OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby mbetke » Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:14 am

mbetke Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:14 am
Interesting. I open the Hair&Fur Sample scene, just press render and it instantly crashes my 3dsmax.

But with the new v8.18 from today it just works fine.
PURE3D Visualisierungen
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2021
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1179
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby neonZorglub » Thu Feb 13, 2020 4:18 am

neonZorglub Thu Feb 13, 2020 4:18 am
mbetke wrote:Interesting. I open the Hair&Fur Sample scene, just press render and it instantly crashes my 3dsmax.

But with the new v8.18 from today it just works fine.


Hi mbetke,
I re checked version 8.17, but still didn't get crash..
It could be related to the broadcast modes, now all moved to Kernel settings.
Those broadcast messages are received by all other plugins, and may not be handled properly by some plugins..
In case of crashes, it's better to try to disable all those 4 messages..
Thanks
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby haze » Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:39 pm

haze Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:39 pm
coilbook wrote:Hi Paride,
HEre is the scene with improper phoenix motion blur. At least if they can fix camera motion blur (reverse it)

Please try attached camera to the box and stationary camera. Phoenix mb does opposite effect unlike the box.

scene link https://wetransfer.com/downloads/921c5b ... 543/23b532


I hope this can be fixed soon. Same happens with liquids



The reason why volume instance motion blur was not implemented is that usually when you have a volume that has motion, it interacts with another fluid. For instance, when you have a steam train moving, you expect the steam to be in a curve over the rest of the train (ie interacting with stationary air). If you have the steam exiting in a straight line above, and use instance motion blur, you will have some steam that look like a solid object.

Camera motion blur has no effect on exactly how a volume is traced - the rays are just coming from a different location when they hit the (otherwise stationary) volume.

If you are intending to render a scene as if it is in a vacuum, then I suggest this be added as a feature request, but I can't guarantee at this point that it will come at no cost to performance when it is not being used.

As a workaround, maybe you can keep the box, fire, and camera stationary, and animate the rest of the scene.

Edit: I've added this to our internal tracking system.
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 819
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm
Previous

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Feb 25, 2021 2:10 pm [ UTC ]