NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Forums: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby RayTracey » Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:57 am

RayTracey Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:57 am
Hi all,

Just a heads up that the OctaneRender for Rhino plug-in has reached a very stable state and is ready to be released as a final (non beta) product on January 7. Until that date, the OctaneRender for Rhino plug-in can be purchased from our shop page for 99 euros. By purchasing an open beta license, you will receive a copy of the final version, including 1.x updates and an upgrade option for v2.0 in the future. The final price of the plug-in will be 159 euros.

An OctaneRender Standalone license is required to run the plug-in. If you don't own a standalone license yet, you can buy the OctaneRender for Rhino plug-in + the OctaneRender Standalone version in a combo pack for 279 euros until January 7. After this date, the combo price will be 339 euros.

More details, screenshots and videos of OctaneRender for Rhino can be found in this thread.

A demo version of the OctaneRender for Rhino plug-in can be downloaded from our Downloads page (click the Rhino tab).

Cheers!

the OctaneRender team
RayTracey
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby eric_clough » Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:37 am

eric_clough Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:37 am
Hi ..

I am having no luck with Octane for Rhino. It is activated.

It is installed and I can get a blank Octane window or a render window that is completely black ... But I can't get my model into Octane. I can see the tool bar but it is not responsive.

I am obviously missing something very basic.

My Stand Alone version is working well but the first Rhino version just crashed ... and the version won't play.

I have Rhino set for the perspective view only and there is no connection.

Perhaps a hint to get me started ???

cheers,
eric
Win 8.1,16GB,i7,GeForce GTX760(4GB),(GeForce 334.89 driver, GeForce GT640(4GB) Dual 27" monitors
eric_clough
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:28 pm

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby face_off » Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:52 am

face_off Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:52 am
Hi Eric

Sorry you are having problems.

Which build of Rhino are you on?
Which build of the plugin are you running (listed on the activation tab)?
What video card do you have?
What Nvidia drivers are you using?

The is a sub-forum for specific Rhino plugin questions at http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=41.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12493
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby eric_clough » Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:17 am

eric_clough Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:17 am
Hi Paul ..

Rhino ver is SR7 64 bit 12/12/2013
Octane for Rhino V120
Video card is GeForce Nvidea 9800 GT 1GB (I should be getting a 4GB 760 Nvidea Gigabyte in the mail tomorrow.

Not sure which Nvidea driver is currently installed ... that will change soon. Just found it 327.33

Stand Alone works well ...

I keep thinking I must be missing something ... not pushing the correct button or something.

thanks,
eric
Win 8.1,16GB,i7,GeForce GTX760(4GB),(GeForce 334.89 driver, GeForce GT640(4GB) Dual 27" monitors
eric_clough
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:28 pm

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby face_off » Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:38 am

face_off Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:38 am
Eric - worth trying with the new card. The old card potentially only support direct lighting - which would be working in Standalone, but the plugin would default to Path Tracing.

What computer model does the Device tab display for your card pls?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12493
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby eric_clough » Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:57 am

eric_clough Tue Jan 28, 2014 7:57 am
Compute model 1.0
eric

Just noticed under CUDA errors ... Failed to find matching compute model 1.1
Win 8.1,16GB,i7,GeForce GTX760(4GB),(GeForce 334.89 driver, GeForce GT640(4GB) Dual 27" monitors
eric_clough
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:28 pm

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby face_off » Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:10 am

face_off Tue Jan 28, 2014 11:10 am
Yes - I'm pretty sure Computer Model 1.0 was phase out a few releases ago. Suggest trying with your new card.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12493
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby eric_clough » Wed Jan 29, 2014 8:01 pm

eric_clough Wed Jan 29, 2014 8:01 pm
Thanks for your help, Paul.

Bit of a nightmare getting the new video card installed ... but now all is well and Octane for Rhino is working beautifully. Now I have to learn how to use it properly.

cheers,
eric
Win 8.1,16GB,i7,GeForce GTX760(4GB),(GeForce 334.89 driver, GeForce GT640(4GB) Dual 27" monitors
eric_clough
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:28 pm

Re: NEW : OctaneRender for Rhino final release on Jan 7

Postby face_off » Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:49 pm

face_off Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:49 pm
Bit of a nightmare getting the new video card installed ... but now all is well and Octane for Rhino is working beautifully. Now I have to learn how to use it properly.

Good to hear you are up and running.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12493
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:35 pm [ UTC ]