Page 2 of 2

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Revit [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:34 am
by jimho
face_off wrote: material names would be horribly long (for example "Grass" would become "C:_my documents_my revit scenes_scene 51_grass") so I don't think that would be a workable solution.

Paul

if look into what Vray had done, they must have two variable related to a material, so the material from a link is still keep their name same (as short ) as they are in the link where it come from, the other variable indicate the full path name of the link file
Capture1.jpg

"Analytical Floor Surface" is the material's name, under it is the link where is it come from.

Anyway to let the model correctly translated into oc and rendered correctly is much more important than how their names look like, if a material is finally named as "such long stupid name_Grass" just shows the programmer is not professional enough or too lazy, yet it can be rendered...

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Revit [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:35 am
by face_off
Jim, I think this discussion has gone as far as it can. I suggest you contact OTOY if you would like to pursue the matter further.

Paul

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Revit [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:37 am
by jimho
A bug is there, if you are just pretending not seeing it, it will always be there, such a fundamental function of revit cannot be supported, how can you call yourself a commercial plugin for revit


during the last half a month there is actually no usable or "stable" version for this plugin either version 4 or 2018 ( to support current nVidia drivers which is numbered after 417.xx)
Interestingly, nobody complaining, I can imagine how many licensed user is using this plugin,
we now can understand why there is such less real users for this plugin,

Octane is a wonderful render engine, yet unfortunately the plugin is really undeveloped properly, it is unprofessional and very weak supported.
We are wasting so much time and money on it,

This is really frustrated.

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Revit [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 4:03 am
by jimho
See,
This is the " impossible" said by someone.
捕获0417.JPG


Thanks to Otoy's AA plan and 3dsmax's supporting of revit link.
we do change our work flow and octane for revit will be thrown away,
It is wasting us for more than a whole year struggling with all kinds of not supporting this not supporting that,
we are tired of it.
this plugin is just useless, nobody will need it.

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Revit [TEST and STABLE]

PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 6:59 am
by face_off
I have updated the TEST installers at the top of this thread with a Revit 2020 build - for testing please.

2018.1.2.61
- Compiled with Octane 2018.1.2
- Added support for Revit 2020, and removed support for Revit 2017

Thanks

Paul