OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby Karba » Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:41 pm

Karba Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:41 pm
Main changes since version 2.11.1a

  • Fixed cylindrical camera mode
  • Fixed region render
  • Fixed motion blur of PF.
  • Switched to CUDA 6.5.
  • Improved performance of Maxwell 2 GPUs (GTX 970 and GTX 980).
  • Speed up processing of HDR textures which should reduce the delay when a scene with many HDR textures is loaded on the GPU.
  • Fixed displacement "cracks" (see viewtopic.php?f=81&t=43228).
  • Fixed memory leak when environment importance sampling is used.
  • Fixed incorrect sampling when multiple GPUs with mixed render priorities are used (see viewtopic.php?p=210018#p210018).
  • Fixed emitter sampling of animated meshes (see viewtopic.php?p=209832#p209832).
  • Fixed mix material in the AO/wireframe info channel kernels.
  • Enabled PMC for Maxwell 2 GPUs.
  • Fixed performance regression in PMC kernel introduced with version 2.11.
  • Fixed/improved displacement mapping with negative offsets.
  • Fixed self-shadowing of objects with matte material.
  • Fixed post-processing glare.
  • Switched to a newer version of the network library used for network rendering fixing low transfer rates on some Win7 computers.
  • Fixed missing initialization of Winsock library which may cause net render daemon discovery or the daemons to fail.
  • Fixed a crash in Octane if a daemon gets enabled on the same computer as the master.


Due to the switch to CUDA 6.5 you will need a current graphics driver of version 344.x or higher.

DOWNLOAD
Installer http://render.otoy.com/plugindownloads/ ... p_2_13.zip (30MB ZIP File)

For network slave and daemon please download standalone installer here
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=43530

Yours,
The OctaneRender® Team.
User avatar
Karba
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:05 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby oguzbir » Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:17 am

oguzbir Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:17 am
Good stuff. Thanks Karba. Will test tomorrow.

Edit:I test a basic PF motion blur test. Things didn't go well as expected. Will try more soon.
Could any one share your results with MB with Particle Flow?
my nvidia driver is 344.11
My Portfolio
windows 10 Pro. |1070 + 1070 + 1070 + 1070 | i7 @4.5Ghz
User avatar
oguzbir
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:30 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby coilbook » Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:56 am

coilbook Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:56 am
Thanks!

Hopefully realflow can be fixed and itoo forest motion blur
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2587
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby Pioner_pio » Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:15 am

Pioner_pio Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:15 am
Please tell me what is better now (faster for Octane) GTX 970 4gb or GTX 780 3gb?
Pioner_pio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:37 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby profbetis » Fri Nov 21, 2014 7:21 am

profbetis Fri Nov 21, 2014 7:21 am
Super awesome! Great work!
GTX 1080Ti 11GB (3x), Water-cooled
Intel i7-5820K 6-core @ 3.3GHz
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM
User avatar
profbetis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:00 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby kevinshane » Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:56 am

kevinshane Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:56 am
seems like motion vector pass is missing, also motion blur duration not working, and motion blur steps not working~~please look into that~thanks
Last edited by kevinshane on Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:36 am, edited 3 times in total.
MSI GT70 laptop i7-3610QM+32G+GTX680M 4G

Octane Arch/Interior Viz Tutorials
http://www.kshane.com
kevinshane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:49 pm
Location: China

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby bicket » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:12 am

bicket Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:12 am
Thank you Karba

I hope we could have a render passes selector inside octane viewport.
PortFolio
4 x TITAN - Win 7 64 - Octane Rocks
User avatar
bicket
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:46 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby oguzbir » Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:51 am

oguzbir Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:51 am
Here is my report regarding motion blur.(MB)

MB steps, MB duration, MB checkbox, does not update until you move the time slider.

If I try MB with Particle flow. (Tested with geometry with particle flow box object shape and shape instance a teapot)
MB I think works but the samples are stuck 1 and oct. viewport repeat the first sample only with loop.
(tested using one and multi gpu's)

IF partcile flow elements like;
PF Source 001
PF Source 001 -> PF Source 001
PF Source 001 -> Event 001
Are set at object motion blur. Blur doesnt work.
Vertex motion blur works in some cases but only with final render. not octane viewport.

There is a lot of possibilities to test but all I can say atthemoment is that.
It doesnt work properly.

Karba here is a basic test scene an max 2014 format.
testMB_max2014.rar
(19.93 KiB) Downloaded 99 times
My Portfolio
windows 10 Pro. |1070 + 1070 + 1070 + 1070 | i7 @4.5Ghz
User avatar
oguzbir
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:30 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby kevinshane » Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:03 pm

kevinshane Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:03 pm
test with realflow abc file motion blur , still no any motion blur for the fluid(deform object)! but the shark did produce some motion blur(static object with no deform)...those ojects both are abc format! Should I send this test scene to you Mr.Karba??It's about 400MB~~
03.jpg
02.jpg
01.jpg
MSI GT70 laptop i7-3610QM+32G+GTX680M 4G

Octane Arch/Interior Viz Tutorials
http://www.kshane.com
kevinshane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:49 pm
Location: China

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.13

Postby Philipp1980 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:52 pm

Philipp1980 Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:52 pm
Hey everyone,

as soon as I install the v2.13, nothing is rendering anymore. Not in the material libraries and not in the render viewport. When opening the material editor, 3ds max crashes. As soon as I go back to the previous version it works again. Is there anyone else with this problem?

Greetings :)
Philipp1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:56 am
Next

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:36 am [ UTC ]