OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Forums: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby calus » Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:35 pm

calus Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:35 pm
Zay wrote:You are right. Did several tests again and this time it worked. Would like to get that confirmed though before using 2018.1.

Well I can confirm, I don't have any issue switching my scenes back from 2018.1 to V4.
Obviously you won't be able to use 2018.1 features in V4 like cryptomate passes,
but the few specific nodes and settings of Octane 2018.1 are just not loaded in V4, without messing up the scene.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Rik » Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:18 pm

Rik Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:18 pm
Sorry, struggling to find answers in all these posts/FAQs

I own perpetual standalone license and perpetual 3ds max plugin license and use 1 workstation.

I'd like to use maximum 2 RTX cards in my workstation and make full use of their RTX cores with Octane.

I Don't use ORC, LiveDB, network rendering.

I'm getting the impression that I need to pay again to stay using up to date Octane.

1) When will the perpetual licenses stop being supported/developed?

2) How much will it cost to stay up to date?

3) Will my licences revert back to V4 after 2 years of subscription?
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Godstrike » Mon Apr 22, 2019 12:33 pm

Godstrike Mon Apr 22, 2019 12:33 pm
Since buying my first license of Octane in 2011, I have spent approx. US$1175 and now own 2 x standalone, 2 x lightwave plugins and 1 x Cinema4D plugin.

I run 4 GPUs in 1 machine and 3 GPUs in the other and occasionally use network rendering.

I don't need access to all the plugins, I just need access to the lightwave plugins and maybe the Cinema4D plugin.

What do I need to spend per year to replicate this setup, but have access to the features beyond version 4?

I have read the FAQ and this entire thread, and it is not at all clear to me what my upgrade path is?
Corei7 3930K at 4.4GHz | 32GB | 2 x RTX 2080 ti | 1 x GTX 1070 ti| 1 x GTX 1060 6GB | 1 x 500GB SSD | 1 x 250GB SSD | 2TB WD BLACK | Windows 10 64
User avatar
Godstrike
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:39 pm

bepeg4d Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:39 pm
Hi Godstrike,
since you need to work with two machines and two plugins. at the same time, you need to purchase 2x All Access annual bundles for 199$ each, one for C4D, and another for LightWave.
In this way you can use LightWave, or any other plugin, in both machines, and also use c4doctane on one machine, since C4D is not included in the All Access annual maintenance bundle.
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7325
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Godstrike » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:54 am

Godstrike Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:54 am
Thanks Beppe,

So I have to spend US$398.00 per year on what amounts to considerable functionality I don't need.

Have to say this is one of the most ill-considered and confusing payment / subscription schemes I have been involved with.

Did Octane Render canvas its loyal users at all before coming up with this?
Corei7 3930K at 4.4GHz | 32GB | 2 x RTX 2080 ti | 1 x GTX 1070 ti| 1 x GTX 1060 6GB | 1 x 500GB SSD | 1 x 250GB SSD | 2TB WD BLACK | Windows 10 64
User avatar
Godstrike
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Godstrike » Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:15 pm

Godstrike Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:15 pm
Could there not be rather:
- an ALL ACCESS pass for those power users who need access to multiple plugins (I'd be interested to see how many people would actually go for this),
- and then a more pared down option where one could subscribe to the stand alone and a single plugin for example,
- or better yet, I have never used the standalone, why not an option just to rent or buy the plugin on its own,
- and then an option to buy a few network nodes, and then rent more when you need them - that would be really useful.

...or something.

Just not the current 'one size fits all' scenario being punted.
Last edited by Godstrike on Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Corei7 3930K at 4.4GHz | 32GB | 2 x RTX 2080 ti | 1 x GTX 1070 ti| 1 x GTX 1060 6GB | 1 x 500GB SSD | 1 x 250GB SSD | 2TB WD BLACK | Windows 10 64
User avatar
Godstrike
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Rik » Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:32 pm

Rik Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:32 pm
- or better yet, I have never used the standalone, why not an option just to rent or buy the plugin on its own,
- an then an option to rent network nodes when you need them - that would be really useful.


+1 to that. Definitely feel like I'm going to have to pay for way more than I need. Only ever used one plugin and never standalone, yet am having to pay for so much more.
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Goldorak » Wed Apr 24, 2019 2:04 am

Goldorak Wed Apr 24, 2019 2:04 am
This thread largely exists to gather user feedback we can use to make improvements with the launch of octane 2019.1 (which will fully replace V4 on the shop page). We will post an outline of the 2019 purchase/upgrade revisions for community feedback before we finalize them.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Rik » Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:20 am

Rik Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:20 am
Sounds good, thanks.

Please don't forget us little guys ;)
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Godstrike » Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:18 am

Godstrike Wed Apr 24, 2019 10:18 am
Good to hear :)

+1 to not forgetting about the freelancers!
Corei7 3930K at 4.4GHz | 32GB | 2 x RTX 2080 ti | 1 x GTX 1070 ti| 1 x GTX 1060 6GB | 1 x 500GB SSD | 1 x 250GB SSD | 2TB WD BLACK | Windows 10 64
User avatar
Godstrike
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:10 pm
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:18 am [ UTC ]