OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby Karba » Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:02 am

Karba Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:02 am
Main changes since version 2.06

  • Proxy support.

Main changes since version 2.05

  • Fixed high gpu memory consumption.
  • Fixed mix material viewport representation.
  • Fixed incorrect first animation frame


This is a test version, major bugs are possible.

DOWNLOAD
Installer http://render.otoy.com/plugindownloads/ ... _2_06a.zip (30MB ZIP File)

For network slave and daemon please download standalone installer here
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=41635

Yours,
The OctaneRender® Team.
User avatar
Karba
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:05 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby Karba » Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:12 am

Karba Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:12 am
How to convert geometry to proxy

1) Select a geometry (one or several object), right click, Export to Octane Proxy
2) Set folder to store proxy files (file names will be the same as object names), replace original, and other parameters
3) Export
Attachments
1.png
1.png (32.34 KiB) Viewed 3586 times
2.png
3.png
User avatar
Karba
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:05 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby thilima » Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:28 am

thilima Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:28 am
yeaaaah awesoome
thilima
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:48 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby WhaleHunter » Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:12 am

WhaleHunter Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:12 am
Thanks Karba,

Awesome! We are downloading to test now.

About the Windows timeout / on big scene load times? Is this addressed yet?

Thanks.
WhaleHunter
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 8:49 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby Karba » Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:20 am

Karba Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:20 am
WhaleHunter wrote:Thanks Karba,

Awesome! We are downloading to test now.

About the Windows timeout / on big scene load times? Is this addressed yet?

Thanks.


No, it is not, unfortunately. I will try to fix time out next time.
What do you mean big scene load time? when you just open a scene file or start render?
User avatar
Karba
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:05 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby bicket » Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:03 am

bicket Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:03 am
thank you karba for this master piece of code.
it will help a lot
preview window is really fast
PortFolio
4 x TITAN - Win 7 64 - Octane Rocks
User avatar
bicket
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:46 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby FamilyGuy » Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:08 am

FamilyGuy Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:08 am
Stupid question but what does the proxy gives? What is the difference between proxy and instance? What are the benefits?
User avatar
FamilyGuy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:23 pm
Location: Poland

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby 3dgeeks » Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:17 am

3dgeeks Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:17 am
Hi Karba,

Great work. We will be giving them a try.

In your opinion if we want to render animations with moving people, would it be faster and use less memory to use animated proxies or meshes with bipeds.?
3dgeeks
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 8:12 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby WhaleHunter » Tue Sep 09, 2014 9:03 am

WhaleHunter Tue Sep 09, 2014 9:03 am
What do you mean big scene load time? when you just open a scene file or start render?


When the scene is loading into the octane render buffer, the buffer can go not responding.
These scenes we cannot render interactively, or when the max scene is also open.
We have to send to backburner and render to a server.

Scene file opens in a reasonable time.

Still plenty of VRAM (6gb cards) and RAM (32gb on machine) remaining.
WhaleHunter
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 8:49 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2.06a (proxy support)

Postby HHbomb » Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:50 am

HHbomb Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:50 am
Waaahhhhh !!! Thank you very much Karba !! it is well worth the wait... :-)
| seven 64 | i7 5930K + titanX + 1050 for video | i7 3970 + 4 x titan | i7 5960 + 4 x titanX | 3dsmax 2018 |
HHbomb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 944
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:45 pm
Next

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed May 27, 2020 12:34 am [ UTC ]