OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conference!

Forums: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conference!
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conferen

Postby Kzin » Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:55 am

Kzin Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:55 am
gabrielefx wrote:If Otoy knows how to distribute rendering on trillions of gpus surely it will implement its technology in Octane standalone.
Many rendering web services have failed.
I think that Refractive will release a pro version of its plugins for $999.
Cinema or broadcast world needs more professional features and we will pay for all this stuff.

Believe me, we will see two versions of Octane.


could be an option. a higher price with cloud access or mounthly fees or price per renderjob. i hope it will be flexible enough.


data secure is a hot topic!
you often work with data which is under nda. if this data get leaked because the service was hacked and get public, you will get alot of problems with your customer.
Kzin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:02 pm

Re: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conferen

Postby Javadevil » Sat Jul 14, 2012 2:17 am

Javadevil Sat Jul 14, 2012 2:17 am
The one thing that never gets talked about is the internet speed you need to upload gigabytes of textures and models to the cloud.

Here in Australia internet connections are pretty slow and the upload speeds are even slower, until we fiber to home the cloud isn't going to be very efficient.
Maybe for big business but they can afford to have render farms on site.

The other thing is that transformer model, if that was fully textured it wouldn't fit into the GPU's memory anyway.
Pretty much any scene setup for film with high res textures ain't going fit.

cheers
Javadevil
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:52 am

Re: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conferen

Postby flamingox » Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:19 pm

flamingox Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:19 pm
please create octanerender integrated plugin for modo 601, modo is excellent animation and modeling software, thx
flamingox
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 12:30 am

Re: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conferen

Postby kavorka » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:13 pm

kavorka Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:13 pm
Any news on this feature?
The company I work for is VERY interested in it.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conferen

Postby Goldorak » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:49 pm

Goldorak Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:49 pm
kavorka wrote:Any news on this feature?
The company I work for is VERY interested in it.


Have them get in touch with us by email if they want to be involved in the beta for this feature.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conferen

Postby fsilas » Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:53 pm

fsilas Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:53 pm
This could solve the rendering bottleneck issue, however GPU prices have not come down that much...even in the cloud. If you can make it work that would be awesome. I would pay for this service. It would be a game changer. If you need someone to Beta Test Cloud Rendering for Octane I'm volunteering. I just shot a live action sci fi film on a RED Epic at 5k. I need to render the visual effects.
fsilas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:49 am

Re: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conferen

Postby kavorka » Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:57 pm

kavorka Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:57 pm
Goldorak wrote:
kavorka wrote:Any news on this feature?
The company I work for is VERY interested in it.


Have them get in touch with us by email if they want to be involved in the beta for this feature.



I emailed the NZ office twice, with no reply. What email should I use to contact them?
Also, is the beta currently running, or is the beta upcoming?

I had 8 images to output this week and having this feature would have sped things up tremendously.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am

Re: OctaneRender delivers from the cloud at the D10 Conferen

Postby abreukers » Sun Jul 29, 2012 1:27 am

abreukers Sun Jul 29, 2012 1:27 am
Hi Kavorka, thanks for following up. I'm sure you'll receive a reply from the nz team early next week. have a good weekend. cheers!
i72630QM @ 2.00GHz | 6GB RAM | 2GB GeForce GT 540M | Win7 64bit
abreukers
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:28 am
Previous

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Sat Apr 20, 2019 4:50 pm [ UTC ]