OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Forums: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby t_3 » Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:08 pm

t_3 Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:08 pm
UruMike wrote:Thanks for the heads up t_3!
Sure, releasing a softzware is a lot of work, but we waited so long, another week more shouldn't really matter!
;) and i'm prefectly clear about how long it was :oops:

UruMike wrote:I want to try using LAMH and Octane, so I'll have to start getting used to 4.5 anyways.
btw, are you aware, that using lamh (or garibaldi) needs to go through .obj export and re-import? they both use renderman splines to render hair in 3delight, but octane currently can not render non-geometries...

UruMike wrote:About the ogl, I have a dedicated small graphics card for display use and didn't notice any lag so far with 4.5
my i ask, what you use? i'd like to add a small display-only card to my system, but it needs to be a single-slot card, and afaik the chips of the available single-slot solutions are not really faster than the intel hd graphics...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby UruMike » Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:18 pm

UruMike Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:18 pm
t_3 wrote:
UruMike wrote:I want to try using LAMH and Octane, so I'll have to start getting used to 4.5 anyways.
btw, are you aware, that using lamh (or garibaldi) needs to go through .obj export and re-import? they both use renderman splines to render hair in 3delight, but octane currently can not render non-geometries...

Yes I know. The developer of LAMH offered an obj to download, a bear with 500'000 hairs. I think it could work, with maybe 120'000 hairs exported. Another idea is to export 40'000 and instance the obj, slightly moved...
t_3 wrote:
UruMike wrote:About the ogl, I have a dedicated small graphics card for display use and didn't notice any lag so far with 4.5
my i ask, what you use? i'd like to add a small display-only card to my system, but it needs to be a single-slot card, and afaik the chips of the available single-slot solutions are not really faster than the intel hd graphics...

I use an Asus GTX 650 1 GB VRAM. It's a dual slot... but there are cards like an Asus GT 630 with 2 gig vram...
I just did a little test, 4 Gen 4 figures in a room with furniture and stuff. A lot less lag with 4.5.
I can load 5 Gen 4 figures into an empty scene without having any lag. But drastical lag with 6. In Studio 4.5 that is.

Anyways, take the time needed, looking forward to this plugin!
BTW, I'm currently using Octane standalone and loving it!
Intel i7 | 32gb | Win7pro-64
2 x Geforce GTX 660 ti/2gb +GTX 650 for display| Driver 310.90
DAZ Studio 4.5 Hexagon 2.5 Octane v1.11
UruMike
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby Midnight_stories » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:51 am

Midnight_stories Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:51 am
Hey just got Octane looking forward to use it when's it out. I'm beta testing the LAMH plugin and the new LAMH Player for DAZ so would love to see what it can do.
User avatar
Midnight_stories
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:20 pm
Location: Brisbane, Oz

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby KingLord » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:06 am

KingLord Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:06 am
Super pumped to see that this is slated for release soon. I've been watching this for a while and trying to hold off for the bundle price. Keep up the great work!
KingLord
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:35 am

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby t_3 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:07 pm

t_3 Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:07 pm
hi all!

i'd like to give a last preview before release - hope you like it:

The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby pfrancke » Sat Feb 23, 2013 12:33 am

pfrancke Sat Feb 23, 2013 12:33 am
KingLord says "slated for release" and t-3 has us watch pool table video... just plain awesome (I'd try to talk you into playing a match for the license), but since you live too far away from me, my wallet will be ready!
Windows 7, i7-3930K @3.2, 32GB ram, two 3GB GeForce GTX 580
User avatar
pfrancke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 2:45 am
Location: West Virginia

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby KingLord » Sat Feb 23, 2013 2:49 am

KingLord Sat Feb 23, 2013 2:49 am
Don't see how anyone could not like it, gotta love the post-processing button there at the end. ;) Quick question that you might have already covered, and if you tell me to wait for the official documentation I will, but I'm really curious about the 'Create Missing Materials' button that you pressed. I haven't used an Octane render plugin before, so I'm assuming this looks at the DAZ scene and pulls in all the materials, which you can then replace with materials from the Octane Render Live DB? (With a rather slick drag and drop mechanic I must say.)
KingLord
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:35 am

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby teecee2107 » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:11 am

teecee2107 Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:11 am
Whow, very convincing video ! The way you asign material to multiple surfaces is fantastic. I'm now drooling ...
Core 2 Quad Q9400 | 8Gb | Zotac 580 GTX 3 Gb | Windows 7 64bits | Octane 1.11 | Nvidia Driver 310.70
User avatar
teecee2107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Liège - Belgium

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby t_3 » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:00 pm

t_3 Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:00 pm
KingLord wrote:Don't see how anyone could not like it, gotta love the post-processing button there at the end. ;) Quick question that you might have already covered, and if you tell me to wait for the official documentation I will, but I'm really curious about the 'Create Missing Materials' button that you pressed. I haven't used an Octane render plugin before, so I'm assuming this looks at the DAZ scene and pulls in all the materials, which you can then replace with materials from the Octane Render Live DB? (With a rather slick drag and drop mechanic I must say.)

you do assume right. you can do this by pressing this button, and every daz surface/material that has not yet an octane sibling will get an auto-converted one. another way is to select specific surface nodes and create new mats only for them, and you have a checkbox to tell the plugin to automatically create new mats whenever something is loaded, or a new material set is loaded for an already existing object/figure (this one was turned off in my demo).

apart from serving as starting point*) for the work with octane materials, the advantage is that this already groups identical daz materials into one octane material (which again can be easily separated if needed). to get this grouping in first place you can also create a set of "blank" octane materials for the scene/specific object, mainly if you are more experienced and like to start material works without maps and settings from daz materials.

*) starting point means these materials are rather basic. they include all suitable maps used in daz materials (diffuse, bump, specular, opacity) but will usually need some work to make them look better. to replace them with fitting live db materials is of course another option, which works very well for something like glass, metals, paints, ... sometimes it may be needed to adjust the tiling/scale of a live db material and for objects with more complex uv sets it might require additional work, but for a lot of details this is a great way to enhance a scene (and by the way learn how octane materials work).

i'll try to refine the automatic materials conversion in upcoming releases, by creating more specific types for known common surfaces, but this will be still somewhat limited, because of the very basic differences of the target renderers (3delight biased scanline on one side, octane unbiased raytracing on the other). currently the plugin does this i.e. for the 7_tear material which just won't translate by taking numbers only, but needs specific tweaks to look about right...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Daz Studio - Initial Overview

Postby badmilk69 » Sat Feb 23, 2013 6:33 pm

badmilk69 Sat Feb 23, 2013 6:33 pm
Hi, im currently using Octane for Poser, how you plugin handle skin materials?
i7 2600, 16 GB RAM, 2x Evga 670 SC 4gb, dual boot win7/osxML, 2 SSDs, 3 HDs.
badmilk69
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 4:24 am
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:17 pm [ UTC ]