Volume overlap problem

Forums: Volume overlap problem
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Volume overlap problem

Postby crackfox » Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:22 pm

crackfox Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:22 pm
i am encountering issues when overlapping separate volume objects.

attachted is a zoom of the problem. some of the containers are being sharply cut off.
Attachments
vdb_bug.jpg
crackfox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Volume overlap problem

Postby paride4331 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:33 pm

paride4331 Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:33 pm
Hi crackfox,
this is not an issue, volume intersections could be difficult to render.
They should have similar characteristics, such as volume step lenght and volume grid.
About this may refer this link:
https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=58354
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Volume overlap problem

Postby crackfox » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:19 pm

crackfox Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:19 pm
thanks paride,

i will keep that in mind.
crackfox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Volume overlap problem

Postby coilbook » Mon May 01, 2017 6:11 pm

coilbook Mon May 01, 2017 6:11 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi crackfox,
this is not an issue, volume intersections could be difficult to render.
They should have similar characteristics, such as volume step lenght and volume grid.
About this may refer this link:
https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=58354
Regards
Paride


any way to fix this in the future where octane will blend two volumes We are planning to do fire and smoke animation with lots of grid boxes and some will overlap. Does all renderers have this problem like vray etc ?
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:28 am [ UTC ]