OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby paride4331 » Mon May 18, 2020 1:02 pm

paride4331 Mon May 18, 2020 1:02 pm
tcheng00 wrote:
HHbomb wrote:I have such crashes with big scenes when moving object ( and I have always Ai lights activated )


Does it go away when you deactivate AI Lights?


Have you any issue inscreasing the Out-of-core using Nvlink?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3270
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby tcheng00 » Mon May 18, 2020 7:41 pm

tcheng00 Mon May 18, 2020 7:41 pm
paride4331 wrote:
tcheng00 wrote:
HHbomb wrote:I have such crashes with big scenes when moving object ( and I have always Ai lights activated )


Does it go away when you deactivate AI Lights?


Have you any issue inscreasing the Out-of-core using Nvlink?
Regards
Paride


I'm using NVlink. There's the occasional "Mismatching barriers, 5 and 2", but it doesn't crash out max and I can just restart it. OOC with NVlink seems to save me an additional 1 GB of OOC to CPU RAM, maybe less. Not sure if it should be more. Things are generally more stable without nvlink, but I lose the extra Vram.
tcheng00
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:33 pm
Location: USA

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby mbetke » Tue May 19, 2020 6:39 am

mbetke Tue May 19, 2020 6:39 am
I also have problems with NVLink and out of memory messages with an aerial image. So lots of vegetation but no "super mesh" scenario. It fails to render with 20GB our of possible 48GB
PURE3D Visualisierungen
Sys: Intel X5960, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2021.3
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1193
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby paride4331 » Tue May 19, 2020 8:19 am

paride4331 Tue May 19, 2020 8:19 am
Hi tcheng00,
"Mismatching barriers, 5 and 2" is a known issue, developers are working on it.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3270
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby paride4331 » Tue May 19, 2020 8:22 am

paride4331 Tue May 19, 2020 8:22 am
mbetke wrote:I also have problems with NVLink and out of memory messages with an aerial image. So lots of vegetation but no "super mesh" scenario. It fails to render with 20GB our of possible 48GB


Hi mbetke,
did you try making all movable proxy, non grouping objects, head room 512mb?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3270
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby samsue » Tue May 19, 2020 9:11 am

samsue Tue May 19, 2020 9:11 am
mbetke wrote:I also have problems with NVLink and out of memory messages with an aerial image. So lots of vegetation but no "super mesh" scenario. It fails to render with 20GB our of possible 48GB


I recommend taking a look at this topic, paride4331 helped me a lot.


viewtopic.php?f=27&t=74536
samsue
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:04 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby Sidches » Tue May 19, 2020 9:14 am

Sidches Tue May 19, 2020 9:14 am
Hi guys, the setting USE ONLY STANDART PARTICLE is still not set by default, every new project needs to be opened, checkboxed, saved and re-opened. =(
Attachments
2020-05-19_12-10-06.png
tyflow settings
2020-05-19_12-10-06.png (4.18 KiB) Viewed 631 times
User avatar
Sidches
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:40 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby tcheng00 » Tue May 19, 2020 1:35 pm

tcheng00 Tue May 19, 2020 1:35 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi tcheng00,
"Mismatching barriers, 5 and 2" is a known issue, developers are working on it.
Regards
Paride


Thank you for that, i'll keep NVlink disabled for now.
tcheng00
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:33 pm
Location: USA

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby javierluisbravo » Wed May 20, 2020 5:38 am

javierluisbravo Wed May 20, 2020 5:38 am
just to write it here as it is related:

when gamma hack is ON.. and nonlinear tonemappiing ON => the exr saved is clamped..
so when you expose down in nuke, after or whatever.. there are no highlights properly kept.

if you render with gamma hack OFF and nonlinear tonemapping OFF (whatever response curve as being off is not affected) => the exr saves fine as it did in versions 2019.

Thanks! Hope you can fix it :)
javierluisbravo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.1 - 10.11

Postby mbetke » Wed May 20, 2020 7:11 am

mbetke Wed May 20, 2020 7:11 am
Hi mbetke,
did you try making all movable proxy, non grouping objects, head room 512mb?
Regards
Paride


You mean grouping objects with the 3ds max feature "Groups"? Or attaching them as an editable poly to each other and make them a big object?

I use layers and groups a lot to keep my scenes organized.
PURE3D Visualisierungen
Sys: Intel X5960, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2021.3
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1193
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Tue Apr 13, 2021 5:19 am [ UTC ]