OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Forums: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby Timmaigh! » Sat May 04, 2019 3:19 pm

Timmaigh! Sat May 04, 2019 3:19 pm
Most curious things are happening with this version.

At first it would not work at all for me, seemed like it required to get that new annual subscription stuff - the enterprise whatever thing. Which i have not bought yet, still rocking 4.02 and randomly trying these various release candidates...

But today, i misclicked the icon on my desktop when trying to run 4.02 and out of blue, it runs! Very nice.

So i tried the RTX testing script on the interior scene i currently work and it gave me nice 1,44x boost compared to RTX off. I was hoping for more based on the early promises, but this is not the heaviest geometry scene, and anyway, even additional 45 percent is better than nothing. Hoping for further improvements.

What surprised me though, Octane says i have almost half the VRAM unavailable for whatever reason, currently it reads: 2627/5956/11264... while the same scene, same render on 4.02 reads usual 2627/8950~9000/11264. What is up?

Additionally i cant click any material with the material picker - although that is maybe by design only, to make this version just preview?
i9 7940x @4,1GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000 MHz, 2x Gigabyte RTX 2080Ti, Win10 64bit
Timmaigh!
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:10 am

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby hazooka » Wed May 22, 2019 1:36 pm

hazooka Wed May 22, 2019 1:36 pm
Hello,
will this work with a subscription for octane render and c4d plugin? i have an error while launching it but the 2019.xb1 is working fine.
hazooka
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby bepeg4d » Thu May 23, 2019 7:29 am

bepeg4d Thu May 23, 2019 7:29 am
Hi,
please post a screenshot of the error message you are having.
What is the Nvidia driver version installed?
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6510
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby hazooka » Fri May 24, 2019 11:16 am

hazooka Fri May 24, 2019 11:16 am
Here is the screenshot of the error message i get. I ve read about some people managing to launch it only with a subscription license. Why this isnt available for subscribers?
Image
hazooka
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby WiltedOctane » Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:28 am

WiltedOctane Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:28 am
Has there been any confirmation yet on when these performance increases may reach C4D users?
WiltedOctane
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:19 pm

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby mojave » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:50 pm

mojave Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:50 pm
Timmaigh! wrote:So i tried the RTX testing script on the interior scene i currently work and it gave me nice 1,44x boost compared to RTX off. I was hoping for more based on the early promises, but this is not the heaviest geometry scene, and anyway, even additional 45 percent is better than nothing. Hoping for further improvements.


Speedup strongly depends on your specific scene but you should see some speedup in most scenearios, please read the initial post for details.

Timmaigh! wrote:What surprised me though, Octane says i have almost half the VRAM unavailable for whatever reason, currently it reads: 2627/5956/11264... while the same scene, same render on 4.02 reads usual 2627/8950~9000/11264. What is up?


This is a preview version which still needs many optimizations and memory usage is one of them.

Timmaigh! wrote:Additionally i cant click any material with the material picker - although that is maybe by design only, to make this version just preview?


Please check the initial post for all limitations of this version. Picking is one of them.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 861
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby mojave » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:52 pm

mojave Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:52 pm
WiltedOctane wrote:Has there been any confirmation yet on when these performance increases may reach C4D users?


Once we have an experimental SDK that plugins can use you should expect this anytime. We are currently working on getting this ready ASAP.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 861
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby grimm » Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:55 pm

grimm Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:55 pm
Does the new Nvidia driver version 430 for Linux support RT cores? Thanks,

Jason
Linux Mint 19 x64 | Nvidia GTX 980 4GB (displays) RTX 2070 8GB| Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 410.66
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby Timmaigh! » Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:57 pm

Timmaigh! Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:57 pm
mojave wrote:
Timmaigh! wrote:So i tried the RTX testing script on the interior scene i currently work and it gave me nice 1,44x boost compared to RTX off. I was hoping for more based on the early promises, but this is not the heaviest geometry scene, and anyway, even additional 45 percent is better than nothing. Hoping for further improvements.


Speedup strongly depends on your specific scene but you should see some speedup in most scenearios, please read the initial post for details.

Timmaigh! wrote:What surprised me though, Octane says i have almost half the VRAM unavailable for whatever reason, currently it reads: 2627/5956/11264... while the same scene, same render on 4.02 reads usual 2627/8950~9000/11264. What is up?


This is a preview version which still needs many optimizations and memory usage is one of them.

Timmaigh! wrote:Additionally i cant click any material with the material picker - although that is maybe by design only, to make this version just preview?


Please check the initial post for all limitations of this version. Picking is one of them.



Thank you for your responses.

One more question, when can we actually expect RTX support to become part of regular releases, beyond this preview version? To me, it is the feature of interest No.1. I purchased 2x RTX 2080Ti solely because of Octane last year in November and still cant use them to their full potential more than half year later. Obviously, that was my choice, still i made it in good faith it will actually become usable feature soon enough for it to matter, at least half-way into the life-cycle of Turing generation. Which may be about now, hence my question.
i9 7940x @4,1GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000 MHz, 2x Gigabyte RTX 2080Ti, Win10 64bit
Timmaigh!
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:10 am

Re: OctaneRender RTX | Vulkan - preview release is out!

Postby lobstermd » Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:17 am

lobstermd Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:17 am
I'm wondering the same thing, it's the only reason I've picked up using Octane again.
lobstermd
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:16 pm
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:21 am [ UTC ]