Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Forums: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby kavorka » Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:14 pm

kavorka Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:14 pm
so excited for this release.
will greatly speed up my work and allow me to get better results.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:06 pm

JimStar Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:06 pm
tibicen wrote:Region render!! It would solve a lot of time in my renders. Truly amazing.

You should understand, that the plugins can not implement the rendering features Octane engine does not have.
So I've implemented this feature in the plugin "in advance" - so far it uses the full rendered image taken from the engine, and shows the needed part.
I will improve it after this feature will be available in Octane.;)
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby megacal » Fri Aug 02, 2013 12:22 am

megacal Fri Aug 02, 2013 12:22 am
re: JimStar's system specs...
Nothing very cool.
i7, One GTX-690 (2 cores dedicated for rendering), and a separate simple GPU for display... Engine team have done the great job increasing last versions speed...
And don't forget, that the video is highly compressed - so in real the quality is better than on the video, when something is moved in viewport...

Great! :)

One question about the render process...
With the Extended Plugin by yoyoz, Blender has to export a mesh for each frame which
takes some time before Octane renders it. Will Octane Render for Blender do the same? I.e. does it by-pass this step? If so, render times should be much faster (?)

We're ready to purchase anytime. :)
2 GPUs: Zotac GTX 580 1.5gb Amp! GPU for Octane....Galaxy 210 1gb for display
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955,3.2 ghz RAM: 8gb OS: Win7 64
megacal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:58 pm
Location: Escondido, California, USA

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:12 am

JimStar Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:12 am
megacal wrote:One question about the render process...
With the Extended Plugin by yoyoz, Blender has to export a mesh for each frame which
takes some time before Octane renders it. Will Octane Render for Blender do the same? I.e. does it by-pass this step? If so, render times should be much faster (?)

The integrated plugin eliminates the .obj file write-read disk operations, the digital-to-text and text-to-digital translations when writing-reading this file, and some other things which slowdown the export-import process very much.
But. The acceleration structure-building process (voxelizing other words) which Octane engine needs - can not be eliminated by any plugin. This process is a much time-consuming among other before-the-render scene preparations things - as it runs on CPU before the scene can be started to be rendered on GPU.
So, the before-the-render-will-be-started time will be less in the Octane ingetration than in export-script, but you should understand that it can not be "null", as anyway, after every scene is translated and loaded to the engine, the plugin should wait before all the meshes will be voxelized by the engine.
As I already wrote - the engine team did a really great job optimising this process, so you can see in the standalone how fast the meshes are voxelized in last Octane versions when you load .obj mesh into standalone... The same voxelizing time will be needed by the plugin when it loads the meshes to the engine...

PS. Thanks very much to yoyoz for the great job which allows to Blender users work with Octane all this time. My wife has used his script too, and was happy with it.;)
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby portdog77 » Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:02 am

portdog77 Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:02 am
JS - "PS. Thanks very much to yoyoz for the great job which allows to Blender users work with Octane all this time. My wife has used his script too, and was happy with it."

And now she uses your plugin... How cool is that!

Now i'm wishing I was your wife... :lol: No, not really.
"Hackintosh" OS X 10.7.5 CPU: intel 990X @4.2GHz RAM: 48GB DDR3 @1633MHz BootDISK: 2x Sandisk SATA3 120GB SSD GPU: 2x GTX 590 + GTX 690 MB: EVGA Classified3 PSU: Rosewill Lighting 1000w Case: Falcon Northwest MachV -Black •.:-:.•
User avatar
portdog77
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:17 am
Location: SLC, UT

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby daveyt » Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:57 am

daveyt Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:57 am
Thanks for the update Jim!! :D
gtx 580 3gb gtx 660ti 3gb win 7 blender 2.65
daveyt
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby megacal » Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:37 pm

megacal Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:37 pm
The integrated plugin eliminates the .obj file write-read disk operations, the digital-to-text and text-to-digital translations when writing-reading this file, and some other things which slowdown the export-import process very much.
But...


JimStar,
thanks for explaining the process. Even with the "But..." it sounds like OR4B
will be a huge improvement for workflow and cut render times. :)
2 GPUs: Zotac GTX 580 1.5gb Amp! GPU for Octane....Galaxy 210 1gb for display
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955,3.2 ghz RAM: 8gb OS: Win7 64
megacal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:58 pm
Location: Escondido, California, USA

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby megacal » Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:02 pm

megacal Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:02 pm
Thanks very much to yoyoz for the great job which allows to Blender users work with Octane all this time. My wife has used his script too, and was happy with it.;)
-JimStar

Yes, I couldn't animate in Octane without it. Excellent plugin! :)
2 GPUs: Zotac GTX 580 1.5gb Amp! GPU for Octane....Galaxy 210 1gb for display
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955,3.2 ghz RAM: 8gb OS: Win7 64
megacal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:58 pm
Location: Escondido, California, USA

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby AdamT » Mon Aug 12, 2013 5:01 pm

AdamT Mon Aug 12, 2013 5:01 pm
Any Update? Thanks
AdamT
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby megacal » Tue Aug 13, 2013 8:30 pm

megacal Tue Aug 13, 2013 8:30 pm
Pretty soon....before Christmas, I think/hope.

"Wait for it, waiiit forrrrr it...." ;)
2 GPUs: Zotac GTX 580 1.5gb Amp! GPU for Octane....Galaxy 210 1gb for display
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955,3.2 ghz RAM: 8gb OS: Win7 64
megacal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 10:58 pm
Location: Escondido, California, USA
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:14 am [ UTC ]