OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.03 TEST

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.03 TEST
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.03 TEST

Postby samsue » Mon Jan 11, 2021 8:43 am

samsue Mon Jan 11, 2021 8:43 am
- Whitebalance dont work ( using aces at least )

- Please remove gamma hack

--------------

- ACES: idt are automatically recognized?

- Why put embedded Octane Color Space and Aces Octane Space too ? It confusing. If you want to leave, shouldn't you be in response?

- What is the idea of OCIO look?

- Does Octane Color Space have to be active? If I leave it in Other, it renders black. So what is Color Space OCIO for?

....
Last edited by samsue on Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.
samsue
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:04 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.03 TEST

Postby jobigoud » Mon Jan 11, 2021 11:28 am

jobigoud Mon Jan 11, 2021 11:28 am
HHbomb wrote:- Scale uniform have some problems
* Could you give more detail ? is it when scaling the object itself (the 3dsmax scale)
or the scaling parameters of the Instance transform group ?
When I choose "Fixed" I need to change Scale max ( not too obvious )
When I choose "Randomized Uniform", which parameter I need to change ( x, y or z) ? But none give me a uniform transformation.


Hi,

Regarding "Fixed" being driven by the max value, we did have some concerns about the discoverability of this… Maybe the tooltip on the max fields should document this behavior.

Regarding "Randomized uniformly", you can change X, Y and Z, what it does is use a single random value across all axes to interpolate the final value between min and max, instead of picking three different random values.
To clarify, consider the following two cases:

Case 1:
- Scale min: {1, 1, 1}
- Scale max: {2, 2, 2}.
- If you choose "Randomized", you might get an output value that would be {1.2, 1.9, 1.5}. Each axis is randomized independently.
- If you choose "Randomized uniformly", you will get something like {1.2, 1.2, 1.2}. The axes are randomized in the same way.

Case 2:
- Scale min: {1, 1, 1}
- Scale max: {4, 2, 1}.
- If you choose "Randomized", you could get {1.3, 1.8, 1}. The final value is at arbitrary places along the way for each axis.
- If you choose "Randomized uniformly", you could get something like {2.5, 1.5, 1}, or you could get {3.97, 1.99, 1}.
This setup would not be a common use-case. If you were to drive this by a gradient texture going from 0 to 1 the final shape would morph between the aspect ratio of the min and the max.

If you want to keep the original aspect ratio of the shape, you will need to set the min and max to each use the same values across their axes, as in case 1.

If you want to change the aspect ratio of the shape but randomize its scale, you set the min and max to have the same aspect ratio.
For example
- Scale min={0.1, 0.2, 0.4}
- Scale max={2, 4, 8}.
- In this case, if you use "Randomized uniformly", all the final values will have this 1:2:4 aspect ratio. For example {1.05, 2.1, 4.2}.

Conceptually it is the same as the difference between using a greyscale texture (single value across all axes) and using a color texture (three different values), to drive the variation.

Locking the axes to use the same value would ideally be an option at the UI level with a toggle.
User avatar
jobigoud
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:28 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.03 TEST

Postby HHbomb » Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:05 pm

HHbomb Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:05 pm
"Locking the axes to use the same value would ideally be an option at the UI level with a toggle" That is what I wanted to say :mrgreen:
| win 10 64 | i7 5930K + 2 x GTX 20802ti | 3dsmax 2021 |
HHbomb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.03 TEST

Postby samsue » Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:17 pm

samsue Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:17 pm
- Whitebalance dont work ( using aces at least )

- Please remove gamma hack

--------------

- ACES: idt are automatically recognized?

- Why we have embedded Octane Color Space and Aces Octane Space too ? It confusing. If you want to leave, shouldn't you be in response?

- What is the idea of OCIO look?

- Does Octane Color Space have to be active? If I leave it in Other, it renders black. Even having ACEScg in OCIO Color Space OCIO ... So what is Color Space OCIO for?

....
samsue
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:04 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC6 - 11.03 TEST

Postby neonZorglub » Mon Jan 11, 2021 11:20 pm

neonZorglub Mon Jan 11, 2021 11:20 pm
Martians wrote:I am having some issues with the Vectron UI - Some of the parameters do not have a checkbox? Also, all the OSL params are not visible in track view - is there anything one can do about this?
Martin


Hi Martin,
Thank you for reporting those issues !
Both will be fixed in the next release
Thanks
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm
Previous

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Feb 25, 2021 2:10 pm [ UTC ]