OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby mbetke » Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:06 pm

mbetke Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:06 pm
paride4331 wrote:
mbetke wrote:Works really cool so far. Had a "material conversion" day here and not a single crash. Also fast browsing.

But noticed two things:

1. Color Correction: Brightness can't set higher than "1.0"? In old version I was able to place higher values. It is intended?

also

2. On Mix Texture I can't swap materials anymore. Only copy and instance is there.


Hi mbetke,thanks for your report, set to developers.
Regards
Paride


Also the other bug with forest here in this thread? Just want to make sure if you need additional stuff.
PURE3D Visualisierungen
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2021
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1179
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby paride4331 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:26 pm

paride4331 Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:26 pm
mbetke wrote:
paride4331 wrote:
mbetke wrote:Works really cool so far. Had a "material conversion" day here and not a single crash. Also fast browsing.

But noticed two things:

1. Color Correction: Brightness can't set higher than "1.0"? In old version I was able to place higher values. It is intended?

also

2. On Mix Texture I can't swap materials anymore. Only copy and instance is there.


Hi mbetke,thanks for your report, set to developers.
Regards
Paride


Also the other bug with forest here in this thread? Just want to make sure if you need additional stuff.


Hi mbetke,
I downloaded it and I'm going to test it.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3236
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby coilbook » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:29 pm

coilbook Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:29 pm
Hi Paride,
I asked them many times about this problem where phoenix grid creates an opposite effect with camera motion blur when ti is linked to a moving object.
When will they fix it?

Original post viewtopic.php?f=81&t=70717

Thanks
Attachments
mmmmmmm.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2694
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby remKa » Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:25 pm

remKa Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:25 pm
Okay this version is very unstable, it's crashing all the time when I'm rendering big scenes with proxies or forest pack Pro object, whaterver the value of Out of core memory and GPU headroom.

I did a clean installation of the NVidia studio driver (with GURU in safe mode) like you said but nothing helps !

It's either "GPU Failure" or 3dsmax shutting down with no warning


EDIT : I've found out that motion blur on my proxies was responsible of the crashes.

First I launch a render without MB, then I can reactivate it with no troubles
i7 3930K / 1 EVGA Titan Black SuperClocked - 1 GTX Titan - 1 GTX 960 / 32 Gb DDR 3
http://www.remka.fr
https://twitter.com/remKa_
remKa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:23 pm
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby coilbook » Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:30 am

coilbook Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:30 am
why can't you fix standard particles motion blur direction once and far all. We posted like 5 reports for many years about incorrect mb direction at different frames

Thanks
Attachments
nnnnnnnnnnnnnn.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2694
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby neonZorglub » Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:41 am

neonZorglub Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:41 am
coilbook wrote:why can't you fix standard particles motion blur direction once and far all. We posted like 5 reports for many years about incorrect mb direction at different frames

Thanks


Hi coilbook,
I re checked some of my samples; it works for me;
it could come from loading an old scene, that would need to update some settings.. or maybe issues with MB sample count more than 2 ..
I'll investigate more..
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby neonZorglub » Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:42 am

neonZorglub Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:42 am
mbetke wrote:Works really cool so far. Had a "material conversion" day here and not a single crash. Also fast browsing.

But noticed two things:

1. Color Correction: Brightness can't set higher than "1.0"? In old version I was able to place higher values. It is intended?

also

2. On Mix Texture I can't swap materials anymore. Only copy and instance is there.


Hi mbetke,
Thanks for reporting.
Those 2 issues will be fixed in the next release.

The missing xRef for forest pack will also be fixed
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby coilbook » Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:39 am

coilbook Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:39 am
neonZorglub wrote:
coilbook wrote:why can't you fix standard particles motion blur direction once and far all. We posted like 5 reports for many years about incorrect mb direction at different frames

Thanks


Hi coilbook,
I re checked some of my samples; it works for me;
it could come from loading an old scene, that would need to update some settings.. or maybe issues with MB sample count more than 2 ..
I'll investigate more..

Thank you. I will share the scene tomorrow. Please look into instance objects like itoo using too much vram. We went from 400k grass objects to 1.4 mill and max crashes even though it's just instance
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2694
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby remKa » Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:15 am

remKa Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:15 am
Hello,

yesterday everything was working fine (with my motion blur deactivated in the first place then reactivated), but today everything is crashing just after scene evaluation.


Scene is using 8gb of VRam, I tried with and without Out of Core and different values of GPU Headroom with no luck

I have 3 proxies cars with motion blur in a 6 million poly scene (with 1 big xref).. the difference between yesterday and today is that I've modelled a 2000 polygons object, not a big deal !

When the render is starting (1 time on 5), with Out of Core on, some material with displacement are missing and some objects are transparent.

My specs : Windows 10, last NVidia studio driver (with clean guru install), 32 GB DDR-4, 2x 1080ti and a Titan XP

thx


EDIT : please see the Log attached (I didn't change any materials or textures since yesterday)

EDIT 2 : when I remove displacement textures (from quixel materials), everything works fine
Attachments
LOG.txt
(27 KiB) Downloaded 48 times
i7 3930K / 1 EVGA Titan Black SuperClocked - 1 GTX Titan - 1 GTX 960 / 32 Gb DDR 3
http://www.remka.fr
https://twitter.com/remKa_
remKa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:23 pm
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2019.1.5 - 8.17

Postby paride4331 » Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:32 pm

paride4331 Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:32 pm
remKa wrote:Hello,

yesterday everything was working fine (with my motion blur deactivated in the first place then reactivated), but today everything is crashing just after scene evaluation.


Scene is using 8gb of VRam, I tried with and without Out of Core and different values of GPU Headroom with no luck

I have 3 proxies cars with motion blur in a 6 million poly scene (with 1 big xref).. the difference between yesterday and today is that I've modelled a 2000 polygons object, not a big deal !

When the render is starting (1 time on 5), with Out of Core on, some material with displacement are missing and some objects are transparent.

My specs : Windows 10, last NVidia studio driver (with clean guru install), 32 GB DDR-4, 2x 1080ti and a Titan XP

thx

Hi remKa,
what about your parallel sample setting?
Regards
Paride


EDIT : please see the Log attached (I didn't change any materials or textures since yesterday)

EDIT 2 : when I remove displacement textures (from quixel materials), everything works fine
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3236
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Thu Feb 25, 2021 12:51 pm [ UTC ]