Page 1 of 1

Noise Generator

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:34 am
by stratified
Hi,

I spent some of my (free) time creating a noise generator for Octane. The idea is to create an application where it's really easy to add new noise patterns based on the existing functionality. You don't have to worry about creating the user interface, that's all done automatically.

Right now I've only implemented Perlin noise, Wood rings (based on Perlin noise) and cellular noise. Perlin noise and cellular noise are excellent base functions for noise and more noise can be added quickly.

If you'd like to extend the script yourself have a look at noise-generator/materials.lua.

Here's a screenshot of the script:
s.png
noise generator


perlin.png
Perlin noise


worley.png
Worley noise (a.k.a. Cellular Noise)


And here's the code, it should work with OctaneRender 1.55 and 2.04:
Octane_noise_generator_0_11.zip
(8.67 KiB) Downloaded 738 times


To install, unzip the archive into your OctaneRender Lua scripting directory (The directory configured via File > Preferences > Application Tab > Script Directory). You should have a file noise-generator.lua and a directory noise-generator in this directory.

cheers,
Thomas

Re: Noise Generator

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:40 am
by Tugpsx
Sweet, thanks

Re: Noise Generator

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:35 pm
by domusbiro
Hi,

I have 0 knowledge about scripting :oops: I've tried adding NoiseGenerator.lua in the Octane standalone script editor but it doesn't open the script window. Could you please provide install instructions?

Thx

N

Re: Noise Generator

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 1:07 pm
by mate
Sweet! is it possible to access LUA scripts from within the Plugins (C4D)?

Re: Noise Generator

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:08 pm
by tchoa
Nice script :)
But doesn't work in OctaneRender 2.03
line 272 > info.preview:setPixel(x, y, t2d:get(x, y))
...\noise-generator/materials.lua:272: attempt to call method 'setPixel' (a nil value)

Stratified could you help to fix that?
Thanks!

Re: Noise Generator

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:40 am
by stratified
mate wrote:Sweet! is it possible to access LUA scripts from within the Plugins (C4D)?


No, plugins can't use the Lua scripts.

domusbiro wrote:Hi,

I have 0 knowledge about scripting :oops: I've tried adding NoiseGenerator.lua in the Octane standalone script editor but it doesn't open the script window. Could you please provide install instructions?

Thx

N


I'll have a look at it soon.

cheers,
Thomas

Re: Noise Generator

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:45 pm
by stratified
I've updated the code attached to the first post. The new version is 0.11 and it should work with OctaneRender 1.55 and 2.04.

cheers,
Thomas

Re: Noise Generator

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:06 pm
by tchoa
Thanks Thomas!

Re: Noise Generator

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:19 pm
by riggles
stratified wrote:No, plugins can't use the Lua scripts.

Why is that?