Page 3 of 4

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 7:10 pm
by p3taoctane
is there a visibility node that could be controlled by this animation script by any chance?

I have an ABC node going in and I want to make it invisible until a certain time ... besides opacity node in the shaders that go into it... is there a way to do that?

Thanks

Peter

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:20 am
by bepeg4d
Hi Peter,
you need an Object Layer node connected with all the .abc related pins. In this way you can animate the General Visibility with the Animated Value scripted graph:
IMG_0574.jpeg

ciao beppe

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 9:14 pm
by p3taoctane
Thanks as always Bepe

what are those two nodes you have that the object layer is going into ?

When I export an ABC I do not have the ability to put an object layer in

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 6:38 am
by calus
p3taoctane wrote:When I export an ABC I do not have the ability to put an object layer in

If you export as ORBX (with embeded Alembic option) from the Octane for Maya plugin, it's possible to export object layers,
but as usual with the Maya plugin it's very clunky :
- set the Octane Bake ID from 0 to 1 for every shape you need an object layer for.

Anyway you could also just animate the Octane Visibilty parameter directly in Maya before exporting then you don't need to script the animation in Octane SA.

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:15 pm
by p3taoctane
Thanks Calus
Yes you are right very clunky I will give your suggestions a try.

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:35 am
by azims
Bepeg,

Can I use this script to set different camera positions/ key frames and render an animation? If yes then how do I go about it.

Thanks,

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:53 pm
by bepeg4d
Hi,
yes, you can use it to move a camera from A to B, and eventually go back to A, with the Ping-Pong option active.
You need to use two AnimatefFloatSG, one for the Position Value, and the other for the Target value,, and copy paste the start and end values from two camera nodes. Please, have a look at this example (sorry for the basic quality):
hairtest-anisg.orbx.zip
(17.22 KiB) Downloaded 116 times

FF48CD3E-C06E-44B6-B41F-4708F14E454E.jpeg

ciao Beppe

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:02 pm
by azims
Beppe,

Thank you for the scipt. I have a follow up question. Can I feed more than one start & end values to mimic multiple key frames?

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:07 pm
by bepeg4d
Hi,
unfortunately it is not possible, as said, only from A to B, or A to B to A, sorry :(
ciao Beppe

Re: Animate value with Lua scripted graph

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:57 pm
by azims
Beppe,

No issues. Do you know/ recommend any add on or plug in which could add this functionality to Octane? I am importing mesh geometry from two different modelling applications. Essentially Octane Standalone is my studio where I integrate assets for the whole scene and render. This works perfectly for still images but I need a solution to render walk-through animations.

Thank you,