OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby coilbook » Thu Oct 09, 2014 2:55 pm

coilbook Thu Oct 09, 2014 2:55 pm
I thought static noise was better I guess it is worse?
Can we have an option non static and the one mental ray and vray have or the way pixar renders - clear image for cg cartoons? What do they have static or non static? I just dont want my highlights to move chaotically because cg cartoons don't do that were rendered with CPU
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2607
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby oguzbir » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:55 pm

oguzbir Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:55 pm
Karba hi,

About the hair rendering problems
I sent you a mail and scene files over wetransfer.
I hope you can have a look when you have time.
Please let me know what you think from here or over mail.

Thanks.
Oguz
My Portfolio
windows 10 Pro. |1070 + 1070 + 1070 + 1070 | i7 @4.5Ghz
User avatar
oguzbir
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:30 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby solidworkattack » Fri Oct 10, 2014 3:28 pm

solidworkattack Fri Oct 10, 2014 3:28 pm
speed iprovement is really nice, for my demoscene about 20%.

The problem I got with 2.1 is that as soon as I start rendering in the liveviewer it seems so switch colors for the first ~500 samples..really weird. It looks like it's switching HDRIs or lightsources. I don't know where it comes from but it just happens in DirectLighting mode.. I've checked several different HDRIs and shaders but that doesn't fix it. Any suggestions?
Cinema R16 | Win 8.1 Pro | 2x Geforce GTX780 6GB | i7-4960X Extreme Edition | 16GB
solidworkattack
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:37 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby mykola1985 » Fri Oct 10, 2014 7:20 pm

mykola1985 Fri Oct 10, 2014 7:20 pm
Hi Karba, just wanted to say that i have done a small speed test for octane 2.1 3ds max plugin VS Octane Standalone 2.11.

scene 1

octane MAX plugin 1.33 min
Octane standalone 1.19 min

scene 2

octane MAX plugin 1.05 min
Octane standalone 0.56 min

------------------------------
i thought that the difference would be bigger... like 50% more for standalone version. I have to say i am glad it's not so big ;)
i7 3770K, 12GB RAM, ASUS STRIX GTX 780 - 6GB OC Edition + ASUS GTX 780 Ti - 3GB, win 7 ultimate 64bit
User avatar
mykola1985
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby gabrielefx » Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:50 am

gabrielefx Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:50 am
mykola1985 wrote:Hi Karba, just wanted to say that i have done a small speed test for octane 2.1 3ds max plugin VS Octane Standalone 2.11.

scene 1

octane MAX plugin 1.33 min
Octane standalone 1.19 min

scene 2

octane MAX plugin 1.05 min
Octane standalone 0.56 min

------------------------------
i thought that the difference would be bigger... like 50% more for standalone version. I have to say i am glad it's not so big ;)


Why the standalone is faster???
quad Titan Kepler 6GB + quad Titan X Pascal 12GB + quad GTX1080 8GB + dual GTX1080Ti 11GB
User avatar
gabrielefx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1701
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:00 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby mykola1985 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:33 am

mykola1985 Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:33 am
nice question... :)
i7 3770K, 12GB RAM, ASUS STRIX GTX 780 - 6GB OC Edition + ASUS GTX 780 Ti - 3GB, win 7 ultimate 64bit
User avatar
mykola1985
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby oguzbir » Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:11 pm

oguzbir Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:11 pm
gabrielefx wrote:Why the standalone is faster???


gabrielefx,
devs can answer better but I guess that is understandable in some way.
I had noticed that before but I figure out by myself. I'm sure but here is what I think.

Back then when I was working as a TD in an animation studio. All my final animation renders were done in command line. Which it really differed from what I rendered inside max.
Which used lower resources. Even though I was using max internal renderers like scanline or MR.

Where as oct. standalone is directly connected to the kernel not through Octane3dsmax.dlr plugin file.
Which I think that makes that speed difference.

Another thing..
I'm not sure if mykola1985 did this test accurately.
I wonder how he tested it. Via octane viewport render or via final render?
I remember Karba saying long time ago (where the first max plugin was created by Karba while ago)
It was something like "Final render will be much quicker than Octane viewport" long time ago when the first max plugin was created.
Last edited by oguzbir on Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Portfolio
windows 10 Pro. |1070 + 1070 + 1070 + 1070 | i7 @4.5Ghz
User avatar
oguzbir
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:30 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby aoktar » Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:14 pm

aoktar Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:14 pm
mykola1985 wrote:Hi Karba, just wanted to say that i have done a small speed test for octane 2.1 3ds max plugin VS Octane Standalone 2.11.

scene 1

octane MAX plugin 1.33 min
Octane standalone 1.19 min

scene 2

octane MAX plugin 1.05 min
Octane standalone 0.56 min

------------------------------
i thought that the difference would be bigger... like 50% more for standalone version. I have to say i am glad it's not so big ;)


Render priority
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13301
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby mykola1985 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:45 pm

mykola1985 Sat Oct 11, 2014 12:45 pm
Render priority is set to high in Octane standalone and low priority unchecked for the 3ds MAX plugin. 99% GPU usage for both.

P.s. in some non heavy scenes the difference is minimal but still the standalone is always faster.
i7 3770K, 12GB RAM, ASUS STRIX GTX 780 - 6GB OC Edition + ASUS GTX 780 Ti - 3GB, win 7 ultimate 64bit
User avatar
mykola1985
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.10

Postby mykola1985 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:26 pm

mykola1985 Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:26 pm
Karba, there is another bug with displacement I think....
the Octane viewport won't open anymore as soon as I apply a material with displacement map on multiple geometry instances. In error LOG i get the following message:

CUDA error 719 on device 0: An exception occurred on the device while executing a kernel. The context cannot be used anymore and must be destroyed. All existing device memory allocations from this context are invalid and must be reconstructed.
-> kernel execution failed (pick)
device 0: picking failed


i can send you the scene..

UPDATE: even if i reopen the scene, it still gives me the same error message and Octane viewport fails to open.
i7 3770K, 12GB RAM, ASUS STRIX GTX 780 - 6GB OC Edition + ASUS GTX 780 Ti - 3GB, win 7 ultimate 64bit
User avatar
mykola1985
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:04 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed May 27, 2020 12:47 am [ UTC ]