Page 20 of 33

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:46 pm
by SSmolak
I still don't understand. So if Octane Studio subscription version allow a maximum of 20 GPUs at a time, network rendering works or no ( with additional Octane Standalone licence on other computers ) ?
OctaneRender 4™ Enterprise Standalone Edition + single DCC Plug-in (without All-Access) - this version include additional network render node ?

Also I have question about situation where I have two Octane Studio subscriptions installed on two PCs. Is PC2 can be network node for PC1 without need of additional Octane Standalone licence ?

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:11 am
by funk
Yesterday I had some problems with my net connection and realised I couldnt use Octane.

I decided to take a look at the DONGLE option in the shop, but it seems you get penalised by having some features removed (ORC, livedb etc), and cant convert back to an online license.

I have other software that uses a USB stick as a dongle, but it allows you to connect online any time, and move your licenses back to the server, where they become online licenses again.

Can't you guys look into doing something like this instead?

I miss the old offline mode. It was working well and I don't understand why you decided to remove it.

I use v-ray and it has a "borrow" feature which lets you borrow the license locally for 14 days. You can use V-ray without a net connection and as a bonus it starts up faster too.

I also use Foundry modo, which is an online license, but only needs to authenticate once every 30 days. If your net connection goes down you can still use modo (for up to 30 days).

You need to have some way to deal with possible internet access downtime

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 8:38 am
by Steeviekay
Hey guys, I´m very, very confused. I really don´t know what I have to upgrade etc.

I have 2 octane Standalone Licenses - which I already upgraded for free to V4.
And I own 1 octane render Cinema 4d License.
Back in the days, I bought 1 Standalone for my Main Maschine, where Cinema is running - and 1 Standalone License for my Slave.

If I now wanna use this slave and my main Maschine - with the newest updates - which subscription do I have to purchase? The Enterprise All-Access says "Additional Render Slave Node License" -> So my second Standalone License would not be necessary anymore?

I really don´t get it...

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:38 am
by bepeg4d
Hi Steeviekay,
the All-Access bundle has several advantages.
Maybe you can think to use the extra Slave license with a third machine, or stay without All-Access, if you don’t need extra DCC plugins, ORC access, and included major updates, during the bundle period.
ciao Beppe

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:55 pm
by Steeviekay
Thanks Beppe, but is it right? That I only would have to Update one of those Licenses to use it with 1 Main Maschine and 1 Slave?
The 2. License I could use if I would have a 2. Slave (3. Maschine) ?

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:37 pm
by BorisGoreta
This is not clear, some rumors say you can use that extra slave licence only for Octane V4. I'm not saying this is 100% true but be careful.

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:26 pm
by bepeg4d
Hi Steeviekay,
you can purchase the All Access bundle for the Master machine, and use the extra Slave license on the first Slave, then you can also purchase the license upgrade for the second Slave, when v2018 will be out, and or when v2019 will be out.
ciao Beppe

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:47 pm
by BorisGoreta
Are you sure the extra slave licence works on the current 2018 beta?

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:28 pm
by SSmolak
Is annual Octane Studio subscriptions include extra Slave license too ? This subscription has All Access too. This is the most unclear license policy that I ever see...

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:27 pm
by BorisGoreta
I just bought one 2018 license and network rendering is disabled.