Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Forums: Random Texture Transforms over Instances
Forum for OctaneRender Lua scripting examples, discussion and support.

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby abstrax » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:49 pm

abstrax Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:49 pm
One more thing: I hope to sneak in an additional non-interpolation mode to the gradient texture node, which would also help with this problem: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41451
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby smicha » Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:51 pm

smicha Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:51 pm
Great. Thank you for your time and effort. This is all I need (except of more speed at PMC :))
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby smicha » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:01 pm

smicha Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:01 pm
abstrax wrote:One more thing: I hope to sneak in an additional non-interpolation mode to the gradient texture node, which would also help with this problem: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41451


To solve the problem it is just enough to create plain colored textures/images and use the LUA script :geek:
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby abstrax » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:08 pm

abstrax Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:08 pm
smicha wrote:
abstrax wrote:One more thing: I hope to sneak in an additional non-interpolation mode to the gradient texture node, which would also help with this problem: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41451


To solve the problem it is just enough to create plain colored textures/images and use the LUA script :geek:

You can just use a gradient texture node directly with some colors, but how I understand it, he wants to have only 2 colours (no interpolation), which you can't do right now. Providing a non-interpolation mode (basically a step function), you could achieve this though. It would also be useful in your case where you may not want interpolation between two consecutive textures.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby smicha » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:13 pm

smicha Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:13 pm
Will you add the step function option to the code? (just asking, it is not urgent now)
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby abstrax » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:19 pm

abstrax Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:19 pm
smicha wrote:Will you add the step function option to the code? (just asking, it is not urgent now)

It needs to be added to the gradient texture node of Octane. I think it would be useful and not too hard to implement - when we get to it.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby smicha » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:21 pm

smicha Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:21 pm
Marcus,

One more question/wish:
random flip vertical, flip horizontal - are these possible? I think it is all about negative scaling, isn't it?
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby abstrax » Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:25 pm

abstrax Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:25 pm
smicha wrote:Marcus,

One more question/wish:
random flip vertical, flip horizontal - are these possible?

Yup, should be possible via a negative UV scale.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby smicha » Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:53 am

smicha Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:53 am
Marcus,

Could you please add the new feature to the script - selecting material files instead of a folder?
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Random Texture Transforms over Instances

Postby smicha » Wed Dec 30, 2015 7:13 am

smicha Wed Dec 30, 2015 7:13 am
smicha wrote:Marcus,

Could you please add the new feature to the script - selecting material files instead of a folder?



Any help with this ?
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
PreviousNext

Return to Lua Scripting


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Tue Nov 12, 2019 6:42 pm [ UTC ]