NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Forums: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: new features by community request

Postby aLeXXtoR » Fri Jun 13, 2014 4:47 am

aLeXXtoR Fri Jun 13, 2014 4:47 am
MattRM wrote:Hi aLexxtoR,

I tried convert hair to polygon after to curves and export with alembic exporter from octane, not worked... snifff... Just need to wait the alembic update for blender that convert hair to curves for Octane 2.0. FOR DEV, like JimStar :D Convert directly hair to curves or use the Cycles base, for 2500 hairs (smooth curves based on spline hair), one hour to have curves generated :lol: .

Matt

Hi, Matt!

Thanks for sharing! I used Object option for rendering hair with Octane (maybe not the best idea, but it worked for me). Will wait 2.0 plugin for the "real" hair. :)

Alex.
Win 10 Pro 64bit | GeForce GTX 680 4Gb + GTX 770 4Gb | Core i5 2500K | 24GB RAM
WebSite
Showreel
User avatar
aLeXXtoR
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Russia, St. Ptetersburg

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby miko3d » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:10 am

miko3d Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:10 am
kavorka wrote:
daveyt wrote:So been trying to use hair and fur in v 2.0 but I'm guessing it
does not work yet as I cannot find any information on how to do this,
can a developer shed any light on this,

I'm using blender and have the plugin,

regards



The integrated plugin doesnt use 2.0 yet, so you have to wait. Also, I don't think you can use the alembic export yet to get it to standalone because I don't think the current alembic exporter exports that data. I don't know though.
It seems to be one of those features that exists, but you can't really use yet.


Never used blender but as a general Alembic note,You can export polycurves hair using alembic to standalone and render using the new fur primitives,it works fine.You can also have attributes in the alembic file for the hair like "width" and pass it to the render,Pretty sweet.
Im exporting hair using alembic from houdini and works great,you need to check if your source 3D package can export polycurves to alembic.

We need now:

A list with ALL the attributes that Octane recognizes so we can properly setup our Hair.
New optimized shader model for the hair.

Thanks a lot for all the hard work guys,looking pretty cool!
miko3d
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby MattRM » Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:17 am

MattRM Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:17 am
miko3d wrote:
kavorka wrote:
daveyt wrote:So been trying to use hair and fur in v 2.0 but I'm guessing it
does not work yet as I cannot find any information on how to do this,
can a developer shed any light on this,

I'm using blender and have the plugin,

regards



The integrated plugin doesnt use 2.0 yet, so you have to wait. Also, I don't think you can use the alembic export yet to get it to standalone because I don't think the current alembic exporter exports that data. I don't know though.
It seems to be one of those features that exists, but you can't really use yet.


Never used blender but as a general Alembic note,You can export polycurves hair using alembic to standalone and render using the new fur primitives,it works fine.You can also have attributes in the alembic file for the hair like "width" and pass it to the render,Pretty sweet.
Im exporting hair using alembic from houdini and works great,you need to check if your source 3D package can export polycurves to alembic.

We need now:

A list with ALL the attributes that Octane recognizes so we can properly setup our Hair.
New optimized shader model for the hair.

Thanks a lot for all the hard work guys,looking pretty cool!


Hi,

Blender not have Alembic exporter at all, only the Octane blender plugins provide the Alembic exporter, that's why we need to wait the new plugins for fur, for Blender users :cry: .

Matt

MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby gueoct » Fri Jun 13, 2014 10:56 am

gueoct Fri Jun 13, 2014 10:56 am
abstrax wrote:To everybody who tried out the demo version and was disappointed by the speed: One thing I totally forgot is that in the demo version by default the "use priority" option is enabled for all GPUs and I think the render priority default is set to "low". Make sure that you either disable the "use priority" option in the CUDA device settings or set the render priority to "high". This will probably not make up all speed loss, but improve things.....


YES it does! Thanks!
Intel i7-970 @3,20 GHz / 24 GB RAM / 3 x EVGA GTX 580 - 3GB
gueoct
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:10 pm

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby gueoct » Fri Jun 13, 2014 11:05 am

gueoct Fri Jun 13, 2014 11:05 am
Sorry, I still do not get it!

For an upgrade of Standalone + Plugin:

1.) I only click "Octane Standalone v1.x lincense", because the plugin license comes with it for free?

OR 2.) I also click "OctaneRender for 3ds max" but get charged only $ 99?
Intel i7-970 @3,20 GHz / 24 GB RAM / 3 x EVGA GTX 580 - 3GB
gueoct
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:10 pm

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby geo_n » Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:13 pm

geo_n Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:13 pm
Developers,
will you address the bump and normal map issue with the octane core in v2?
geo_n
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:47 am

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby whersmy » Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:18 pm

whersmy Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:18 pm
REGION RENDER KICKS ASS :o
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

voucher

Postby tungerz » Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:10 pm

tungerz Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:10 pm
This is great news.
Question though...
I just bought the upgrade to 2.0, but I don't see the voucher for the upgrade of my octane-blender to 2.0 when it's ready.
This is included, isn't it?

Thanks in advance for your time and knowledge

Cheers,
Tung
Win7 64bit...Q6600 Quad core...8Gig Mem...9600 geforce...Daily Build Blender2.5x...Lionel's(Yoyoz)1.10 Blender Exporter... 0 Skill=Priceless
tungerz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:14 am

Re: voucher

Postby pid18000 » Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:13 am

pid18000 Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:13 am
tungerz wrote:This is great news.
Question though...
I just bought the upgrade to 2.0, but I don't see the voucher for the upgrade of my octane-blender to 2.0 when it's ready.
This is included, isn't it?

Thanks in advance for your time and knowledge

Cheers,
Tung


Same question here :)
Win10 64 | GTX Titan | I7 5820K | 32GB
pid18000
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 1:50 pm

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby mib2berlin » Sat Jun 14, 2014 10:20 am

mib2berlin Sat Jun 14, 2014 10:20 am
Hi Blender use, your Octane Live Account setting for the Plugin should be changed to Version 2.0 too.

Cheers, mib
Opensuse Leap 42.3/64 i5-3570K 16 GB
GTX 760 4 GB GTX970 4 GB Driver: 396.18
Octane 3.08 Blender Octane
mib2berlin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1181
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:50 am [ UTC ]