Multiple Versions of Octane

Forums: Multiple Versions of Octane
Area for student license holders to post questions and discuss octane.

Multiple Versions of Octane

Postby psyop1sf » Mon Sep 07, 2020 1:10 am

psyop1sf Mon Sep 07, 2020 1:10 am
Okay, maybe this is a stupid question, I feel like I'm missing something simple, but how do you load multiple versions of Octane?

For example... lets say I'm using V3.08.4 and I want to keep that on my machine, but I also want to load the newest V2020.1.4. I'm using 3ds Max, and know I can swap between available loaded versions in the render section tab if I can get them on my system. But, when I try to load a newer version, it automatically overwrites the old version. I never see a option or window on where to load it, whether to overwrite the old version etc... It just does it all automatically.

Am I missing something obvious?

I need to keep the older version, because I need to be able to hand some files back and forth with team members using the old version. My office has permanent licences for it, not the subscription. I personally have the subscription, and want to use the newer versions on my personal stuff, but can't load the latest and greatest, because it overwrites the old version that's used on all corporate projects.

Any ideas?
psyop1sf
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Multiple Versions of Octane

Postby paride4331 » Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:01 am

paride4331 Mon Sep 07, 2020 8:01 am
Hi psyop1sf ,
Basically new Octane versions open smooth scenes made with previous versions, but it didn't work the other way around.
It's not possibile install different Octane for 3dsMax plugin version at the same time.
You could install Octane for 3dSMax v3.8x on 3dSMax v2020 and Octane for 3dsMax v2020.x on 3dSMax v2021 (or something like that).
In this way you won't have to install Octane plugins every time.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3154
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Multiple Versions of Octane

Postby psyop1sf » Sun Sep 27, 2020 4:33 am

psyop1sf Sun Sep 27, 2020 4:33 am
paride4331 wrote:Hi psyop1sf ,
Basically new Octane versions open smooth scenes made with previous versions, but it didn't work the other way around.
It's not possibile install different Octane for 3dsMax plugin version at the same time.
You could install Octane for 3dSMax v3.8x on 3dSMax v2020 and Octane for 3dsMax v2020.x on 3dSMax v2021 (or something like that).
In this way you won't have to install Octane plugins every time.
Regards
Paride



Thanks for the input. That's actually what I ended up doing... loading up Max 2020 to use with our old octane license.

I could have sworn that years ago I had two versions loaded at once, and could see them both in the Max render window, and select from whichever I wanted. Guess something changed on how they install, or I'm just miss-remembering things.
psyop1sf
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:22 pm

Re: Multiple Versions of Octane

Postby paride4331 » Mon Sep 28, 2020 12:50 pm

paride4331 Mon Sep 28, 2020 12:50 pm
Hi psyop1sf,
however Octane installer allows you to install different releases very quickly and easily.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3154
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Oct 23, 2020 11:03 am [ UTC ]