OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby senorpablo » Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:14 pm

senorpablo Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:14 pm
Texture compression is a great!

However, It doesn't work with the standard texture slot. Why is this an issue? The standard texture slot is the only one which displays correctly in the Max viewport. The Octane materials and maps still look to be capped at very low resolution, perhaps 512x512, in the viewport. This makes working difficult.

This is one aspect of the overall poor quality/compatibility of Octane materials and lights in the Max viewport.

Would it be possible to make compression compatible with the standard texture slot, or to fix the viewport display of Octane maps such as RGB Image?
senorpablo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:52 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby SergKlyosov » Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:48 am

SergKlyosov Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:48 am
senorpablo wrote:Texture compression is a great!

However, It doesn't work with the standard texture slot. Why is this an issue? The standard texture slot is the only one which displays correctly in the Max viewport. The Octane materials and maps still look to be capped at very low resolution, perhaps 512x512, in the viewport. This makes working difficult.

This is one aspect of the overall poor quality/compatibility of Octane materials and lights in the Max viewport.

Would it be possible to make compression compatible with the standard texture slot, or to fix the viewport display of Octane maps such as RGB Image?


You can adjust texture preview resolution in the Kernel tab - Mat. preview W/H (See attachment). But I don't know how it affects performance, I think Paride can give as an answer about that

Also found a new bug: material preview looks like standard grey ball on floor but with diffuse texture in screen mode on top of it, and RGB Image preview looks like blown out completely white texture. And it keeps look like this until I open a large preview of that material
Attachments
BlownoutWhite.jpg
BigPreview.jpg
HighRes.jpg
LowRes.jpg
Win 10 64 | RTX 3090 | i9 9980XE | 64GB RAM
SergKlyosov
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 9:33 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:46 am

paride4331 Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:46 am
DartFrog wrote:I'm sure the texture compression thing 'works', but I still couldn't render. It stayed a black screen. I have too many maps I'd have to edit to 'faster' so I'm not going to bother.


After I reported this issue to developer, I made some test about and It works; Octane gets some time to compress textures so Octane shows a black screen.
After compressing process all go smooth.
we can check the compression setting and compressed size by opening the node viewer.

Developer told the compression is now a separate process that runs in parallel, starts as soon as we select a compression format or load a scene with compressed texture set, etc.
The compression information window appears, and closes, it means that compression has began, but when we start render, it need to wait for the end of compression. To solve thi issue SDK developers should to add a way to know if a compression is in progress.
It should be much more automatic in the future, and save the compressed images on disc and have a textures list.

Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3306
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:47 am

paride4331 Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:47 am
SergKlyosov wrote:
senorpablo wrote:Texture compression is a great!

However, It doesn't work with the standard texture slot. Why is this an issue? The standard texture slot is the only one which displays correctly in the Max viewport. The Octane materials and maps still look to be capped at very low resolution, perhaps 512x512, in the viewport. This makes working difficult.

This is one aspect of the overall poor quality/compatibility of Octane materials and lights in the Max viewport.

Would it be possible to make compression compatible with the standard texture slot, or to fix the viewport display of Octane maps such as RGB Image?


You can adjust texture preview resolution in the Kernel tab - Mat. preview W/H (See attachment). But I don't know how it affects performance, I think Paride can give as an answer about that

Also found a new bug: material preview looks like standard grey ball on floor but with diffuse texture in screen mode on top of it, and RGB Image preview looks like blown out completely white texture. And it keeps look like this until I open a large preview of that material




Hi SergKlyosov,
yes I found it too, I sent it to developers.
Cliccking on prews square and opening prews sphere, edit color or textures, everything falls into line.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3306
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:17 am

paride4331 Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:17 am
[quote="senorpablo"]Texture compression is a great!

Hi senorpablo,
you can set Mat. preview W/H until 4092x4092 in Kernel panel; to update you have to click on "show shaded material in viewport".
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3306
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:59 pm

paride4331 Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:59 pm
coilbook wrote:i ma getting this error. RC4 didnt have this bug Thanks

OctaneRender 4.00 RC6 (4000016)

CUDA error 400 on device 1: invalid resource handle
-> failed to launch kernel(kernel63)
CUDA error 400 on device 2: invalid resource handle
-> failed to launch kernel(kernel63)
CUDA error 400 on device 2: invalid resource handle
-> failed to launch kernel(kernel63)
CUDA error 400 on device 1: invalid resource handle
-> failed to launch kernel(kernel63)
CUDA error 400 on device 2: invalid resource handle
-> failed to launch kernel(kernel63)


Hi coilbook,
I can replicate your issue, I sent to developers.
Thanks
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3306
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby coilbook » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:09 pm

coilbook Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:09 pm
neonZorglub wrote:
coilbook wrote:is GPU limit 20 fixed?
Thanks


Yes. Gpu settings was not correctly sent to Octane, and instead of 2/3 of you local gpus enabled, it was using 3/3 (3+18 network gpus was > 20)..



Please fix the GPU count it is still messing up

"OctaneRender 4.00 RC6 (4000016)

the total count of GPUs used locally and over the network exceeds 20. ignoring slave xxxxxxx (7) with 5 device(s).".


it'll work for awhile then it will give the error message. We have total 20 GPUs The 21st is not used at all for display only.

Thank you
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby coilbook » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:15 pm

coilbook Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:15 pm
Hi Paride,
is there a reason for a long octane viewport scene evaluation times? is it a bug?


It takes 1 min 15 sec to open octane viewport (Process geometry) but it only takes 30 seconds to process geometry when render button is pressed.

Thanks
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:53 pm

paride4331 Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:53 pm
coilbook wrote:Hi Paride,
is there a reason for a long octane viewport scene evaluation times? is it a bug?


It takes 1 min 15 sec to open octane viewport (Process geometry) but it only takes 30 seconds to process geometry when render button is pressed.

Thanks


Hi coilbook,
I think this is new Octane scene Persistency feature.
Is it actived?
Regrds
paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3306
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 [TEST]

Postby clicky » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:58 pm

clicky Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:58 pm
OctaneRender Studio v4.00-RC6 - 6.08 version for 3dsmax is not in the downloads section, when will it be added? We really need this right now :)
clicky
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:20 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Fri Jun 18, 2021 9:59 pm [ UTC ]