OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby Goldisart » Tue Mar 24, 2015 7:05 am

Goldisart Tue Mar 24, 2015 7:05 am
+1
Hi
I have not found the opportunity to work with this function in version 2.21.1
I hope that in the next release, this feature will appear
Attachments
2015-03-24 09-39-21 Render Elements.png
Last edited by Goldisart on Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Goldisart
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:47 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby oguzbir » Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:57 am

oguzbir Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:57 am
Karba wrote:Thank you for your feedbacks.
We will fix things as soon as we can. Jimstar will help me soon.


Hello Karba,
You know, I've been in pursuit of maxscript - octane compability for ages.
I would like to draw you and all max members attention to these links
http://patrick.reformstudios.com/2015/0 ... ht-lister/
and
http://patrick.reformstudios.com/2015/0 ... y-plugins/
These links will give you good understanding of the script is being written.

It's a script to manage Scene contents. Which will help to manage a lot of lights at one go, manage material properties (eg. materials with emmissions) in a refined menu. The script is being written by a great guy named Patrick Macdonald His web page.

As he claimed that script would automatically support any 3rd-party plugins you used.
So, I've contacted him and signed up for a beta asked if he could test his unreleased software with octane for max.

He said,
"Ok, I tried out Octane render, and your suspicions proved correct, it isn't exposed in the usual way to maxscript like other plugins. "
He added,
"I also notice that Colin Senner of "Relink Bitmaps" fame has also had similar problems with Octane and hadn't made much progress when making advances to the developers. (http://www.colinsenner.com/scripts/reli ... ent-page-2) Without going through the same efforts as Colin I don't know if things have changed, but in the meantime I suggest you contact them yourself and ask them to expose all the renderer and material/light/camera parameters to maxscript to allow 3rd-party tools like Mission Control and Relink Bitmaps easier access to their plugins' classes.

Sorry I can't be more help at this stage, but I'm busy trying to get the core code of Mission Control ready for release. Once I have more time I'll be able to get in touch with Octane''s developers and hopefully find a way to integrate the plugin with the tool."

And I asked
Would you tell me what I should I tell the devs to correct or improve? regarding maxscript compatibility..

He said,
To get you started, my first discovery is that when you attempt to access the renderer parameters, the plugin returns nothing. So, to confirm this make Octane your current renderer and then try these two lines.
currRenderer= renderers.current
show currRenderer

Do this for both Scanline renderer or Vray and lastly for Octane to see the difference.
------

As far as I can see Octane for max has one major fault and this is it. If you work on it, and let maxscript object classes, object properties, material properties, render setting properties, lights, texture properties exposed to maxscript than we can use good scripts out that what would greatly change the way we work.

If Karba or Jimstar would I like to get in touch with Patrick I can send you his email.
He is not a friend of mine and I didn't get his word for it but I genuinely think he might help you in conjunction with compatibility with this script.

Or at least tell me whether or not you'll add maxscript support at all.

Best,
My Portfolio
windows 10 Pro. |1070 + 1070 + 1070 + 1070 | i7 @4.5Ghz
User avatar
oguzbir
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:30 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby acc24ex » Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:11 pm

acc24ex Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:11 pm
+100

(octane scripters, come and show support, show that there is enough of us)

- I know, you probably don't script all the time, same as me, but when want to start scripting, you need stuff to work, give some pluses just to check how many more are here, and would like to see some future improvements on the maxscript front - since we cannot use Lua scripting, we need this

- render settings were already mentioned as it didn't work.. materials all work, but adding maps don't (you can access them after they are manually assigned but that is limiting the script usage)
- as I have posted that bit before, the same method for applying maps to materials in standard material, does not apply to octane materials (but it did work on kernel 1.3).. most of the other stuff can be accessed

- also the light explorer inside max 2015 built in outliner, doesn't react to on/off setting, just hide/unhide

- BTW max scatter compound has a bug with instance, even though it is set as instance octane treats it like a copy with movable proxy (moves interactively and uses more memory with each new duplicate) - you shoul really look into it..

- guys, do you even check the threads, and is there a more proper way to submit bugs.. this scatter thing doesn't work for some time now..
[size=85]3dmax, zbrush, UE
//Behance profile //BOONAR
//Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1467
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby RobSteady » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:22 am

RobSteady Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:22 am
Where to set the UV Channel number?
Octane for 3ds Max v2.21.1 | i7-5930K | 32GB | 1 x GTX Titan Z + 2 x GTX 980 Ti
User avatar
RobSteady
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 7:33 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby HHbomb » Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:35 pm

HHbomb Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:35 pm
my first ask for maxscript was on "Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:44 am "
nothing seems to have changed... :(
| seven 64 | i7 5930K + titanX + 1050 for video | i7 3970 + 4 x titan | i7 5960 + 4 x titanX | 3dsmax 2018 |
HHbomb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 944
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby mikinik » Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:33 pm

mikinik Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:33 pm
hi guys! tell me, displacement should not work with Mesh UV projection map? this is bug?
i7-3930/32Gb/gtx780/gtx680/win7x64/3dsmax2016/3dsmax2017
mikinik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 1:05 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby coilbook » Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:13 am

coilbook Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:13 am
please check motion blur slow down. in earlier versions with or without render time stayed almost the same. Now with motion blur on it renders 3 times slower

maybe it is because before motion blur on was enough now it does not work any more unless vertex motion blur is enabled maybe that's why it is slow
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby lunarstudio » Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:34 am

lunarstudio Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:34 am
+10k for Maxscript Support.
I totally agree with acc24ex and HHBomb.

It is one of the major things that is impeding workflow for Max users (which I'd imagine is the biggest market next to SU.)

I reached out to Colin Senner for support originally in the hopes of updating Relink Bitmaps. We tried for several days to implement this plugin/script but no luck and hence the both of us have written PMs to moderators and forums with no reply. I take it that they are just extremely busy and have had little time presently.

As previously mentioned, it is one of the most useful scripts that is out there as Max has had terrible file search/management since first release and it doesn't appear Autodesk will ever update it. It makes material library and file conversions take 20X longer than it should adding up to hours of extra work weekly.

Also worth noting is that Railclone and Forest Pro has some issues as well interfacing with Octane due to the lack of Maxscript support.

If Maxscript is implemented properly, it would be of tremendous benefit to Max users and to your company as a whole. Since the person in charge of Max development is unfamiliar with Maxscript, I would suggest partnering up with Colin Senner to resolve this as he is a veteran and skilled coder.
lunarstudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 12:36 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby oguzbir » Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:29 pm

oguzbir Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:29 pm
lunarstudio wrote:+10k for Maxscript Support.


It's nice to see more people re-demanding maxscript connectivity.
It's been mentioned that JimStar is going to work with Karba on the plugin.
But no one revealed what will be implemented and when.

Fingers still crossed for 4 years... :D
My Portfolio
windows 10 Pro. |1070 + 1070 + 1070 + 1070 | i7 @4.5Ghz
User avatar
oguzbir
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:30 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.21.1

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:36 pm

Elvissuperstar007 Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:36 pm
particles work?
I can not render rain
Attachments
50 (1).rar
(920.93 KiB) Downloaded 81 times
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed May 27, 2020 12:53 am [ UTC ]