OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Forums:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

 OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby radiance » Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:00 am

radiance Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:00 am
Hi all,

We are proud to announce the availability of a new product, similar to our recently made available 3ds max plugin product, but this time for Autodesk AutoCAD.
We feel Artists are losing way too much time and money on a 2nd, expensive software such as 3ds max for lighting, material tuning and rendering, when you can do it all straight in AutoCAD(r) just like our 3ds max plugin in look/feel/functions.... Also changing geometry in aurocad does ot need to be exported each time to a tool auxh a 3ds max, but you can just keep modeling,shadong,lighting, etc... Straight in autocad in real time :)

As the software is nearing beta phase, and will be released in a few weeks as an ongoing beta-program product, alongside the AutoCAD, other plugin products and the standalone versions of OctaneRender(R), we would like to setup a small group of 5 experienced AutoCAD users to help us test the new plugin product before we release it.

We need 5 people who own a copy of Autodesk AutoCAD 2012, 2011 and 2010, currently for MS Windows(TM) platforms only, and who are experienced with it's use, aswell as beingexperienced OctaneRender(R) users.
These people will need to be established/familiar forum users from our community and will have to sign a non-disclosure agreement prior to becoming part of the beta group.

If you think you have what it takes, and would like to participate,
please reply to this thread and introduce yourself and your experience with MAYA and OctaneRender(R) Standalone.

We will pick the 5 participants once we have enough applicants.
Note that new people/unfamiliar people need not apply as they won't be chosen.
In return for your help in testing the new product, you will receive a free copy/license of it, which you can keep when the beta testing period is over.

Yours,
The OctaneRender(R) Team.
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby danstriker » Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:28 pm

danstriker Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:28 pm
nice :D
Cinema4d R14 - VrayC4D - Octane Render - Maxwell Render - Indigo Render
User avatar
danstriker
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 11:17 am
Location: Philippines

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:06 pm

Elvissuperstar007 Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:06 pm
Оо this is cool!!! in the future REVIT
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2228
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby Inciner » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:07 pm

Inciner Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:07 pm
Autocad? Im a professional Autocad user, solid modeller and LISP developer, and Im very interested in this!
But there is some problem/
Till this time i've got an OBJ file via converting from Autocad 2009 to 3ds and then into obj via Blender.

THERE ARE NO _3DSOUT command available anymore, from 2011 autocad.
HOW to use that connector?

Anyway, at home I rescently have only 2009, and 2012 at work, there is some problem to activate Octane because of administration politics of our organization. But for this I will try to get it through =)
Яussian engineer (AutoCAD+LISP/Blender 2.69/3dsmax/Mypaint/GIMP) | win7x64 + GT525m DELL || win8x64 16Gb RAM 2x GTX 770
Inciner
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:55 am
Location: Russia, Spb

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby gabrielefx » Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:35 pm

gabrielefx Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:35 pm
Octane is faster than light...

A good idea (for me) is to develop a plugin for Solidworks or similar cad-cam products.
1 X quad GTX580 3GB + 1 X quad GTX680 4GB + 1 X quad Titan 6GB rig + 1 X quad Titan-X 12GB rig
User avatar
gabrielefx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:00 pm

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby Refracty » Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:20 pm

Refracty Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:20 pm
I think Rhino would be definately an important milestone to link more designers and architects to Octane.

3D Animation, Motion Design & CGI Köln
www.lichtblickstudio.com
User avatar
Refracty
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: 3D-Visualisierung Köln

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby gabrielefx » Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:35 am

gabrielefx Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:35 am
Refracty wrote:I think Rhino would be definately an important milestone to link more designers and architects to Octane.



yes!
in fact Autocad is good to design 2D plans and not 3d complex shapes.
I moved from Autocad to Rhinoceros since the first Rhino beta (1998)

A lot of architects use now Sketch Pro.

All architects in their studios want Rhinoceros designers because with Grasshopper they can design better 3d parametric drawings than Revit can do.

Nobody uses Autocad render (mentalray) within the software. Every architect exports the dwg in 3ds Max or Design.

The cad-cam-design market is the big deal: Rhinoceros, Solidworks/Catia, Spaceclaim, NX/Solidedge and PTC products.
1 X quad GTX580 3GB + 1 X quad GTX680 4GB + 1 X quad Titan 6GB rig + 1 X quad Titan-X 12GB rig
User avatar
gabrielefx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:00 pm

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby Inciner » Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:10 pm

Inciner Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:10 pm
Rhino with Grasshoper are awesome, but they are too complex. Project VASARI for Revit
gaves to Revit GEM abilities.

Also, there are no need to use 3dsmax and AutoCAD together, cuz their costs are equal and high =)
The most effective way to use an autocad - use it with blender and octane. Till last time...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uphbhx9DSz4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=an-rCHeutoo&feature=related

From one side, there are no free 3D/OBJ exporters from autocad right now, it allows only FBX export, so connector for autocad could be very useful.
But Autocad doesnot allows to create hardsurface (foliage, for example), and it's UV assigning methods are very poor.
That means, that completed scene can't be designed, using autocad only.
Also, I wrote special LISP function to convert Russian layernames to Eng in autocad, to make octane load my OBJ files without problems =)

Ask Refractives to write OBJ exporter for Autocad, and connector to Blender? Something says to me to not to do that...
Яussian engineer (AutoCAD+LISP/Blender 2.69/3dsmax/Mypaint/GIMP) | win7x64 + GT525m DELL || win8x64 16Gb RAM 2x GTX 770
Inciner
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:55 am
Location: Russia, Spb

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby iViz3D » Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:22 pm

iViz3D Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:22 pm
Hi Inciner,

Have you check this link out.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps ... ID=9240618

this is a 3dsout utility tool that previously part of autocad but for some reason they remove it.

I would like to be a beta tester but only have an autocad in our office. I am not sure if its okey.
I do 3d modeling as well in autocad. autodesk made a lot of improvement in the 3d tools in the latest autocad version.

;)
___________________________________
Autocad 2011/2014 Trial / 3dsmax Design 2013 /Sketchup 7/8/2013
Win 7 64-bit 16GB RAM Xeon 8-cores Quadro 4000
Alienware x51 R2 Win 8 64-bit 16GB RAM GTX670
User avatar
iViz3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Singapore

Re:  OctaneRender® for Autodesk® AutoCAD® beta-testers wanted

Postby Inciner » Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:51 pm

Inciner Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:51 pm
As I said, It does not work with Autocad 2010 and above...
I use it in 2009 in video before your post =)
Яussian engineer (AutoCAD+LISP/Blender 2.69/3dsmax/Mypaint/GIMP) | win7x64 + GT525m DELL || win8x64 16Gb RAM 2x GTX 770
Inciner
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:55 am
Location: Russia, Spb
Next

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:58 pm [ UTC ]