Page 5 of 24

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:26 pm
by davorin
Well we can all say that it is far away from being usable at the moment...

I switched to E_Cycles already a while ago...not only because of the license lockups....but also due to the fact that most blender add-ons work for Cycles...

I'll give a it another try by end of this year before my subscriptions runs out (o;

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:51 pm
by Greggers
This free tier etc is all confusing for me.

I purchased the standalone v4 and the modo plugin awhile ago. Then things became subscription for updates. I moved to the c4d plugin to test it out and ended up subscribing. However i stopped using cinema 4d and moved to blender and cancelled my c4d plugin subscription.

Please could you tell me my options to have octane integrated into blender 2.8 without subscription. I've had a play with it in blender and I like this release. Where do I go from here?

I have octane standalone v4 and no subscriptions and dont want to subscribe to the blender plugin for 2.8, just buy it.

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 5:26 pm
by ChrisH
Three things to note (mostly for other users who might have similar experience to what I had):
1. If you open a file/import a material setup In Octane Blender 2.79 that uses reroutes, the materials won't work, Seems like reroutes isn't supported (yet) (you can't add reroutes in the Octane version of 2.8).
2. Some noodles will appear red (indicating that they "won't work"), but it should be fine. Octane Blender uses the input/output types differently/weirdly (Output from a texture node is "green"[/"shader"], while color inputs on shaders are "yellow"[/"color"] etc), and Blender shows them as "incompatible"..
3. The support for setting up Eevee/Cycles materials (etc) has been removed..

But overall it looks good.
(I'm trying to set up a model that I've been converting from Cycles in 2.79, just to play with it. I like it and I think it will be great when i's done! :D )

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:13 pm
by AirzOVJ
OctaneServe does not start and socket error is output and it does not start.
Blender also started if put in HDD, but did not start when put in SSD

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:13 pm
by Lukasesch
Anyone else has the problem of Octane Daylight Environment making the scene contrast corrupt? With emmisive lights it looks fine.

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:36 pm
by cgslav
Do AI denoiser is working?

I've enabled it in Camera settings, turned on Beauty pass in Denoiser tab but I still can't see any result out of it.

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:40 pm
by louiscyan
Gets stuck on "Rendering | Waiting for image..." in editor view

processor Intel i5-4590 @3.30GHz
RAM: 16gb
64 bit windows OS

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 11:56 pm
by ChrisH
Lukasesch wrote:Anyone else has the problem of Octane Daylight Environment making the scene contrast corrupt? With emmisive lights it looks fine.


Make sure you turn off "Filmic", it doesn't really work with Octane.
Set the Display Device to "None" in the Color Management.
Octane_ColorRaw.png

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:15 am
by Alex_Pi
Почему рендер не останавливается (1) на заданном значении (2), если я смотрю через камеру?

https://clip2net.com/clip/m581679/a70c6-untitled-1-291kb.jpg

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:27 am
by jfcalcena
Hello guys. Nothing works here. I already activated in Addon Octane Render and change it in the Renderer menu to Octane and nothing happens. I missing something? I followed exactly the steps informed in this thread and nothing works here. Follow prints. Thanks!