Autoupdate Movable Proxy option is not working

Forums: Autoupdate Movable Proxy option is not working
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Autoupdate Movable Proxy option is not working

Postby akira » Thu Sep 25, 2014 3:46 am

akira Thu Sep 25, 2014 3:46 am
The "autoupdate movable proxy" option in Render View Settings is not working properly.
Object's with movable proxy properties are always updated each frame whether "autoupdate movable proxy" is on or not.
akira
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 4:33 pm

Re: Autoupdate Movable Proxy option is not working

Postby Karba » Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:30 pm

Karba Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:30 pm
akira wrote:The "autoupdate movable proxy" option in Render View Settings is not working properly.
Object's with movable proxy properties are always updated each frame whether "autoupdate movable proxy" is on or not.


autoupdate movable proxy doesn't affect object position, only its internal geometry.
position update works much faster than internal geometry update, that is why autoupdate movable proxy option blocks only geometry update, not position.
User avatar
Karba
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:05 am

Re: Autoupdate Movable Proxy option is not working

Postby akira » Sat Sep 27, 2014 2:26 am

akira Sat Sep 27, 2014 2:26 am
Karba wrote:
akira wrote:The "autoupdate movable proxy" option in Render View Settings is not working properly.
Object's with movable proxy properties are always updated each frame whether "autoupdate movable proxy" is on or not.


autoupdate movable proxy doesn't affect object position, only its internal geometry.
position update works much faster than internal geometry update, that is why autoupdate movable proxy option blocks only geometry update, not position.


If performance is the reason how this option works, then why does Octane block objects transform via disabling "movebale" proxy of Octane properties per object?
I suggest making movable proxy toggles only objects' internal geometry update, let transformation updates all the time.

i.e There are parent and child objects and the parent has some transform animation.
If "movebale" proxy is enabled only on the parent, those child won't follow their parent in the preview window,
We have to manually enable "movebale" proxy on each child to see them move correctly, i don't think it's a good workflow.
No other renderers ask user to do this kind of things.

Regards,

akira.
akira
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 4:33 pm

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Aug 13, 2020 12:54 am [ UTC ]