OctaneRender 3 for Revit [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender 3 for Revit [OBSOLETE]
Autodesk Revit (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby Sonnemanntoon » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:45 am

Sonnemanntoon Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:45 am
face_off wrote:Impressive scene. The lighting is great!

If you look at the linear lights in the recessed ceiling areas you can see the aliasing.
I believe that the solution for this is to 1) increase the Kernel->Filter Size - my guess is somewhere between 2 and 3, and if that drops the clarity of the rest of the render, double the resolution and downscale it in Photoshop. The Archiviz experts here might have some better settings. If you post your render in the WIP Gallery here, I'm sure others will comment.

Paul



Ok thanks Paul, will give that a try and post it to the WIP gallery on monday if it isn't enough
Sonnemanntoon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:16 am

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby Sonnemanntoon » Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:08 am

Sonnemanntoon Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:08 am
Hello
I'm not sure how to best describe this but here goes:
I wanted to know if it's possible to show light rays? As in almost as though there were a bit of dust in the air.

Thanks
Sonnemanntoon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:16 am

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby face_off » Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:12 am

face_off Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:12 am
I wanted to know if it's possible to show light rays? As in almost as though there were a bit of dust in the air.
Yes, this is sometimes referred to a God Rays. You can search the forum here for samples and instructions. For example, instructions for doing this in Modo are at http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=43019. The important part is the camera must be outside the enclosing box. Unsure how you would get the box geometry in a Revit scene.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14240
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby Sonnemanntoon » Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:44 am

Sonnemanntoon Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:44 am
face_off wrote:
I wanted to know if it's possible to show light rays? As in almost as though there were a bit of dust in the air.
Yes, this is sometimes referred to a God Rays. You can search the forum here for samples and instructions. For example, instructions for doing this in Modo are at http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=43019. The important part is the camera must be outside the enclosing box. Unsure how you would get the box geometry in a Revit scene.

Paul


Ah right thanks. That might be a tad complicated for an interior scene in Revit. I'll give it a try when I have some extra time.
Sonnemanntoon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:16 am

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby Sonnemanntoon » Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:28 pm

Sonnemanntoon Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:28 pm
Hi all
Was wondering if it's possible to create this kind of effect? Can't seem to get the tiles to stack with displacement

Image

thanks
Sonnemanntoon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:16 am

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby face_off » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:29 pm

face_off Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:29 pm
Can't seem to get the tiles to stack with displacement
Can you post the displacement map you are using pls? It should work nicely for tiles.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14240
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby Sonnemanntoon » Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:48 pm

Sonnemanntoon Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:48 pm
face_off wrote:
Can't seem to get the tiles to stack with displacement
Can you post the displacement map you are using pls? It should work nicely for tiles.

Paul


Sure:

Image

Image

Thanks
Sonnemanntoon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:16 am

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby Sonnemanntoon » Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:49 pm

Sonnemanntoon Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:49 pm
Was also wondering how you can get entourage and trees to render?
Thanks again
Sonnemanntoon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:16 am

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby Sonnemanntoon » Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:48 pm

Sonnemanntoon Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:48 pm
Hi again
Another thing - I'm having alot of trouble lighting my scenes with HDR images.

for example:

Image

Image

I can never seem to get a direct light on the actual building
I'm still a bit of a novice in regards to HDR images. Any advice on how to best position it or what kind of image to use to get a nice bright summer scene?

Thanks again
Sonnemanntoon
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:16 am

Re: OctaneRender for Revit 2.21.1 [TEST]

Postby face_off » Sat Feb 28, 2015 4:27 am

face_off Sat Feb 28, 2015 4:27 am
Can't seem to get the tiles to stack with displacement
The displacement map you are using doesn't seem to be an actual displacement map - looks most like a bump map - and will not give you the raised tiles look.

Another thing - I'm having alot of trouble lighting my scenes with HDR images.
This does not look like a HDRI map. You need to use a lat/long HDRI map as available in the thread at http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=146.

Was also wondering how you can get entourage and trees to render?
Use geometry proxies for people, trees, etc. http://render.otoy.com/manuals/Revit/?page_id=449. ArchVision RPC objects are not supported as per http://render.otoy.com/manuals/Revit/?page_id=185

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14240
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Autodesk Revit


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Oct 31, 2020 8:16 pm [ UTC ]