PCIe Lane issue.

Forums: PCIe Lane issue.
Area for student license holders to post questions and discuss octane.

PCIe Lane issue.

Postby electric_eric » Tue May 09, 2017 12:48 pm

electric_eric Tue May 09, 2017 12:48 pm
Hi,

I've been using one of Amfeltecs external GPU clusters for a couple of years now, see below:
http://amfeltec.com/products/gpu-oriented-cluster/

I've been running 6 x 780ti without issues and lately I decided to upgrade to 6 x 980ti.

I've swapped the cards over to the 980ti's and they power on fine, using the multiple 1000w PSU's. However now I am getting issues with them not being recognised by the pc.

They are not showing up in the device manager and I am getting errors such as 'not enough resources' etc which leads me to think it has something to do with a lack of pcie lanes.

I have a Intel Core i7 6700K Processor which has 16 pcie lanes, which should be enough to cope with 6x 980ti?? Is this enough?

I'm at a loss on what to do to be honest, hence why I'm posting here so any help at all would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Simon
Intel i7 6700k - 64gb Ram - 6 x 980ti
electric_eric
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: PCIe Lane issue.

Postby acc24ex » Tue May 09, 2017 1:28 pm

acc24ex Tue May 09, 2017 1:28 pm
..your setup should work, I'm interested how you fixed this as I was interested in this expansion setup as well..
- I had a similar problem, but it was due to the riser which didn't have enough power for it to run a 590gtx - but 980ti uses the same amount of power as 780ti - also I ended up loosing connectivity on some pci slots - not sure what happened, but whatever I put into 3 of the 7 slots doesn't get recognised (the board is 5 years old now, maybe just something burned through finally)..

- check the cables, check the pci buses.. plug them in individually into the existing pci-e slots to see if those work find - I know I got a clusterfuck trying to fill all the slots with riser cards - they powered up, but system didn't see them - it was always due to the connectors

- what understood so far, the limitation is that you can plug max of 7 pci devices on some boards.. and it should be up to the motherboard not the cpu
WIN7x64,P6T7 WS/ i7 920/24gb//GPU:4x590GTX+580GTX; 3dmax, zbrush
//Behance profile //BOONAR //BOOTEEQ PROFILE // GPU render (b)log

/// Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: PCIe Lane issue.

Postby electric_eric » Tue May 09, 2017 1:36 pm

electric_eric Tue May 09, 2017 1:36 pm
This is the motherboard I have:

http://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA- ... -rev-10#sp

As I said, this has been working fine with the 780ti's so maybe it is just a case of double checking all the cables.

Maybe I simply have the cards in the wrong configuration and not making the best use of the onboard pcie slots.

Will let you know if I get anywhere with this.

Cheers
Intel i7 6700k - 64gb Ram - 6 x 980ti
electric_eric
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: PCIe Lane issue.

Postby acc24ex » Tue May 09, 2017 2:00 pm

acc24ex Tue May 09, 2017 2:00 pm
yeah, I'm 99% on that it isn't the pci lanes.. also, try adding one by one, to see when it starts failing.. it really looks like it should work by simply switching the cards..
WIN7x64,P6T7 WS/ i7 920/24gb//GPU:4x590GTX+580GTX; 3dmax, zbrush
//Behance profile //BOONAR //BOOTEEQ PROFILE // GPU render (b)log

/// Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:31 am [ UTC ]