Page 2 of 2

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 2:35 pm
by paride4331

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:27 pm
by javierluisbravo
Hi neonZorglub!

thanks a lot... just a thing..

the pixels above 1.0 get chopped out... when saving an exr file...

this workflows are chaning so much.. what i did to make it work does not work anymore..
i need the extra data.. the raw data of the exr file.. to do comp in nuke or in after effects... where then the srgb is applied..

even i tried lot of things.. always the exr is save from 0 to 1.0... nothing above..

what am i missing... i already turned off gamma hack and put all in linear as always... exr 32 bit..
wheres the magic button to make that happen? :)


thanks!

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2021 9:19 pm
by javierluisbravo
well...

installing version 2020.1.5 i was able to figure out what was happening... as i made it work in 2020.1.5.
it's something in the renderer tone mapper: HDR.. (theres no more HDR LINEAL there...)

https://ibb.co/8xkxrxV

Tell me if those options are in other place.. i think that there was a problem when ocio /aces got implemented..

if i can't render in raw the exr files are useless..
i hope it's something i am missing...

thanks in advanced!

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:02 pm
by nick73
Hello neonZorglub,

I know you are having a very busy time because of the versions continuously. When you have time can you fix that? Right now 3ds exporter to orbx sends only the first channel of UV mapping. Since Octane uses 3 UV channels it should send all of them or check if any of them is being used. Actually I don't use more than one channel, but I have bought objects with 2 channels. I convert them with 3ds plugin and use them in Archicad plugin (so only export to orbx). Thank You!!

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 3:57 am
by javierluisbravo
Well..

after a paride post i found out the issue:

=> pixels are clamped over 1 in the render buffer of 3dsamax, when OCIO is turned off / disabled / or no config file
=> when Ocio is setup properly... the pixels are not clamped (unless you put srgb in OCIO color space)

I know the hard stuff that AcesCG / OCIO setup is..when 3dsmax is not even prepared for that yet..
i have been strungling with that in Nuke, After and clarisse...
and as 3dsmax is like delayed with all this.. i could set it up in Vray.. and now i have to find the workflow in Octane to make all match..

Thanks for putting OCIO and AcesCG here... as AcesCG is the way to go to make all more realistic renders..

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2021 6:05 pm
by andrey.krivulya
When I click "Open Octane Viewport" then close it - I saw this... And can't start the next IPR render. This happens in each scene =)

As I understand, this will be fixed in the next version?

octane_crash.png


Thank you
Best regards,
Andrew.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2021 9:03 pm
by neonZorglub
nick73 wrote:Hello neonZorglub,

I know you are having a very busy time because of the versions continuously. When you have time can you fix that? Right now 3ds exporter to orbx sends only the first channel of UV mapping. Since Octane uses 3 UV channels it should send all of them or check if any of them is being used. Actually I don't use more than one channel, but I have bought objects with 2 channels. I convert them with 3ds plugin and use them in Archicad plugin (so only export to orbx). Thank You!!


Hi nick73,
Export of 3 UV channels works, but you need to check a few things:
-check that the channels are used, by an octane textures having the corresponding channel number set in a Mesh UV projection set in the Projection slot.
-make sure to use 'Enable ABC export' when exporting to orbx. (there seems to be a wrong channel assignment when this is disabled.. I'll look into it asap..)
Here is a sample with 3 UV channels:
UVSet123_mix.zip
(1.14 MiB) Downloaded 26 times

Thanks

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2021 7:51 pm
by nick73
neonZorglub wrote:
nick73 wrote:Hello neonZorglub,

I know you are having a very busy time because of the versions continuously. When you have time can you fix that? Right now 3ds exporter to orbx sends only the first channel of UV mapping. Since Octane uses 3 UV channels it should send all of them or check if any of them is being used. Actually I don't use more than one channel, but I have bought objects with 2 channels. I convert them with 3ds plugin and use them in Archicad plugin (so only export to orbx). Thank You!!


Hi nick73,
Export of 3 UV channels works, but you need to check a few things:
-check that the channels are used, by an octane textures having the corresponding channel number set in a Mesh UV projection set in the Projection slot.
-make sure to use 'Enable ABC export' when exporting to orbx. (there seems to be a wrong channel assignment when this is disabled.. I'll look into it asap..)
Here is a sample with 3 UV channels:
UVSet123_mix.zip

Thanks


Hi neonZorglub,

It works!! "Enable ABC Export" have been the issue. Thank You!!

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2021 3:32 am
by coilbook
Hi Paride,
Can you please send this link to developers? viewtopic.php?f=81&t=75652

Especially when using filter type in displacement sometimes it won't render Thanks

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.04 TEST

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2021 9:06 am
by Goldisart
Hi tell me how to synchronize the HDRI map of the environment in the 3DMax viewport and the Octane render viewport
the same problem exists in version 4,05 - 6,34