluing on the object.
I post a file for you t view

Octane version: OctaneRender_for_3ds_Max_3.05.3_-_4.30 ( But I belive it´s the same in all later versions. )

Best
Daniel
Attachments
Harring_bug.7z
(159.13 KiB) Downloaded 81 times
dawe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:28 pm

Re: Botion blur bug

Postby paride4331 » Mon May 15, 2017 7:50 am

paride4331 Mon May 15, 2017 7:50 am
Hi dawe,
Thanks for your report, I think it is a fixed issue in SDK 3.06 (stable)
> "Fixed the motion vector pass, which did not make the viewport transformation correctly for the perspectives of the camera.
The values of the motion vector pass are now the motion vector in pixels and not the motion vector relative to the screen width.
Use the output directly in Fusion, without having to guess the scale.
You still have to set the vector blur scale to 2 for some reason, but with a scale factor of 2 you always get the same amount of motion in Fusion As you would get with rendered motion blur.
"
https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=60772&p=310910&hilit=instances+issue#p310910
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Botion blur bug

Postby dawe » Mon May 15, 2017 8:49 am

dawe Mon May 15, 2017 8:49 am
Hi we tried the test as well as the latest version with the same result. Not sure if it´s the same thing in Underlying method but the text you refer to is about motion vectors and implementations in Fusion. I´m talking about vertex motion blur in octane render not a motion vector pass. see the attached file

Best
//D
dawe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:28 pm

Re: Botion blur bug

Postby paride4331 » Mon May 15, 2017 10:56 am

paride4331 Mon May 15, 2017 10:56 am
Hi dawe,
I think it might depend on the OctaneRender viewport preview.
I did not find the issue, I did a test with vertex motion blur and 0.8 duration, without your fix, it would seem to work.
I attached it.
Let me hear from you about.
Regards
Paride
Attachments
fish.rar
(12.36 MiB) Downloaded 81 times
Last edited by paride4331 on Mon May 15, 2017 7:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Botion blur bug

Postby dawe » Mon May 15, 2017 4:08 pm

dawe Mon May 15, 2017 4:08 pm
Ok sorry, I may be wrong about the other versions.
Thanks we try it out tomorrow

//Daniel
dawe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:28 pm

Re: Botion blur bug

Postby dawe » Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:08 am

dawe Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:08 am
Hi again.

I have to report that the motion blur bug persists in some situations all together with a CAT-rig I Can not give you a file as I´m not on octane 3, only 2 here. but this was a big problem as we didn´t know when it would show up. the fix was to drop a wsm modifier on top.

//Daniel
dawe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:28 pm

Re: Botion blur bug

Postby paride4331 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:43 am

paride4331 Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:43 am
Hi dawe,
In some situations, there seems to be a false motion blur active or as a double motion blur added. I'll send your issue to developers.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:30 am [ UTC ]