Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Forums: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:25 am

JimStar Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:25 am
;)

1.png
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby pixelrush » Wed Jul 17, 2013 6:08 am

pixelrush Wed Jul 17, 2013 6:08 am
Does the way this plugin has been implemented open up Octane to small scale local network rendering as well as the anticipated cloud service? or is it just not practical considering bandwidth etc? I have 3 PC at home and I could muster 5-6 gpu among them and that would be handy for some missions. If it was practical could Otoy consider an alternative licensing of a max number of say 8 gpu spread across 4 boxes max rather than as many gpu as you can manage to hang off 1 mobo? (Provided that is that they are all rendering the same scene or regions thereof) :roll:
i7-3820 @4.3Ghz | 24gb | Win7pro-64
GTS 250 display + 2 x GTX 780 cuda| driver 331.65
Octane v1.55
User avatar
pixelrush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:13 am

JimStar Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:13 am
pixelrush wrote:Does the way this plugin has been implemented open up Octane to small scale local network rendering as well as the anticipated cloud service? or is it just not practical considering bandwidth etc? I have 3 PC at home and I could muster 5-6 gpu among them and that would be handy for some missions. If it was practical could Otoy consider an alternative licensing of a max number of say 8 gpu spread across 4 boxes max rather than as many gpu as you can manage to hang off 1 mobo? (Provided that is that they are all rendering the same scene or regions thereof) :roll:

I have already written about it earlier in this thread. It depends on decision of Otoy leaders. At the time - only local machine rendering is allowed.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby pixelrush » Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:08 am

pixelrush Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:08 am
OK so we can hack the Blender code when it comes out 8-) :P

I see your old post about it now. Sorry to ask again ;)
This arrival seems to take forever and I just forget about the known details from month to month...

You would think Otoy would be a little more interested in promoting some buzz around this and its possibilities :roll: .
i7-3820 @4.3Ghz | 24gb | Win7pro-64
GTS 250 display + 2 x GTX 780 cuda| driver 331.65
Octane v1.55
User avatar
pixelrush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:21 am

JimStar Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:21 am
pixelrush wrote:OK so we can hack the Blender code when it comes out 8-) :P

Yes, you will be able to hack the Blender GPLed part of code. But it will not help you.:P Octane proprietary RenderServer will not work with it.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby MattRM » Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:15 am

MattRM Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:15 am
Hi all,

An idea of the first released ? One month ?

Thanks,
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby portdog77 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:05 am

portdog77 Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:05 am
Bump that last one... Any info on a release date? or a hope for date? This is very exciting work!
"Hackintosh" OS X 10.7.5 CPU: intel 990X @4.2GHz RAM: 48GB DDR3 @1633MHz BootDISK: 2x Sandisk SATA3 120GB SSD GPU: 2x GTX 590 + GTX 690 MB: EVGA Classified3 PSU: Rosewill Lighting 1000w Case: Falcon Northwest MachV -Black •.:-:.•
User avatar
portdog77
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:17 am
Location: SLC, UT

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:58 am

JimStar Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:58 am
Soon.;)
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby daveyt » Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:48 am

daveyt Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:48 am
I hope so, maybe one more teaser to keep us going Jimstar/octane team.

thanks
gtx 580 3gb gtx 660ti 3gb win 7 blender 2.65
daveyt
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: Preview of OctaneRender for Blender

Postby JimStar » Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:49 pm

JimStar Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:49 pm
daveyt wrote:I hope so, maybe one more teaser to keep us going Jimstar/octane team.

thanks

Yep, here is it.:mrgreen:

User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:27 am [ UTC ]