Wrong Orientation of VDB coming from PhoenixFD

Forums: Wrong Orientation of VDB coming from PhoenixFD
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Wrong Orientation of VDB coming from PhoenixFD

Postby nildoe » Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:40 pm

nildoe Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:40 pm
Hello,

I'm starting to learn to work with VDB..and I successfully created a VDB Sequence from Phoenix FD..but when i load it to render with octane, From my tests, once the volume object is created and VDB Loaded, I noticed that the volume object Orientation IS WRONG... One needs to ROTATE IN X -90 to be properly aligned...in my case i was trying to simulate Dust coming the tires of a Dune Buggy...the dust was going down instead of follwing the car's animation wheels, once I rotated -90 in X and linked the volume obj to my car all is fine!

Also I use system units Centimeters, and that what I used when i created the VDB, but when i changed the units in the volume obj to match CM, the dust would NOT render...only if leave it at METERS, is this normal??

Nildo
Corei7, 6x GTX1070 (2 Inside and 4 in a CUBIX Xpander), 32GB Ram, Win10 64Bit Home, 3dsMax2017 64Bit, Octane for max 3 and LOVING IT!!!!

MSI GT72S 6QE Dominator Pro G win10Home, gtx 980m.
User avatar
nildoe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:03 am
Location: Maputo-Mozambique

Re: Wrong Orientation of VDB coming from PhoenixFD

Postby paride4331 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:54 am

paride4331 Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:54 am
Hi nildoe,
around .vdb, these three-dimensional structures are very specific and dependent on units of measurement,
Density etc. .vdb are three-dimensional grids that can not be edited as common geometries (eg scaling etc) having internal parameters such as absorption scales, emission, scatter etc.
Octane 3dsMax developers are working to make it fully compatible with plugins like FumeFX or phoenixFD, so some issues may occur.
I have collected a list of links that may help you, I hope they can help you in your projects.
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/3ds-max/v3/using-the-3ds-max-plugin/volumes/
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/standalone/v3/program-overview/the-geometry-import-settings/
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/standalone/v3/using-octanerender/fog-system/
https://docs.otoy.com/#standalone-v3-geometry-the-volume-node
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/cinema-4d/v3/plugin-options-3/volumetrics/volume-object/mode-vdb-loader/
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/3ds-max/v3/using-the-3ds-max-plugin/material-and-texture-interface/mediums/
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3010
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Wrong Orientation of VDB coming from PhoenixFD

Postby nildoe » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:30 am

nildoe Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:30 am
Thanks Paride..I will go trhu the links u provided! :)
Corei7, 6x GTX1070 (2 Inside and 4 in a CUBIX Xpander), 32GB Ram, Win10 64Bit Home, 3dsMax2017 64Bit, Octane for max 3 and LOVING IT!!!!

MSI GT72S 6QE Dominator Pro G win10Home, gtx 980m.
User avatar
nildoe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:03 am
Location: Maputo-Mozambique

Re: Wrong Orientation of VDB coming from PhoenixFD

Postby coilbook » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:29 pm

coilbook Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:29 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi nildoe,
around .vdb, these three-dimensional structures are very specific and dependent on units of measurement,
Density etc. .vdb are three-dimensional grids that can not be edited as common geometries (eg scaling etc) having internal parameters such as absorption scales, emission, scatter etc.
Octane 3dsMax developers are working to make it fully compatible with plugins like FumeFX or phoenixFD, so some issues may occur.
I have collected a list of links that may help you, I hope they can help you in your projects.
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/3ds-max/v3/using-the-3ds-max-plugin/volumes/
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/standalone/v3/program-overview/the-geometry-import-settings/
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/standalone/v3/using-octanerender/fog-system/
https://docs.otoy.com/#standalone-v3-geometry-the-volume-node
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/cinema-4d/v3/plugin-options-3/volumetrics/volume-object/mode-vdb-loader/
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/3ds-max/v3/using-the-3ds-max-plugin/material-and-texture-interface/mediums/
Regards
Paride



will you guys look into the problem when using fuel and fire at the same time viewtopic.php?f=27&t=58382&p=308925#p308925
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Wrong Orientation of VDB coming from PhoenixFD

Postby coilbook » Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:17 am

coilbook Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:17 am
nildoe wrote:Hello,

I'm starting to learn to work with VDB..and I successfully created a VDB Sequence from Phoenix FD..but when i load it to render with octane, From my tests, once the volume object is created and VDB Loaded, I noticed that the volume object Orientation IS WRONG... One needs to ROTATE IN X -90 to be properly aligned...in my case i was trying to simulate Dust coming the tires of a Dune Buggy...the dust was going down instead of follwing the car's animation wheels, once I rotated -90 in X and linked the volume obj to my car all is fine!

Also I use system units Centimeters, and that what I used when i created the VDB, but when i changed the units in the volume obj to match CM, the dust would NOT render...only if leave it at METERS, is this normal??

Nildo


i agree we have to rotate many times to get the right orientation
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Wrong Orientation of VDB coming from PhoenixFD

Postby nildoe » Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:42 am

nildoe Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:42 am
coilbook, i dunno about many times...but in my specific scene i had to rotate just one -90 on X axis

I should test on other cases.
Corei7, 6x GTX1070 (2 Inside and 4 in a CUBIX Xpander), 32GB Ram, Win10 64Bit Home, 3dsMax2017 64Bit, Octane for max 3 and LOVING IT!!!!

MSI GT72S 6QE Dominator Pro G win10Home, gtx 980m.
User avatar
nildoe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:03 am
Location: Maputo-Mozambique

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:42 am [ UTC ]