Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Forums: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby paride4331 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:33 am

paride4331 Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:33 am
mbetke wrote:I have a licensing question because I don't understand how it will be handled in Version 4.

Once upon a time I bought version 1 and upgrade to version 2 and 3. I just paid an amount of mony and was good to go until the end of all times. ;)

Will there be such a single priced upgrade to version 4.x too?

PS: I have a standalone license plus the 3dsmax plugin.


Hi mbetke,
If you own Octane v3 combo license right now, you will be able to upgrade to v4 free of charge (when v4 if formally released) at which point your licenses will be at the Enterprise tier.
It will be on the Enterprise tier, meaning that you will enjoy the benefits of that tier including the plugin benefits and GPU limit increase.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2863
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby mbetke » Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:39 am

mbetke Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:39 am
Do I have to pay it monthly then?
Pure3D Visualisierungen - Germany
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2019
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1112
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby paride4331 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:04 am

paride4331 Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:04 am
mbetke wrote:Do I have to pay it monthly then?


No, definitely not.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2863
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby adamrg7 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:54 pm

adamrg7 Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:54 pm
i havent upgraded to v3 yet i have v2. can i upgrade to v3 and have the same pricing as the post above for user mbetke?
adamrg7
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:17 pm

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby Goldorak » Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:16 am

Goldorak Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:16 am
adamrg7 wrote:i havent upgraded to v3 yet i have v2. can i upgrade to v3 and have the same pricing as the post above for user mbetke?


Yes, but I would make sure you switch to V3 before V4 is final, as there is no guarantee this upgrade path will cover you from V2 beyond that point.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2012
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby adamrg7 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:32 am

adamrg7 Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:32 am
should i upgrade just the standalone, or my blender also.. for now unitl i actually start working again as i am in the middle of a different music production project right now,
adamrg7
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:17 pm

Found an issue …

Postby Uhlhorn » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:20 am

Uhlhorn Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:20 am
Found an issue: On large renderings the denoise image remains black. My rendering is 3200 x 2400 pixel large.
Edit: Also renderings with the size of 2400 x 1800 pixel are black on denoise pass.
Last edited by Uhlhorn on Sat Mar 31, 2018 1:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Uhlhorn
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:02 pm

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby Joss » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:56 pm

Joss Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:56 pm
Any time frames for DCC plug-ins?
Even for beta/test version?

PS: That list of changes in video is really impressive, especially unified code over all hardware APIs. That's a move in the right direction I think.
Hopefully you will have built-in converter for materials or will support at least some of native Maya/Vray/RS shaders, because for right now it's a show-stopper when you loading your scene and have to redo _ALL_ the materials in scene.
Freelance CG TD, developer.
User avatar
Joss
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:15 pm

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby franchus » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:54 am

franchus Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:54 am
Woooow! Amazing!
Any guess on OSX release date?
franchus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 7:57 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Hello World: OctaneRender 4 is here

Postby saskiel » Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:53 pm

saskiel Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:53 pm
@Goldorak thanks for clarification on licensing. Phew!

The AI Light and Denoiser are AMAZING. It's like I have one or two extra video cards in my system all of a sudden. Well done team! :D
saskiel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:06 am
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:35 am [ UTC ]