OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Forums: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby J.C » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:02 am

J.C Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:02 am
DrachenSeele wrote:Hello,
I have a question regarding the download of the OctaneServer for this free tier. I've looked throu the comments but didnt find any link to the 20.1 version of the Renderer


It's the same link from the first page.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby MagicMark » Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:58 pm

MagicMark Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:58 pm
Is there currently a possibility to use Subsurface Scattering or is it not integrated jet?
Normally I should be able to use a Universal shader node and a scatter Medium node to get Subsurface scattering in the path tracer or PMC. but the Medium Node has no effect. Maybe I am just doing something wrong but I tried out a lot and nothing seems to work.
MagicMark
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:20 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby J.C » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:39 am

J.C Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:39 am
MagicMark wrote:Is there currently a possibility to use Subsurface Scattering or is it not integrated jet?
Normally I should be able to use a Universal shader node and a scatter Medium node to get Subsurface scattering in the path tracer or PMC. but the Medium Node has no effect. Maybe I am just doing something wrong but I tried out a lot and nothing seems to work.


Have you tried like this?
scattering.png
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby kirk » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:26 am

kirk Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:26 am
Why I can't render ortho camera? Getting just empty sky background in renders. While in view-port render it seems working just fine?
Q6600, 5GB ram, GF9800gt-1gb, 3dsMax 2008 , Blender , Zbrush, Messiah 3d v5, Terragen 2, Vue 6 Infinity
kirk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby J.C » Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:27 pm

J.C Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:27 pm
kirk wrote:Why I can't render ortho camera? Getting just empty sky background in renders. While in view-port render it seems working just fine?


I can't render Orthographic camera too both in preview and final render.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby kirk » Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:44 pm

kirk Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:44 pm
Even exporting orbx into stand alone still keeps ortho camera empty while any camera created in standalone itself works just fine in orto mode
Q6600, 5GB ram, GF9800gt-1gb, 3dsMax 2008 , Blender , Zbrush, Messiah 3d v5, Terragen 2, Vue 6 Infinity
kirk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby Pandawan » Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:32 pm

Pandawan Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:32 pm
Note for anyone looking for support, this is the only forum free tier users can post in. None of the other forums are accessible.

With that said, I've got everything up and running, but having issues with volumes. In Cycles and Eevee, volumes are done via principled volume shaders plugged into the volume socket of the Material Output node. No shaders seem to work in this way in Octane. In the Octane manual it instructs you to add a Volumetric object via "Object/Octane Fog Volume or VBD volume from the Live Viewer menu."

This doesn't show up anywhere in Blender. F3 search also brings up nothing. Is this a feature that Blender users cannot access? If so this cripples the capabilities of using Octane in Blender.

There is the option of adding a smoke object but that only allows you to import VDBs or to simulate smoke. The classical method of manipulating the volume of an object with noise textures etc is absent.

Anyone know more about this?
Pandawan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 4:23 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby Stelios20 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:54 pm

Stelios20 Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:54 pm
Hello,

Is there any way to preview materials in viewport, like it used to be in the past versions, before 2.8?

Stelios
Win 10 | i7 3770k | 32 GB ram | 1x Gtx Titan 6 GB | 2x Gtx Titan X 12 GB
Stelios20
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:12 am
Location: Greece

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby Atimo133 » Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:58 am

Atimo133 Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:58 am
Half an hour ago (23.09.2019) at about 03:30 am everything worked fine

Now starting up the build, blender freezes instantly, and a window opens with the message "Activation Error: This build is not supported anymore. Please update to a newer Version"

Is it going to be updated or was this build limited for a time?
Atimo133
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:47 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019 for Blender® 2.8 - new free tier!

Postby J.C » Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:38 am

J.C Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:38 am
Atimo133 wrote:Half an hour ago (23.09.2019) at about 03:30 am everything worked fine

Now starting up the build, blender freezes instantly, and a window opens with the message "Activation Error: This build is not supported anymore. Please update to a newer Version"

Is it going to be updated or was this build limited for a time?


Haver updated to 20.1?. It's available on the same downloads page.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:13 pm [ UTC ]