Does Octane work in AWS EC2?

Forums: Does Octane work in AWS EC2?
Discussion forum for ORBX on OTOY's Amazon AMIs

Does Octane work in AWS EC2?

Postby upinspiringmotion » Wed May 20, 2020 12:37 am

upinspiringmotion Wed May 20, 2020 12:37 am
This is pretty much the question I need help to answer.

I've created a G4DN.XLARGE instance on Amazon EC2 (https://aws.amazon.com/pt/ec2/), and I'm trying to validate my license of Octane V4 (Standalone and C4D plugin) but the authentication never completes. But I've tried the demo version on this virtual machine and it worked fine.

If it helps, the technical specifications are:
AWS EC2
g4dn.xlarge
NVidia T4
Windows Server 2019


Please, let me know if you can help me with this, it's urgent. Thanks in advance!!!
upinspiringmotion
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:17 am

Re: Does Octane work in AWS EC2?

Postby vn83 » Sat May 30, 2020 12:48 pm

vn83 Sat May 30, 2020 12:48 pm
Same problem here... anybody any suggestions if some weird Port-opening-wizardry is necessary and where to find the scrolls?
vn83
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:12 am

Re: Does Octane work in AWS EC2?

Postby KonradFeiler » Mon Jul 20, 2020 2:16 pm

KonradFeiler Mon Jul 20, 2020 2:16 pm
I'd like to know that too.

We have a large amount of standardized assets on AWS, which we want to all render in a scripted automated way.
Our designer created a few really nice manual renders using Octane, so we'd like to also use Octane for the automated renders.
KonradFeiler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2020 2:10 pm

Re: Does Octane work in AWS EC2?

Postby lucapp » Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:46 am

lucapp Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:46 am
I am facing the same problem.

Could you finally authenticate octane?
lucapp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 11:20 am

Re: Does Octane work in AWS EC2?

Postby lucapp » Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:32 am

lucapp Thu Sep 10, 2020 6:32 am
Hello, currently facing the same validation issue in a g4dn.4xlarge nvidia win server 2019 machine. Did you figure out how to make it work? Thanks
lucapp
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 11:20 am

Re: Does Octane work in AWS EC2?

Postby RyanScammell » Mon Sep 21, 2020 3:54 am

RyanScammell Mon Sep 21, 2020 3:54 am
Same problem here. Would love a solution.

-Ryan
RyanScammell
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 7:22 pm

Re: Does Octane work in AWS EC2?

Postby RyanScammell » Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:49 pm

RyanScammell Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:49 pm
FYI -- this is the word from Otoy:

Hi Ryan,
thanks for contacting us.

Virtualized environments are no more supported by OctaneRender.
While it may be possible to run OctaneRender in a virtualized environment, due to the abstraction layers present in such a configuration (i.e. hypervisors, virtualized GPU interfaces) this can result in a number of issues that may impact OctaneRender's performance and/or stability, or even prevent OctaneRender from functioning at all, so the option has been deprecated.

Looking forward for your feedback,

ciao Beppe
RyanScammell
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 7:22 pm

Return to ORBX on Amazon AMIs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Sep 27, 2020 6:59 am [ UTC ]