OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Forums: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby pixelinfected » Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:06 am

pixelinfected Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:06 am
i'm user from octane 0.5, from the start and i dislike every subscription model.
to be honest, what's the point?
the point is long time support of scene and project.
during last 35 years of my digital life (yes, i'm bit old on digital) i was forced to upgrade and keep upgraded a lots of scene, project, objects and so on when software start to not be compatible with the past. In my work of documentary and animation for documentary often customers ask me to upgrade and use again stuff 10-15 years old. Ones of reason that i use Lightwave3D and Cinema4D are their great and longr term support of old scene.
The problem are not compatiblity of software today but also the ability to open old software today.
Recently the adobe lie about Cloud subscription (you can use and install from today to the last cs5) be disappear due their problem with dolby (they decide to cut off all old version with dolby codec) that mean i cannot open many projects did with old versions od premiere (premiere not exist under mac from cs to cs3, win only) and you can open only under windows, but most of recent version 2018-2019 give me tons of error be cause they change memroy allocation and more and i was forced to install a warez version of software to "update" project without error (only an open and save with 2014 win version) and all work fine. In past i keep with every years backup a copy of software used to produce that work (editor, 3d, photo editing and more, codec installer).
At today the subscription model often force you to use last version, good if is full compatible with past, but never be it.
not all people work today, send to their customer and forget the work.
please think to a stable solution parallel to rental model, for you (to be free to update and change software easely), for customer (to allo to storage software with data to recreate the same exact work).
pixelinfected
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:13 am

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby glencoe2004 » Sat Aug 31, 2019 5:19 pm

glencoe2004 Sat Aug 31, 2019 5:19 pm
Will we ever get a free Octane 4 plugin for DAZ Studio, as DAZ is free?
glencoe2004
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 2:08 am

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Lewis » Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:16 pm

Lewis Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:16 pm
Hi OTOY,

Is there any progress in making Octane 2018--> 2019---> permanent licensing option, you said few times by now you are gonna do something about that rent to own/perpetual licensing mode to bring it back but not sure i've seen any news/options for that ?

Please give us normal perpetual license upgrade fee/path like it was v1, v2, v3 or at least rent to own option.

thanks
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 2x2080Ti + 2x1080Ti
RS1 Dual Xeon E5-2690, 64GB RAM, Win8, 2080Ti + 2x1080Ti + TitanX(M)
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 2*1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby VVG » Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:57 am

VVG Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:57 am
+1
no info nowhere
Win 10x64, AMD 1950x 16C/32T, RAM 32Gb, EVGA GTX 1080Ti + 1070, Octane-for-C4D 4.x.x, RS 2.6.x, Cy4D 1.321. Nvidia 419.67
VVG
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 2:34 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby promity » Sun Sep 15, 2019 11:23 am

promity Sun Sep 15, 2019 11:23 am
Please give us normal perpetual license upgrade fee/path like it was v1, v2, v3 or at least rent to own option.

+1.
Asus z9ped8ws/2x Intel Xeon E5-2692 v2/64gb ram/GTX1080+GTX 1070+GTX 980Ti/Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250 gb/
Octaneplugin+Lightwave 3d)
User avatar
promity
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Russia

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby WIPEXPO » Sun Sep 15, 2019 3:34 pm

WIPEXPO Sun Sep 15, 2019 3:34 pm
+1 same, own - not rent .
WIPEXPO
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby pegot » Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:35 pm

pegot Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:35 pm
Lewis wrote:Please give us normal perpetual license upgrade fee/path like it was v1, v2, v3 or at least rent to own option.

+1
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 606
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby rrbarb » Mon Sep 16, 2019 2:15 am

rrbarb Mon Sep 16, 2019 2:15 am
Well said.

+1

./rrb
rrbarb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby omardex » Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:25 pm

omardex Mon Sep 16, 2019 1:25 pm
+ 1 to own,

or rent to own, I loved how in the past allegorithmic offered this solution.

I'm not against a yearly maintenance fee, e.g like $100 for that year upgrades but you keep what you have until that point.

I'm really not getting that **** about converting tools and software into a netflix subscription.
Omar Tavera

Awesome Generalist
Octane render for c4d with a 980ti
User avatar
omardex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:45 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Smaker1 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:03 pm

Smaker1 Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:03 pm
+++++1 !

Please
Smaker1
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 7:49 am
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Godstrike, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 27 guests

Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:20 pm [ UTC ]