OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby coilbook » Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:10 am

coilbook Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:10 am
HI Paride,
there seems to be a bug with AI Lights during rendering. When octane viewport is opened AI lights work. But when rendering it's like AI light engine is not being used. is anything else needs to be enabled? Thanks

UPDATE:

there is more to the problem. During regular rendering when AI is ON you can see lights are a little bit brighter compared to when ai is OFF (so there is a difference) However Octane viewport has even brighter and better looking lights. I attached three images. Not sure what is going on.
Attachments
ai off rendering.png
ai on rendering.png
OCTANE viewport ai lights ON.png
lights ai.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:03 am

paride4331 Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:03 am
coilbook wrote:HI Paride,
there seems to be a bug with AI Lights during rendering. When octane viewport is opened AI lights work. But when rendering it's like AI light engine is not being used. is anything else needs to be enabled? Thanks

UPDATE:

there is more to the problem. During regular rendering when AI is ON you can see lights are a little bit brighter compared to when ai is OFF (so there is a difference) However Octane viewport has even brighter and better looking lights. I attached three images. Not sure what is going on.


Hi coilbook,
you could check something around gamma. Testing your issue, I have no differences between Octane viewport and render.
Regards
Paride
Attachments
01.jpg
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:12 am

paride4331 Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:12 am
ramone163 wrote:I have 2 monitors connected to 980. And 1080 + 1080Ti for rendering.
If i disable only 980, Material editor slow. If I disable also 1080, Material editor - normal speed. Why 1080 affects on 3ds Max preview speed if it is not connected to monitors? Or how it works?



Hi ramone163,
How many PCI-E lanes has your CPU?
Could you check PCI-E lanes Bandwidth using 3, 2 or 1 GPU?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby ramone163 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:44 am

ramone163 Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:44 am
Hi Paride.
My config:
Gigabyte x79-Ud3 (40 lines?)
I7-3930K

980 - [email protected] x16
1080 - [email protected] x8
1080Ti - [email protected] x8

What program I can use to check PCI-E lanes Bandwidth?

paride4331 wrote:
ramone163 wrote:I have 2 monitors connected to 980. And 1080 + 1080Ti for rendering.
If i disable only 980, Material editor slow. If I disable also 1080, Material editor - normal speed. Why 1080 affects on 3ds Max preview speed if it is not connected to monitors? Or how it works?


Hi ramone163,
How many PCI-E lanes has your CPU?
Could you check PCI-E lanes Bandwidth using 3, 2 or 1 GPU?
Regards
Paride
Attachments
PCI.jpg
Maybe this info can help?
PCI.jpg (99.42 KiB) Viewed 1088 times
GPU: 980+1080+1080Ti; 3ds max;
Behance portfolio; Handmadefont.com;
ramone163
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:12 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby coilbook » Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:18 pm

coilbook Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:18 pm
paride4331 wrote:
coilbook wrote:HI Paride,
there seems to be a bug with AI Lights during rendering. When octane viewport is opened AI lights work. But when rendering it's like AI light engine is not being used. is anything else needs to be enabled? Thanks

UPDATE:

there is more to the problem. During regular rendering when AI is ON you can see lights are a little bit brighter compared to when ai is OFF (so there is a difference) However Octane viewport has even brighter and better looking lights. I attached three images. Not sure what is going on.


Hi coilbook,
you could check something around gamma. Testing your issue, I have no differences between Octane viewport and render.
Regards
Paride




Hi Paride,
I will send you the scene in a second. background looks the same just lights are brighter in viewport. maybe it is not gamma
Attachments
ai lights and gamma.jpg
Last edited by coilbook on Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby coilbook » Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:39 pm

coilbook Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:39 pm
Hi Paride,
here is the scene. I did all my tests at frame 900.
Also my lanterns' lights have gradient texture with random color texture. May be this can be the problem during rendering. (UPDATE: that doesn't matter)
I also attached the picture of my gamma settings. It always worked fine with the same brightness in octane viewport and final rendering

Thank you

UPDATE: I just tried with AI lights OFF in viewport and it matches to regular rendering with Ai Lights ON. It's almost like AI lights are not working properly during rendering.

UPDATE: This problem exists with Path Tracing kernel. Direct light works fine.
Attachments
ai lights off.jpg
ai light.zip
(32.35 MiB) Downloaded 56 times
gamma.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:49 pm

paride4331 Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:49 pm
Hi coilbook,
thanks, I tested your scene and I sent my report to developers.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby coilbook » Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:53 pm

coilbook Thu Oct 25, 2018 5:53 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi coilbook,
thanks, I tested your scene and I sent my report to developers.
Regards
Paride

Thank you! I am hoping a new release will have a fix for it.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:05 am

paride4331 Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:05 am
ramone163 wrote:Hi Paride.
My config:
Gigabyte x79-Ud3 (40 lines?)
I7-3930K

980 - [email protected] x16
1080 - [email protected] x8
1080Ti - [email protected] x8

What program I can use to check PCI-E lanes Bandwidth?

paride4331 wrote:
ramone163 wrote:I have 2 monitors connected to 980. And 1080 + 1080Ti for rendering.
If i disable only 980, Material editor slow. If I disable also 1080, Material editor - normal speed. Why 1080 affects on 3ds Max preview speed if it is not connected to monitors? Or how it works?


Hi ramone163,
How many PCI-E lanes has your CPU?
Could you check PCI-E lanes Bandwidth using 3, 2 or 1 GPU?
Regards
Paride



Hi ramone163,
thanks,
Are you using win7? If you connect monitors to 980TI and then connect monitors to 1080, did you find differences between 980TI and 1080 in 3dsMax viewport by moving massive polygons (at least 15 million)? And what about when you open Octane render viewport?
Is it always smooth?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3022
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am
Previous

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:37 am [ UTC ]