Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Forums: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby RayTracey » Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:54 pm

RayTracey Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:54 pm
Hi everyone,

The OctaneRender team is very proud to announce the fully integrated OctaneRender for Revit plug-in
that is being developed for Revit by face_off. Revit users will soon be able to experience
the incredible speed and quality of OctaneRender in their viewport, providing a unique workflow
with an instantaneous photoreal preview while editing cameras, lights, materials and objects in the scene.

This is already the eleventh plugin product of a series of fully integrated plugin solutions embedding
the OctaneRender GPU-based rendering engine directly into major 3d modelling applications (and
more will be announced soon).

Below are some screenshots, showing the progress of OctaneRender for Revit

Sample.png
Sample Setting and Simple Scene.png
Sample Simple Scene 2.png
Sample Post Processing.png
Sample Advanced Scene 2.png
Sample Advanced Scene 1.png
RayTracey
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby kavorka » Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:16 pm

kavorka Thu Feb 28, 2013 8:16 pm
nobody use this program?
Usually people jump on these announcements.
I'm just bumping it to make sure nobody missed it.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby pixelrush » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:45 pm

pixelrush Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:45 pm
I think there will be a lot of potential buyers out there but they probably don't come here yet.
Better to promote it somewhere where Revites gather I think ;)
i7-3820 @4.3Ghz | 24gb | Win7pro-64
GTS 250 display + 2 x GTX 780 cuda| driver 331.65
Octane v1.55
User avatar
pixelrush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby Seekerfinder » Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:01 pm

Seekerfinder Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:01 pm
YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYY(cough)YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!

Face-off de man!
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1588
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby Seekerfinder » Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:04 pm

Seekerfinder Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:04 pm
Beta tester needed?? Let me know!

Seeker

(YAAAAAAAAYYYYYYY-OOOOOO!!!!)
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1588
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby Seekerfinder » Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:17 pm

Seekerfinder Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:17 pm
Can we solve the spritey trees? Hope so. But hey, if not, don't worry. Just carry on. Ignore me. Don't let me put you off. Great work. We'll do interiors. Or treeless scenes only. Love that. Who needs trees anyway? Agg-spew! What we need... is a Revit plugin for Octane.

YAAAAAYYYY!

(need a cheer-leader?)
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1588
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby perro_abombao » Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:14 am

perro_abombao Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:14 am
excelent!!....mentalray materials rendered in octane??? :shock:
User avatar
perro_abombao
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Caracas, Venezuela.

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby Sauger » Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:11 am

Sauger Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:11 am
Great news :D
Looking forward to this one if can make it work with trees/bushes etc, revit don´t like imported geometry :(.
3x I7/16gb/GTX570/XFX5870/GTX Titan
Sauger
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:16 pm

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby JJTTBB » Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:31 am

JJTTBB Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:31 am
Revit is not good enough for Octane...
It is not good enough for Maxwell (they just released their plugin)

Everything will work OK if you use Revit with Max and Octane (or Maxwell, I an a big fan of both) and maybe a plugin like ForestPack.
This is my workflow...
It is silly if not more, to deal with Revit which is probably the best BIM software but the worst generic modeling app ever!
Not only you can't use millions of free objects (import obj or 3ds) but you can't even make such things!
There is a reason for this... Adesk's modeling and rendering app is MAX... Revit is a building modeler, that's it!
The biggest error was to add rendering inside Revit... the worst was to think they did a good job!
AutoCAD,Revit Architecture, Max Design (all 2012) , Moi3D,Maxwell Render,Octane Render
Intel i7-8Gb RAM - Win7x64 - GTX550Ti
User avatar
JJTTBB
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 10:06 pm

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Revit

Postby face_off » Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:32 am

face_off Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:32 am
excelent!!....mentalray materials rendered in octane???

I don't think MR materials will translate 100% to Octane materials. I can say that an immense amount of time has been spent refining how Revit materials are converted to Octane materials, within the constraints placed by the Revit API. The goal is that if you run the plugin on an existing scene, it will convert all materials to Octane materials and you can tweak the Octane materials from there. As with other plugins, I think users want the material conversion to get them 80% of the way there, and they add the finishing touches.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13554
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Next

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Thu Nov 14, 2019 10:16 pm [ UTC ]