Octane V3 License Recovery

Forums: Octane V3 License Recovery
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Octane V3 License Recovery

Postby hellguy » Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:27 am

hellguy Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:27 am
Hi everyone,

With the release of V3 we have made significant changes to the way OctaneRender and the OctaneRender plugins authenticate and manage licenses, improving usability and standardizing the authentication system across our product range. However some of these changes had caused unforeseen issues with licensing, preventing some users from releasing and/or activating their licenses. While these issues have been fixed in the latest version of Octane (3.01.1), it highlighted the need for an automated license recovery system similar to the deactivation system available for V2 licenses.

The V3 license recovery system allows a limited number of license 'Unlocks' over a given period, the exact number of available Unlocks and how often they are replenished is still being evaluated so the number available may change at a later date. Please note that this system is only intended for recovering licenses in situations where you cannot deactivate via the application, as V3 automatically releases licenses every time you close Octane or the host application. If you are running V3 in Offline Licensing mode, you will need to deactivate licenses via the Standalone/Plugin interface, as V3 will not release them automatically.

If you run out of Unlocks, you will need to contact us at [email protected] to request that we unlock your license.

Unlock_list.png

Unlock_list_none_available.png
User avatar
hellguy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:58 pm

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby arleksey » Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:35 am

arleksey Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:35 am
so there is an automatic activation/deactiation system with counter per certain time, for example 5 time per day, but on next day counter will reset to 5 (for example), am i right?
arleksey
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby Jorgensen » Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:35 am

Jorgensen Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:35 am
it seems that skechup does not automaic deactivate (at least for me) - is that intended?
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby tamerkseniya » Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:55 am

tamerkseniya Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:55 am
So what is the time period of renewal for unlock number? It is longer 24 hours as far as I see, it didnt get renewed yet.
Any information please?
2 x GTX 980 Ti, 32 GB ram, i7 5820K
tamerkseniya
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:30 pm

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby philmaron » Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:40 am

philmaron Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:40 am
For me it is typical during a Job that I switch my machine once a day, meaning two activations in 24 hours, since I work partly in my office, partly at home due to family affairs. If 24 hours isn't the reset period, I'm gonna run out of licences on the third day at the least.

Not cool, so what's up with the times?
philmaron
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:15 am

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby anklove » Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:15 am

anklove Wed Jun 15, 2016 9:15 am
Willing to use machine at work and home aswell. Need refresh times please.
ASUS X-99 II | i7 6800k | Win 10 64 bit | 2x EVGA gtx1070, 1x Zotac gtx980 |
anklove
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:31 am

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby Dlegnon » Wed Jun 15, 2016 2:11 pm

Dlegnon Wed Jun 15, 2016 2:11 pm
philmaron wrote:For me it is typical during a Job that I switch my machine once a day, meaning two activations in 24 hours, since I work partly in my office, partly at home due to family affairs. If 24 hours isn't the reset period, I'm gonna run out of licences on the third day at the least.

Not cool, so what's up with the times?

This is my current situation too. I bought Octane to use mostly at home, but occasionally I will use it at work. I got it expecting to be able to use it where and when I need it, not to be tied down to one machine because of licensing red tape.

If the unlock reset is longer than 24 hours, honestly I'd rather have Octane revert back to the old cooldown hour.
Dlegnon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby mojave » Thu Jun 16, 2016 2:53 am

mojave Thu Jun 16, 2016 2:53 am
Dlegnon wrote:
philmaron wrote:For me it is typical during a Job that I switch my machine once a day, meaning two activations in 24 hours, since I work partly in my office, partly at home due to family affairs. If 24 hours isn't the reset period, I'm gonna run out of licences on the third day at the least.

Not cool, so what's up with the times?

This is my current situation too. I bought Octane to use mostly at home, but occasionally I will use it at work. I got it expecting to be able to use it where and when I need it, not to be tied down to one machine because of licensing red tape.

If the unlock reset is longer than 24 hours, honestly I'd rather have Octane revert back to the old cooldown hour.


All you need to do is to CLOSE the application so your license gets released and you can use it anywhere else right away with no cool-down period and without using an 'Unlock'. ;)

The web deactivation is now just an fail-safe in case your machine breaks or becomes inaccessible for any reason.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby philmaron » Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:36 pm

philmaron Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:36 pm
Really? Today I came into the office, I was told "Octane Render Standalone is activated on another machine, please deactivate". Wow, yeah, plugin works fine, but not the engine. The system is perfect.
philmaron
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:15 am

Re: Octane V3 License Web Deactivation

Postby tamerkseniya » Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:19 am

tamerkseniya Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:19 am
Same here, I have only 1 unlock left and it says that this pluging is currently activated on another machine.
2 x GTX 980 Ti, 32 GB ram, i7 5820K
tamerkseniya
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:30 pm
Next

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:28 am [ UTC ]