Create random textures over instances

Forum for OctaneRender Lua scripting examples, discussion and support.

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby Yugs » Wed Jul 27, 2016 3:24 pm

Thank you very much for this!
Also, is there a way to have such scripts saved in the toolbar instead of having to reload it through the editor?
Cheers!
Yugs
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 10:50 pm

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby stratified » Wed Jul 27, 2016 8:27 pm

Yugs wrote:Thank you very much for this!
Also, is there a way to have such scripts saved in the toolbar instead of having to reload it through the editor?
Cheers!


You can configure a scrip directory (via File -> Preferences -> Application tab). All the scripts in this directory will have an entry in the script menu (Only after you clicked "Reload user scripts" in the script menu).

cheers,
Thomas
User avatar
stratified
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:32 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby oguzbir » Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:31 pm

This is perfectly great.

But what about the plugin users.
this has to be implemented in core. and make use of it in 3dsmax and others
Don't you think?
My Portfolio
windows 10 Pro. |1070 + 1070 + 1070 + 1070 | i7 @4.5Ghz
User avatar
oguzbir
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:30 am

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby smicha » Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:06 am

oguzbir wrote:This is perfectly great.

But what about the plugin users.
this has to be implemented in core. and make use of it in 3dsmax and others
Don't you think?


I am using this in Modo via standalone node import function.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3063
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby fabrizio_s » Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:14 pm

Hi,
I'm trying to use this script in rhino plugin but it doesn't work.
Is it a simple way to fix it? It would be very very useful

thanx

fabrizio
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:39 pm

Hi fabrizio,
you have to export your scene to Standalone and use the lua script there, I guess.
ciao beppe
Octane Support
MacPro 2x2,26 Ghz / 16GB Ram / GTX 1070 + GTX 970 / OsX 10.12.6
MSI Z77A-GD65 / 3570K 3.4 Ghz / 16 GB ram / Quadro K620 + GTX 1070 + GTX 780
OctaneRender™ Italia
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 4760
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby fabrizio_s » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:02 am

Hi Beppe,
yes, this is the final solution...But I'd like to work into the plugin...Is there a simple solution?


ciao
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby Rik » Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:49 pm

This seems great but how do we use it in max?
No idea what lua is.
Have the standalone but never use it.
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby franchais » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:56 am

would be good to have this implemented into rhino or 3dsmax plugins
I7 2600k | EVGA gtx 680 FTW 4gb | Win 7 x64 | 16gb RAM
franchais
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Create random textures over instances

Postby smicha » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:52 am

Huge wish to OTOY - please code it into Octane nodes, not LUA.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3063
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
PreviousNext

Return to Lua Scripting


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:29 am [ UTC ]