Page 15 of 36

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:38 pm
by keviny
zoppo wrote:
Lewis wrote:so that means i can open single license on my workstation and have 5 render slaves (2 old and 3 those new) or in total 6 PCs/nodes can render at once?


... but only in v4.x


Exactly!

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 7:42 am
by Lewis
Sure but I don't have (currently until Q1 2019) any other version than V4 :) ?

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:59 am
by mikkiedikkie
Ok, so i have a question. For those who purchase the 'All-Access' today they wont be able to use any of the other plugins until Q1 2019 at some unknown date?

Because i purchased the 1 year subscription with all access and cancelled my monthly subscription.

I can now download all other host plugins but i can still only activate my main (the primary choosen during purchase). So i assume this is expected behavior? And those will be available sometime in Q1 '19 ?


Sincerely

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 7:26 pm
by Beauxdeen
So basically, to understand the licensing - as of right now my Enterprise Studio subscription is active, and Standalone works, but the plugins are still to be released?
For example, I've downloaded the Studio and successfully licensed it, but when I try to use Octane in Houdini (using the latest Studio Build), it's not working (saying I don't have a valid license)... because it's not the Enterprise All Access license version? ...which won't be released until Q1 of this year?

I'm confused.

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:47 pm
by FrankPooleFloating
This appears to be the case. :cry: And I have a feeling they are waiting for final releases of Octane 2018 before allowing AA plug downloads -- that can be downloaded directly from Downloads page in account, rather than CRs, DBRs and RCs, and will be the procedure for any AA plugs (only final releases).. which would suck. I personally like to be on the bleeding edge, and have always used the latest plug (in production) I can get my filthy paws on, with no regrets. Hopefully I am wrong, and we will be able to grab whatever version is downloadable for any plug, if we have AA subscription...

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:46 pm
by eklein
Will it be possible to extend the Enterprise AA subscription end date until plugins are release. Right now there is no benefit in having bought an Enterprise AA subscription without having access to the rest of the plugins.

Eric

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 4:22 pm
by Lewis
eklein wrote:Will it be possible to extend the Enterprise AA subscription end date until plugins are release. Right now there is no benefit in having bought an Enterprise AA subscription without having access to the rest of the plugins.

Eric


Yeah I asked same thing before, payed for AA in November and still can't use benefit of it, weird "system". They really should start that program only when ALL plugins for 2018.1 are ready and 2018.1 is final/stable and not beta.

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:12 am
by Goldorak
Your AA pass already unlocks a second render node, 2018.1 is already RC1, and the first wave of extra AA DCC plug-ins are expected to be ready this month (note the extra DCC plug-ins do need to be recompiled for a new AA multi-DCC licence type, so some will come in ahead of others as the developers recompile them, and that is why we couldn't release them in tandem with the second slave node back in November).

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:21 am
by FrankPooleFloating
Okay G..

[1] So you are saying that we will only be able to get our AA plugs from the account > downloads page (finals), and no DBRs etc?...

[2] What is going to be the GPU limit of AA plugs?

[3] Do you know if your guys are developing for Blender 2.8 yet, or are they not touching 2.8 until it is officially released?

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:38 am
by Lewis
Goldorak wrote:Your AA pass already unlocks a second render node, 2018.1 is already RC1, and the first wave of extra AA DCC plug-ins are expected to be ready this month (note the extra DCC plug-ins do need to be recompiled for a new AA multi-DCC licence type, so some will come in ahead of others as the developers recompile them, and that is why we couldn't release them in tandem with the second slave node back in November).


Hi Goldorak, thanks for info.
I understand you can't release them all at same time (actually you can but then you need to hold some until last DEV is done but that's another story ;)) and it needs time to do new licensing for all DCCs/plugins but that is my point there also, you shouldn't really start AA counter until first release of ALL plugins is ready for AA. This way we/I did get discount 'coz i bought it at release/black Friday but discount was only for 1 license and I/we still can't really use AA (other plugins) it so if 3 months are gone before I/we can fully use it (as All Acess) then that "cost" 3*20$ i.e. 60$ "wasted" which then brigs it closer to pricing like there was no discount at all. It's not like we can use 2018.1 NOW in production or with all plugins.

As for more render slaves (only for v4 as it stands now), from initial FAQ i didn't understood it (possibly my mistake) that way so i updated all three of my licenses and as it stands now i could just upgrade 2 and get 2 more render slaves (total 4 computers rendering) licenses 'coz i have 3 licenses/computers so 6 licenses do not get me any benefit right now (i'd need to buy 3 more machines which is pretty expensive :)). Sure it's good to have that option and THANK you for that "gift", i just wish i understood it better how will it work.

So please reconsider that All-Acess countdown should be reset/start form date when all-aces is fully working.

Thanks